55 Reviews

I have looked through a few play dough recipes on here and this is the ONLY one that has all five star ratings, so I tried it tonight and it is SO super fast and super easy to make! I didn't have cream of tarter so I improvised with cornstarch and it came out perfectly! Made this for my nearly 3 year old son's daycare class. All I had was black and orange, but seeing as how it's the fall, that's perfect! Doubles perfectly! Thanks for posting! I'm telling all of my mom-friends about this!!!

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
bcfossett November 18, 2008

This recipe is excellent--so quick, easy and much cheaper than buying it. Plus you can make any color your little heart desires. I made two batches today--lavender and sunshine yellow. They both turned out smooth and pliable. I'm glad I read other reviews before attempting to make this. If I hadn't, I would have thought I'd made a mistake. When you're stirring the mixture in a pan over medium heat, you really need to pay attention. You can't stop stirring it for even a second, or it will stick to the bottom of the pan and burn. Also, the mixture was clumpy at first, so I was worried it wouldn't turn out as smooth as store-bought. Once I let the ball of dough cool and kneeded it, it was perfect. Thanks for sharing this recipe! I will be using it over and over for years to come. :)

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
MarthaStewartWanabe April 09, 2011

Great stuff. DD used multigrain flour to give it some texture for a science volcano project.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Coral_Jayne May 26, 2009

This is how i make my playdough for the daycare. It lasts for months in the fridge with this receipe.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
*chookn3chicks* May 24, 2008

I've made this recipe for my kids for years. They love it - even when it's warm. If you keep it sealed in between uses(I use empty sour cream containers) it'll last a lot longer than the store bought stuff and it has a much nicer consistency and feel.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
KLV May 29, 2005

This was the exact recipe we always used when I taught preshool/daycare for several years. Great stuff! My daughters are always begging to make up another batch. Add a few drops of vanilla or peppermint extract to give the wee ones another sense to work with. :o)

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
winkki December 05, 2003

Great, easy. I like the idea of using cornstarch since it's less expensive (but I didn't see that idea until after I made it).<br/><br/>Thanks!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef TanyaW November 22, 2014

This is such a great recipe. I made my first batch and my little guy I babysit loved it so much, I sent it home with him. I made a second batch and put it inside a sealable plastic bag and it's been in there for almost 2 months and it's still perfect. It's been played with a lot, too. I can't believe how perfect this turns out. It's just like the kind you buy in the store, minus the smell. Texture is perfect. It's just so easy to make!!! I wish I had known about this recipe when my kids were little. I sure would have saved myself a ton of money. Thanks for sharing.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
yedenmatka May 16, 2014

It's a hit with the grandkids. Kept 2 five-year-olds busy for over an hour--THAT'S something! And, it doesn't stick to one's hands like store bought Playdough. Thanks for sharing!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
LittleJo August 04, 2013

Great recipe for a lot of fun, Thank you! This was quick to make.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
drinkmore April 22, 2013
Play Dough