Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Platanos Fritos (Sauteed Plantains) Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Platanos Fritos (Sauteed Plantains)

    Average Rating:

    10 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-10 of 10

    Sort by:

    • on June 09, 2011

      This was very good! I love the subtle sweetness. Thanks for sharing. Made for ZWT7 for the Vivacious Violets.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 02, 2011

      I have never had plantains before. My boys kept saying "what's wrong with these bananas?" before I cooked them. They taste like french fries with just a hint of sweetness. Very easy to do and I tried something new! Made for ZWT7.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 26, 2011

      Very easy to make and a tasty side to our dinner of Two-Way Argentinean Barbecued Steak (Churrasco) and Salsa Carioca (Venezuela Salad). Thanks.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 05, 2009

      Yum yum yum! I used a black skinned plantain and enjoyed the little bit of sweetness it gave. I used corn oil. Thanks! Made for the Epicurean Queens, ZWT 2009!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 02, 2009

      This is really going to be one ot those that boils down to if you like plantains or not. I do so I enjoyed them and especially as it was so easy to throw together. I had it along side black beans and rice for lovely tropical vegetarian meal. Made for Chow Hounds on ZWT5.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 07, 2008

      We had never tried plantains before and were pleasantly surprised. I'm not sure it's something I would seek out to make again, to be honest, but I liked these and the flavor. Made for ZWT.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 27, 2008

      These were excellent. I agree they would work as a side dish or a dessert, maybe served over some french toast or pancake. Made for ZWT4.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 24, 2008

      A super quick side dish to go with your next Central/South American dinner. I loved the combination of sweet with salt. Thanks Alexis. Made for ZWT4 by a Jefe de la Cocina.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 23, 2008

      Very nice. The only way I have ever had plantains was in Mexico and they were drenched in a sweet syrup, so this was very different! Tasted like french fries to me. Mine were done after about 2 min on each side. Made for ZWT4.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 21, 2008

      This was a delightful dish. This was my first time trying plantains so I wanted a recipe where the flavor of the plantain was not overpowered by anything else. This was very quick and easy and I will make it again. Made and reviewed for ZWT4. Thanks for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Platanos Fritos (Sauteed Plantains)

    Serving Size: 1 (93 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 140.1
     
    Calories from Fat 34
    24%
    Total Fat 3.8 g
    5%
    Saturated Fat 0.3 g
    1%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 112.5 mg
    4%
    Total Carbohydrate 28.5 g
    9%
    Dietary Fiber 2.0 g
    8%
    Sugars 13.4 g
    53%
    Protein 1.1 g
    2%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites