Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Play Dough Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Play Dough

    Average Rating:

    55 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 55

    Sort by:

    • on April 09, 2011

      This recipe is excellent--so quick, easy and much cheaper than buying it. Plus you can make any color your little heart desires. I made two batches today--lavender and sunshine yellow. They both turned out smooth and pliable. I'm glad I read other reviews before attempting to make this. If I hadn't, I would have thought I'd made a mistake. When you're stirring the mixture in a pan over medium heat, you really need to pay attention. You can't stop stirring it for even a second, or it will stick to the bottom of the pan and burn. Also, the mixture was clumpy at first, so I was worried it wouldn't turn out as smooth as store-bought. Once I let the ball of dough cool and kneeded it, it was perfect. Thanks for sharing this recipe! I will be using it over and over for years to come. :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 18, 2008

      I have looked through a few play dough recipes on here and this is the ONLY one that has all five star ratings, so I tried it tonight and it is SO super fast and super easy to make! I didn't have cream of tarter so I improvised with cornstarch and it came out perfectly! Made this for my nearly 3 year old son's daycare class. All I had was black and orange, but seeing as how it's the fall, that's perfect! Doubles perfectly! Thanks for posting! I'm telling all of my mom-friends about this!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 26, 2009

      Great stuff. DD used multigrain flour to give it some texture for a science volcano project.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 05, 2003

      This was the exact recipe we always used when I taught preshool/daycare for several years. Great stuff! My daughters are always begging to make up another batch. Add a few drops of vanilla or peppermint extract to give the wee ones another sense to work with. :o)

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 22, 2014

      Great, easy. I like the idea of using cornstarch since it's less expensive (but I didn't see that idea until after I made it).<br/><br/>Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 16, 2014

      This is such a great recipe. I made my first batch and my little guy I babysit loved it so much, I sent it home with him. I made a second batch and put it inside a sealable plastic bag and it's been in there for almost 2 months and it's still perfect. It's been played with a lot, too. I can't believe how perfect this turns out. It's just like the kind you buy in the store, minus the smell. Texture is perfect. It's just so easy to make!!! I wish I had known about this recipe when my kids were little. I sure would have saved myself a ton of money. Thanks for sharing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 04, 2013

      It's a hit with the grandkids. Kept 2 five-year-olds busy for over an hour--THAT'S something! And, it doesn't stick to one's hands like store bought Playdough. Thanks for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 22, 2013

      Great recipe for a lot of fun, Thank you! This was quick to make.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 03, 2013

      Excellent recipe for making play dough! My kids were bored, so I told them to play with their play dough. Most of their name brand cans had dried out, so I decided to make some myself. Five minutes after finding this recipe, my kids were playing with the dough. This is softer, and not as stiff as the store bought play dough. I didn't have any cream of tartar, so I used baking powder, which contains cream of tartar. It seemed to work fine. Thank you for the recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 30, 2012

      Awesome recipe! So easy to make and the perfect consistency. I also added some almond extract so it smells good, too!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 22, 2012

      My son was so happy that I made him play dough. It was easy to do. Thanks yogabead :) Made for Alphabet tag game

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 03, 2012

      This is the absolute best playdough ever. And it works great with the store bought playdoh toys better than store bought playdoh!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 30, 2009

      Just wanted to say that this is a foolproof recipe and will definitely recommend it for people who want to create wheat free or gluten free playdough by substitution for the flour. I think that would probably work.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 10, 2009

      I love play dough and so do my boys. Thanks for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 08, 2009

      Just got done making this for the kids and they love it. I'm not sure if I cooked it long enough but the kids said it is just like store bought play doh. Thank you for sharing this recipe!!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 13, 2009

      This is a great play dough recipe. So fast and easy. My kids are thrilled. I hate the store bought kind. This one is so much 'healthier' and cheaper. I'm telling all my friends with little kids about it :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 06, 2009

    • on February 07, 2009

      Super easy and EXACTLY what we were looking for! Thanks

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 24, 2008

      This is a great, fun recipe! I made this for my 4 children on a no school snow day, and we had a ball with it. Thanks for sharing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 23, 2008

      This is great stuff. I think I needed to cook just a minute or two longer, but I kneeded the dough just a few minutes and it was perfect. My daughter is playing with it now even though it is warm! I did add the vanilla for the smell. I used to make play dough with kool-aid but lost the recipe and will be using this one from now on. Thank you so much for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2 3

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Play Dough

    Serving Size: 1 (264 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 590.7
     
    Calories from Fat 133
    22%
    Total Fat 14.8 g
    22%
    Saturated Fat 1.9 g
    9%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 56599.4 mg
    2358%
    Total Carbohydrate 99.0 g
    33%
    Dietary Fiber 3.3 g
    13%
    Sugars 0.3 g
    1%
    Protein 12.9 g
    25%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes