25 Reviews

I was the Executive Chef that created this recipe for P3 and you are really close. All you need is a splash of Worcestershire and instead of beef granules (and you will have to play with this as we used to do 20 gals at a time) use Kitchen bouquet. This brings back old memories.

10 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
swchef March 16, 2013

This was extremely good! It is a lot like a stew my mom used to make. I am from the KC area and love PlazaIII restaurant! This was a great copycat recipe. I also added a little more pepper for a more seasoned soup. Thanks for the recipe, it was fabulous!

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Christy Sowers September 22, 2003

Read the review from swchef who says he was the exec. chef who created this recipe for P3. If he happens to follow the reviews, would like him to know I'm a KC girl and have been making this for years from the St. Elizabeth & Notre Dame cookbooks. Glad to have his input on the Kitchen Bouquet. Still did the bouillon granules but did add a bit of kitchen bouquet. If he happens to read this, want you to know we were friends of Paul Robinson & my husband Bob Hindson shared a Porsche with him and raced at tracks around the US. (not too interesting to cooks, but just wanted swchef to know). Wish I knew who you are??? Oh, and by the way mystery girl, loved your Mrs. Cobb's meatloaf until I went vegetarian 5 or 6 years ago. Still try to do it with veggie crumbles though! Sorry to bother the rest of you with an attempt to contact swchwf (reviewer & creator of original recipe)

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
susan7 January 03, 2015

THANK YOU THANK YOU THANK YOU!! This recipe has become a favorite in our home. My entire family goes nuts over it. I had to substitute Italian Style canned tomatoes instead of just plain tomatoes last night and WOW! It is beyond fantastic now. Its adds that extra flavor. This is one of the best soups i have ever made. I doubled the recipe last night so i could freeze some and my husband and father have just about eaten all of it! They keep saying "This stuff is hitting" I cant believe they have eaten 2 large pots! thanks for this recipe. It will be treasured in my family for sure Heather

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Heather Reynolds in Virginia November 04, 2007

So tasty and so easy to throw together. It's a keeper for my recipe files.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Pat Kobayashi November 28, 2003

Yes! Excellent stuff! My husband is eating vegetables and making pleased sounds.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
stoneturtle3 December 05, 2013

Five HUGE stars! We love this recipe. I changed just a couple of things. I used beef flavored bouillon instead of granules, 2 cans of stewed canned tomatoes (cut up), 2 cans of mixed veggies and I added in some garlic powder. This soup is SIMPLY THE BEST! I've added it to our family cookbook. We'll be making this soup for years to come. Thanks for adding it to the site. Happy Holidays.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef Charlie Brown December 21, 2007

I liked all the vegetables and I used cut up filets from night before which was awesome. It was very bland though. I ended up using kitchen bouquet and some beef bullion cubes as well because it was just not very tasty withnout. I also mixed in diced tomatoes with hot rotel and regular to give it some bite.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
seanspec October 15, 2016

I don't know about the plaza 3 making this but I am from 'd and my mom made something almost exactly like this all the time growing up. As the chef said, you need Worcestershire sauce, but you aren't giving this enough cooking time at all.. simmer-time needs to be about 3-4 hours if you make this on the stovetop or just throw it in the crock pot all day..when you do that you allow the flavors to develop more and it tastes better, just thicken it toward the end of your cook time rather than the beginning, as it needs. I do that by eye rather than measurement.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Christine W. December 03, 2015

This was a good basic start for this. However, I did as SWChef advised in the reviews and added Kitchen Bouquet (2 teaspoons) and low-sodium Worcestershire sauce (1 T.), instead of beef granules. SWChef ought to know, since he says he created this soup. I also used salt-free beef consomme (Kitchen Basics) instead of the water because I am a low-salt cook. Without salt, you need more flavor. One tip. The soup can burn if you make the roux first. Instead, brown your beef, add the veggies, liquids, spices. Simmer for 20-30 minutes. Then, make the roux. When it bubbles and thins, and the flour seems cooked but not brown, simply add the roux to the soup. Immediately stir over medium heat to thicken. Tastes great.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
WhatACooker September 05, 2014
Plaza III Steak Soup - Copycat