Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Play Dough Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Play Dough

    Average Rating:

    43 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 43

    Sort by:

    • on April 10, 2002

      What a wonderful recipe! It was soooo easy to put together and the smell (we used strawberry unsweetened kool-aid) was wonderful. The recipe is something that you could easily throw together when children come to visit (and my oldest could actually make the recipe herself). While the texture is very similiar to playdough, I actually liked it much better as it was smooth and elastic. My 5 year old even made a comment that it didn't stick to her fingers like playdough (and when it did you just took a little ball of dough to pick up the pieces). This recipe is a keeper for the kids!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 23, 2002

      This recipe was soooo easy and soooo fun. We went wild, making several different colors. The smell was great. I found that the dough was sticky until it cooled a little. I just mixed the water in the best I could, let it cool a little and then mixed more until I could knead it. I didn't want to give the finished project over to the kids to play with because I wanted to keep playing with it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 13, 2002

      I have another recipe for play dough which I also posted but this one is much easier and quicker to make. The only difference is that this one has to be refrigerated and the other doesn't. Great to have for a quick entertainment for the kiddos. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 30, 2002

      I've been looking for a play dough recipe for a long time. My nieces will love it. Thank you. Tina

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 25, 2009

      wow! i have bad memories of cruddy homemade play dough from when i was a kid -- the texture was always grainy and gritty and the colour was never great. i made this for my boys today and it was fantastic! i made 3 batches in less than 15 minutes, and the texture is great and the colours are too. when i used the full cup of water it was a touch too sticky, so i found about 7/8 c. water worked better for us. also, i used sugarfree koolaid (it was all we had, and i'm way too lazy today to pack up all the kids to go to the store!). i think the smell would have been stronger with regular koolaid, but this was still good. with 3 little people in our house i'm sure i will make this over and over again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 16, 2009

      Mixed in my new Kitchen Aid for a mess free treat for my daughter. She loves it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 03, 2009

      easy to make, good feel in the hand, would recommend this recipe and will make it again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 17, 2009

      I stopped making play dough at home ten years ago, because I always burned it and it always ruined my pot. This recipe is fantastic! I love the smell of it. The texture is fabulous. I followed the recipe, but mine was sticky, so I kneaded in more flour until it was the right texture. Perfection!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 15, 2009

      Great recipe! I used 1 1/2 cups of flour so that it wasn't so sticky and kneaded it in by hand. I was out of vegetable oil, so I subbed 1 Tb of melted butter instead. It worked very well, and my 20 month old son just loves it! Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 13, 2008

      After reading the reviews, I made seven batches. What I found was: measuring the water before boiling it, adding most of the water and then a little more as needed, and being generous with the cream of tartar all helped to make this a very smooth dough. The last batch used the last of my cream of tartar and I was a little short. That batch really had to be worked to tone down the moisture. The Wyler's drink mix was much cheaper and the colors were true to the package. Bright blue, however, required a lot of food coloring. The exception was the Kool Aid strawberry, which made the dough more red than the Wyler's. Sunday school is going to be a lot of fun tomorrow; thank you for posting this, Anna!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 09, 2008

      My 6 yr. old granddaughter and I are absolutely delighted with this recipe! Happily, she was able to do most of the work except for the boiling water part. We did end up using 2 cups of flour and kneading the whole thing on the counter to get it mixed well once it was cooled off enough to work with. This playdough is fun to play with, has a nice texture, and the smell is SO much more pleasant than the commercial stuff (which I cannot stand the smell of). Thank you for a fun and successful recipe, Anna P.! 12/9/08 COMMENTS: My DGD still has the batch we made back in July. It has not been refrigerated, but has been stored in a plastic bag inside a plastic coffee can. It's still as nice as ever. I did some experimenting...made the dough without the Kool-Aid, cut the dough into 4ths, then kneaded in the KA. Not all Kool-Aid's come out the color you expect so if you want different colors you might want to experiment. For instance, grape comes out a dark bluish greenish color. Some colors might benefit from a few drops of food color. All in all, tho, this is a fantastic recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 08, 2008

      This recipe worked up in less than 5 minutes, my son loved it, helped make it and played with it for over an hour with cookie cutters and a rolling pin. Good consistency and texture, and pleasant fragrance thanks to the Kool-Aid. I'm going to add glitter and mint flavoring for Christmas, and make it for all the kids. Thanks for the great recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 29, 2007

      This recipe just didn't work. I following the ingredient list, but the mixture remained a liquid. The amount of flour must be incorrect. I'm thinking it needs at least twice as much flour. Susan D.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 07, 2007

      It's our first cold, cold day here in Colorado. The kids are complaining there's nothing to do. I whipped up two batches of play dough and they really enjoyed the afternoon. I did substitute Crystal Light for the Kool-Aid, and it took two cups of flour to get the right consistency, but the end result was great! The kids loved it, I'm happy to not hear the bickering, a very pleasant way to spend a Sunday afternoon! Thanks for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 17, 2007

    • on September 07, 2007

      I had to use almost two cups of flour to get the right consistency. If someone has some advice for me about how to get the consistency right using the recipe, please let me know! I've tried this several times now... It works for me by adding flour, but I'm wondering what I am doing wrong since all the recipes call for equal amounts of flour and water.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 30, 2007

      This recipe is great, super simple, no cooking, smells & feels great. The kool-aid gives a great colour to it too! It was a bit sticky to start with so I ended up adding about another 1/4 cup flour to the mix until the texture was just right. Thanks a keeper for me & my toddler DD.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 05, 2007

      turned out sticky and soft no much like the commercial playdoh

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 29, 2007

      This is my new favorite play dough recipe. I loved that I could mix everything in my kitchen aid mixer, then just pour the boiling water in, mix a little and voila!!! this made for super easy clean up. Nice texture, nice smell, and perfect tint of color. I did have to double my batch for two preschoolers.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 23, 2007

      I love this recipe! The best part? No cooking and stirring like all the other recipes I've seen. I use color-free Kool-Aid so I don't deal with staining. I usually have to knead a bit more flour into it to get the right consistency. Turns out smooth and pliable, and not nearly as crumbly as commercial play dough. Stores well in the fridge. Thanks for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2 3

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Play Dough

    Serving Size: 1 (229 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 2

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 334.2
     
    Calories from Fat 66
    19%
    Total Fat 7.4 g
    11%
    Saturated Fat 0.9 g
    4%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 14609.2 mg
    608%
    Total Carbohydrate 52.1 g
    17%
    Dietary Fiber 1.7 g
    7%
    Sugars 0.7 g
    3%
    Protein 6.4 g
    12%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    Kool-Aid

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes