10 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

This was very good! I love the subtle sweetness. Thanks for sharing. Made for ZWT7 for the Vivacious Violets.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Lainey6605 June 09, 2011

I have never had plantains before. My boys kept saying "what's wrong with these bananas?" before I cooked them. They taste like french fries with just a hint of sweetness. Very easy to do and I tried something new! Made for ZWT7.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mary winecoff June 02, 2011

Yum yum yum! I used a black skinned plantain and enjoyed the little bit of sweetness it gave. I used corn oil. Thanks! Made for the Epicurean Queens, ZWT 2009!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sharon123 June 05, 2009

This is really going to be one ot those that boils down to if you like plantains or not. I do so I enjoyed them and especially as it was so easy to throw together. I had it along side black beans and rice for lovely tropical vegetarian meal. Made for Chow Hounds on ZWT5.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sarah_Jayne June 02, 2009

We had never tried plantains before and were pleasantly surprised. I'm not sure it's something I would seek out to make again, to be honest, but I liked these and the flavor. Made for ZWT.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
CandyTX July 07, 2008

These were excellent. I agree they would work as a side dish or a dessert, maybe served over some french toast or pancake. Made for ZWT4.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Scarlett516 June 27, 2008

A super quick side dish to go with your next Central/South American dinner. I loved the combination of sweet with salt. Thanks Alexis. Made for ZWT4 by a Jefe de la Cocina.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
cookiedog June 24, 2008

Very nice. The only way I have ever had plantains was in Mexico and they were drenched in a sweet syrup, so this was very different! Tasted like french fries to me. Mine were done after about 2 min on each side. Made for ZWT4.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
JanuaryBride June 23, 2008

This was a delightful dish. This was my first time trying plantains so I wanted a recipe where the flavor of the plantain was not overpowered by anything else. This was very quick and easy and I will make it again. Made and reviewed for ZWT4. Thanks for posting!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
MamaJ June 21, 2008
Platanos Fritos (Sauteed Plantains)