Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Plaza San Antonio's Spicy Oriental Noodle Salad Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Plaza San Antonio's Spicy Oriental Noodle Salad

    Average Rating:

    24 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 24

    Sort by:

    • on August 02, 2002

      Delicious! I only used 8 oz. of whole wheat pasta and doubled the napa cabbage amount (trying to cut down on carbs) and I used about 3/4 teaspoon hot pepper flakes - it was spicy enough for our tastes. Everything else I left according to the recipe and it turned out great. Thanks for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 03, 2002

      Absolutely incredible!! I can't recommend this recipe enough. Has a nice bite to it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 29, 2002

      This was outstanding! Made without the meat as a side dish and it's my new favorite pasta salad!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 10, 2011

      This dish was absolutely delicious. In the end I didn't really make any changes at all, which is very unusual for me! I did use a 16 oz bag of coleslaw mix instead of shredding cabbage and carrots. I also started out the dressing with less crushed red pepper and chile sauce because of course you can't take it back out if it's too spicy. But after tasting the dressing I decided it could use exactly the amount the recipe called for. I pan seared some shrimp to add to the salad but it would be great just by itself as well. I am going to take this to a company BBQ this weekend and it is on next week's menu as well, this time with grilled chicken.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 16, 2008

      This is one of my most used Zaar recipes. It's very refreshing and healthy! I usually leave out the hot sauce, I get enough kick from the red chile flakes. I just realized that I have left out the bell pepper every single time I have made it on accident! Oops. I have made it with chicken and shrimp. I have also used spaghetti noodles or rice noodles and it's great both ways! Definitely more filling with the spaghetti noodles, and a little lighter will rice/glass noodles. Thanks for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 20, 2012

      Delicious! I also doubled the cabbage but I used regular cabbage since I did not have the napa cabbage.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 06, 2012

      I made this for 4th of July. It was wonderful. Light and full of flavor. The only change was I used sweet chili sauce for the reason that I was out of Sirachi. It still had a bit of kick. It was so good. I am going to make it again for "Killer Crab Night". I'm going to throw some blue claw crab meat in this. I'll let you know how it turns out. How bad could it be? lol. Thanks Miss Annie...

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 08, 2012

      This is an excellent recipe to start with. I decreased the pasta to half a pound and increased the vegetables to a whole head of shredded nappa cabbage; added a green pepper, red pepper and orange pepper, sliced and roasted. 1.5 caramelized onions. I decreased the the soy sauce in the dressing by about 2 tablespoon since I had less pasta. Used thinly sliced pork chops because that's what I had on hand and my son does not like shrimp, but I'm sure shrimp would be have been awesome. Thank you for a delightful recipe.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 23, 2011

      I feel like I may be the only one, but I was confused about how to prepare this. Were the vegetables to be mixed in raw or cooked? Well, I decided to saute them lightly. I doubled the amount of cabbage, then added some bok choy too. The whole dish was good, and the heat of the dish was perfect for my taste, but the sesame oil and cilantro were overwhelming. I will make this dish again, but I think next time I'll adjust the amounts to my liking, and I'll also make the vinaigrette the night before to let the flavors marinade.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 21, 2010

      De-freakin'-licious. I took previous raters advide and doubled the cabbage, but DANG, this was good!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 21, 2008

      So good! I used chicken, bow ties and 2 1/2 cups slaw mix, no peppers or cilanto, and it was still fantastic. Quick easy meal. I will make this a lot. Thanks for sharing.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 22, 2008

      We loved this salad. I didn't have any meat around, so made it without. Also, I used a chili-garlic hot sauce instead of the sriracha, just because that's what I had on hand. I'm not sure how much pasta I actually used ... probably not the full amount ... but we finished off the whole lot between the 3 of us!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 05, 2007

      Yum! No changes, no suggestions...can't improve on perfection! Made a delicious lunch for the two of us and there are NO leftovers. We ate it all! Used shrimp as the meat and just cooked them the last few minutes of boiling the pasta. Too easy and too good to not repeat often!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 11, 2007

      I have made this recipe twice now and have been very please both times! The first time I made it for lunch with colleagues, it was a huge hit! I will admit that after mixing it up I added more vegetables and some sesame seeds. The second time I decided to mix the dressing so that I could make smaller portions for lunch. Since the recipe is so flexible I decided to try udon noodles (they were perfect), left over grilled chicken, and whatever vegetables I had on hand. I loved my lunch today! If I were to make the full recipe again I would cut the pasta in half (and probably use the udon nooldes) and double the cabbage, red pepper, and carrots. In addition I would add snow peas or sugar snap peas and sesame seeds. I absolutely love how flexible this recipe can be and that the dressing can be made in advance! Thanks for sharing this recipe!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 09, 2007

      This was absolutely wonderful--we had it without the pasta; just lots of cabbage and the dressing was terrific. When I served it as a side dish, my husband immediately asked 'where's the chicken in this?' but after a two bites, he was hooked! I could eat this salad every day; thanks for a delicious recipe, Miss Annie!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 08, 2007

      So little oil and so much flavor!! I used whole wheat pasta, extra pepper flakes, and got rave reviews from my friends!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 28, 2007

      Excellent Asian flavored noodle salad. I ended up using 3/4 teaspoon red pepper flakes and that was just right for me. A perfect, filling, healthy lunch. Thanks.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 30, 2003

      I served this to a vegetarian guest, and we both liked it a lot. Next time, though, I'll make a few changes. First of all, it was too salty, so I'll substitutue about 2 Tbs. lime juice for a like amount of the soy sauce. Also, I'd boost the proportion of vegies relative to noodles (though to be fair, I may have used more noodles than called for to start with). I might also try adding a small amount of peanut butter and brrown sugar to the dressing. (I love peanutty Asian stuff!) 4 stars for now, but I'll update my review if I make it again and like it even more!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 17, 2013

      This was really easy and delicious!!! Will make again. I did not put the red peppers and added green onions. I used chicken that I had sauteed with some olive oil and soy sauce. We served it warm but it is delicious cold as well. Thanks so much for sharing!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 15, 2013

      Really great, quick, light dinner. It does have a kick! I halved the recipe but used the full amount of veggies and left out the meat. I'm looking forward to trying it cold and maybe adding a little lime juice or rice wine vinegar to the dressing. Thanks for posting this yummy recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Plaza San Antonio's Spicy Oriental Noodle Salad

    Serving Size: 1 (246 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 501.6
     
    Calories from Fat 48
    63%
    Total Fat 5.3 g
    8%
    Saturated Fat 0.8 g
    4%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 2076.3 mg
    86%
    Total Carbohydrate 93.0 g
    31%
    Dietary Fiber 5.8 g
    23%
    Sugars 6.6 g
    26%
    Protein 19.7 g
    39%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    chicken

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites