12 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Very easy & great texture!! My 2.5 yr old twins love it!!! Now, a full month later, it's just as moist in an old wipes box as it was the day I made it!! This is my new playdough recipe!! Thank you..it's given my girls hours of fun!!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
KristinB July 11, 2003

Audrey, This recipe deserves more than 5 stars for the fun it gave me and my grandchildren. It was very easy to do and the kids had a ball making and playing with it. Thanks so much from, Kelli,Corey,Paul, and Sarah Beth!!!! And from me too, Darlene Summers

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Darlene Summers June 12, 2003

Playdough turned out great! I too, only used half the amount of cream of tarter. Does anyone know if this needs to be stored in the refridgerator?

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
vballkae January 02, 2010

I was doubtful when I heard you had to cook it. Honestly while I was cooking it I thought I ruined it, but that was how it was supposed to be. Turned out very soft and pliable. I only used 3/4 T of Cream of Tartar because that's all I had but it worked out well.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ondyp September 02, 2009

This recipe has a good texture but the 2 Tbsp. of cream of tartar listed is too much. I cut it to 1 Tbsp. and that was plenty. Next time I may try 2 teaspoons of cream of tartar. I used gel color from a cake decorating store. Much better than grocery store food coloring! All in all, a nice smooth playdough! Thanks! I had lost my other recipe and this one rescued me when I went to make some for my son's preschool class.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
eileen.wolfe January 23, 2009

I made this on a cold snowy day when I had 3 boys that were itching for something to do! It worked out great! I have tried other recipes before, but this was by far the easiest.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
drmprodezign December 08, 2008

this worked great, I think I'm just going to make playdough from now on instead of buying it! Thanks!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
wahmommy October 19, 2008

I've used this same recipe for my kids and daycare kids for years. Add the food coloring into the mixture after you have added the water, before it's cooked. This incorporates the color perfectly and you won't have to work it in after it's cooked which will stain your hands.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
The Daycare Lady August 21, 2008

The kids and I LOVED this recipe! Easy to make and such a smooth, fun texture to play with. We doubled the recipe to give us approx. 4-1/2c. amounts - perfect for our 3 children to share. Added drops of food coloring after making the split. Thanks for sharing!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
GwenE September 10, 2007

For some reason this recipe worked perfectly - I've tried others and they dry out too soon. I just keep it in a ziplock bag in the fridge and it's lasted for months. Thanks so much from me and especialy from my two-and-a-half year old!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
versonica June 17, 2006
Play Dough