8 Reviews

we love this, tho not sure where i 1st learned of it! i added the black beans, chopped green olives, capers, fresh mushrooms, tons of oregano, goya sazon, sazon completa, cumin, granulated garlic, and a dash of tabasco. i used barely 1 tbsp of oil to saute everything in the pan, shredding the chicken as it cooked, adding a bit of water as needed. something i have discovered, as i HATE trying to make the rolls- i have no talent, they always fall apart!- take a normal size muffin pan, pam it, then put a tbsp or so of plantain mixture in bottom of each, squish it down, then put the meat/veggie mix, squishing it down also. then put another tbsp or so of plantain on the top, flattening it out a bit. bake them for 15-20 min and voila, a heck of a lot less work, and everyone gets plantain and meat, not just one or the other! anyhoo- great recipe, love this stuff! thanks!

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Gracielagata February 16, 2011

I've made this twice so far, the first time, it definitely needed the little bit of sauce left in the pan. This time, I made sure the plantains were riper and the crust wound up being almost too juicy and fell apart. However the flavors were wonderful both times, I'm trying the muffin tin thing next time.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Eggs and Toast May 10, 2011

YUM!!!!! Found this recipe and it sounded like something our family would like and it is!!. The review were helpful as well and I think you could flavour the chicken with your favourite chicken herbs and spices. Cheers heaps

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mich76 April 21, 2010

Wonderful dish!! So versatile!! I used a combination of black beans, leftover greens cooked with onions, and a block of firm tofu for the filling. Seasoned with cumin, fresh basil, oregano, chili powder, and Adobo seasoning as recommended here. I also used two eggs in the plantain crust. I overfilled and had some issues with rolling, but I managed to spread the plantain mixture around and form a very substantial roll-esque shape on the jelly roll pan. I also had to bake it for a lot longer (in the end, probably baked for 60 minutes, with foil and without foil). No matter how long it took to bake, it turned out great and is SO tasty. It's a very versatile dish and I look forward to using all kinds of different filling combinations. Thanks for sharing this recipe.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
HeureuseKoch June 26, 2008

This is my first post in Recipezaar. In Puerto Rico we love plantains as much as rice and beans. We called them "platano" and when ripe they are "amarillos" or "maduro". The advises to spice the mix are excellent. Bill, instead of the extra pepper, add a touch of tabasco. Consider also adding oregano. You can also use ground beef instead of the chicken (if you dont mind the extra calories).

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
drjosemarrero June 25, 2006

Pretty good. I added 1tsp cumin, seasoning salt, chili powder, oregano, and minced garlic to the chicken as it was boiling. I don't think it made much of a difference. I also seasoned the chicken after I had cut it in strips with more spices (minus the garlic) and I thought it came out pretty good. I think alternatively what could be done is to mix the olive oil and spices and allow the chicken to marinade in this mixture.... or maybe not, just a suggestion.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
hippeastrum March 30, 2006

This is a great dish - unique and healthy, we really love it. I did follow the suggestions given by muffin goddess. Next time I think I will use one more egg because my crust cracked open. Would also be great with some kind of sauce. In Panama they often use a soy sauce and ketchup mixture, might give it a try next time. Thanks - this will be on our menu again!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
blisstir July 05, 2004

Edited review: I finally got around to making these again! This time, I used 1 tsp. chipotle chili powder, 1 tsp cumin, some Adobo seasoning, 3 minced garlic cloves, 1 small chopped tomato, 1/2 tsp. each of Mexican oregano and basil, and a pinch of coarse salt (in addition to the seasoning called for in the recipe)when cooking the chicken. I also cooked off all of the water with the chicken to make the seasonings more concentrated. For veggies, I threw in some canned corn, frozen peas, carrots, and frozen turnip chunks (wanted potatoes but didn't have any, turnip kinda gave a similar effect). No disappointment this time, the extra seasoning in the chicken did the trick. I actually went a little overboard with the filling mixture and had some left over - made a nice chicken/veggie/rice bowl the next day for lunch. The fifth star was definitely warranted this time around, and I'll be making this again - thanks for the seasoning suggestions, too!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Muffin Goddess September 20, 2003
Plantain Chicken Rolls