43 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

I have been doing this for a while now......never thought to post it so other knew also. Works great everytime. When I need to make rice because freezer is empty, I usually cook a whole bag and then package and freeze into meal size portions and individual portions for a fast lunch, just add left over meats.

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Huskergirl November 07, 2010

This is a great idea! It worked perfectly. However, I forgot to thaw it in the fridge so when I was needing it, I microwaved it for 5 minutes, like another reviewer said. Great every time. (tried this 3 times so far) I don't like the minute rice either, so I am glad to have this back up plan. Thanks.

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
5hungrykids July 04, 2010

Love this!!! SO EASY!!! When I'm making rice for dinner, I up the amount so that I can restock the freezer. I freeze 3c amounts (best for my family) ... just take straight from the freezer and put in the microwave for 5 min and you have perfect rice every time!!!

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Laurie Wellman March 27, 2010

This never occurred to me and I'm not sure why not. I used 2 cups of uncooked rice, cooked, and put into sandwich bags. I then put them into the freezer bags with my cut up fresh broccoli and froze. When it was was time for stir fry, I microwaved the rice in a bowl for about a minute or so, and then made fried rice. This is exactly what I needed for fried rice especially since its best to use day old/cold rice. I'll continue doing this.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
viviansmomma January 29, 2012

Wow, this is a TEN star tip and works like a charm. I filled both the sandwich size zip lock bags for 2 of us and a few snack size for when I want rice for myself. Thanks so much for posting.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Bonnie G #2 January 06, 2011

"Thank You From the Bottom of My Heart". I froze 2 cups per bag and got 5 bags. Since then I have used the rice with Chilli, made my version of Lazy Stuffed Cabbage & had it with Chicken & Vegetable Stir Fry. The rice was perfect every time when thawed and heated. While I love to cook from "scratch", it's nice to find a healthy short cut. This is a "keeper".

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
gypsygal October 15, 2010

I'm so glad I saw this! I had read somewhere NOT to freeze rice because it looses its texture! But after seeing these reviews, it must be a VERY OKAY thing to do! Thanks so much for posting! I'm off to cook up some rice! This will be AWESOME come winter for the "on-the-fly" 10 min chicken and rice soup! Bye bye Instant!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
A.D.Judy September 14, 2010

What a great idea! I have so many recipes that I can make up ahead and just need some rice to finish it. I will make this now and put it in the freezer for the next time I need some rice. Thanks for a great idea to make my life run a little smoother.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Eldeevee September 13, 2010

Ended up with 3 bags two cups each.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Seasons September 01, 2013

What a wonderful tip- Thanks for sharing!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Lizette210 December 26, 2012
Plain Rice -- Make Ahead OAMC Throw It in the Freezer!!