Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Plaza III Steak Soup - Copycat Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Plaza III Steak Soup - Copycat

    Average Rating:

    21 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 21

    Sort by:

    • on March 16, 2013

      I was the Executive Chef that created this recipe for P3 and you are really close. All you need is a splash of Worcestershire and instead of beef granules (and you will have to play with this as we used to do 20 gals at a time) use Kitchen bouquet. This brings back old memories.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 22, 2003

      This was extremely good! It is a lot like a stew my mom used to make. I am from the KC area and love PlazaIII restaurant! This was a great copycat recipe. I also added a little more pepper for a more seasoned soup. Thanks for the recipe, it was fabulous!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 28, 2003

      So tasty and so easy to throw together. It's a keeper for my recipe files.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 05, 2013

      Yes! Excellent stuff! My husband is eating vegetables and making pleased sounds.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 12, 2013

      I made this soup today. I did not use accent and I threw in about 1/2 Tablespoon of worcestershire sauce. Very oppulent with all the butter in it. Makes January cozy.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 22, 2012

      This soup is sooo good. I only used 14 oz. of tomatoes and ommited the Accent (MSG)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 07, 2012

      This was awesome, I had left over Tri tip that I used, did not use the frozen vegetables but did all the fresh, a can of corn and the canned tomatoes I used were the stewed Italian. I also saute'd the onion and celery together before adding the flour as someone else advised. As opposed to pepper, I used a couple or three shakes of Montreal steak seasoning. Served with hot out of the oven beer bread. Thank-you for a great recipe I will use it many times.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 13, 2010

      I thought this was just "ok". Not bad, but not great. It is VERY easy and is a good recipe for a winter weeknight. I might make this again with steak bites as mentioned by someone else.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 30, 2009

      The original was made with steak bites

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 10, 2009

      What a primo way to use up leftover steak! We added a handful of barley and some mushrooms we needed to use up. We'll be making this one again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 25, 2008

      I have been making this recipe for years! It is hearty and comforting. I do add garlic to the ground sirloin while browning, and to the soup as a whole I add a generous splash of Worcestershire sauce and seasoned salt for a more savory soup. I usually use very generous tablespoons of the bouillon granules as well. I personally just prefer it that way. It is excellent served with french bread and a nice glass of wine for a special meal that is still light.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 18, 2008

      Didn't love this and didn't hate it either. It's a little bland. Not sure if I will make this again...sorry.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 21, 2008

      I am also from the KC area and hence grew up on this soup. It is very hearty but, like the Plaza III, also very elegant. This makes a beautiful meal with a loaf of crusty french bread and a glass of merlot. You definately will not be disapointed.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 22, 2007

      Five HUGE stars! We love this recipe. I changed just a couple of things. I used beef flavored bouillon instead of granules, 2 cans of stewed canned tomatoes (cut up), 2 cans of mixed veggies and I added in some garlic powder. This soup is SIMPLY THE BEST! I've added it to our family cookbook. We'll be making this soup for years to come. Thanks for adding it to the site. Happy Holidays.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 04, 2007

      THANK YOU THANK YOU THANK YOU!! This recipe has become a favorite in our home. My entire family goes nuts over it. I had to substitute Italian Style canned tomatoes instead of just plain tomatoes last night and WOW! It is beyond fantastic now. Its adds that extra flavor. This is one of the best soups i have ever made. I doubled the recipe last night so i could freeze some and my husband and father have just about eaten all of it! They keep saying "This stuff is hitting" I cant believe they have eaten 2 large pots! thanks for this recipe. It will be treasured in my family for sure Heather

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 23, 2005

      Very tasty soup. I do not like to make changes or give a review unless I first make it exactly as written. I found after making the soup, it could use just a little extra flavor. I just added 1 can beef broth and some barley. It was absolutely the right taste. This is a great winter time soup and one I will definitely make over and over. Thanks! It's definitely a 5 star soup!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 15, 2005

      Delicious! I had never had the Plaza III Steak Soup before, although I've had the recipe in my files for quite a long time. I will definitely be making this again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 21, 2005

      Very rich and hearty soup. The flavor is perfect. Nice for a cool fall day.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 31, 2005

      Great Soup! I sauted the onions and celery in the butter with a 2 cloves of garlic, then added the flour. I also added some worchestershire sauce, cajun seasoning and red wine while it was cooking. I omitted the veggie mix and added corn and potatoes (personally, I don't prefer green beans in soup). This soup makes a great base and is easy to adjust to your own personal preferences. A real keeper!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 11, 2005

      This was fantastic!!! The only thing I did different was to omit the frozen veggies and I added a can of green beans and a can of corn. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Plaza III Steak Soup - Copycat

    Serving Size: 1 (463 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 10

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 323.0
     
    Calories from Fat 169
    52%
    Total Fat 18.8 g
    29%
    Saturated Fat 9.6 g
    48%
    Cholesterol 83.4 mg
    27%
    Sodium 502.9 mg
    20%
    Total Carbohydrate 17.5 g
    5%
    Dietary Fiber 3.6 g
    14%
    Sugars 3.5 g
    14%
    Protein 21.6 g
    43%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites