Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Plain Rice -- Make Ahead OAMC Throw It in the Freezer!! Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Plain Rice -- Make Ahead OAMC Throw It in the Freezer!!

    Average Rating:

    43 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 43

    Sort by:

    • on November 07, 2010

      I have been doing this for a while now......never thought to post it so other knew also. Works great everytime. When I need to make rice because freezer is empty, I usually cook a whole bag and then package and freeze into meal size portions and individual portions for a fast lunch, just add left over meats.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 04, 2010

      This is a great idea! It worked perfectly. However, I forgot to thaw it in the fridge so when I was needing it, I microwaved it for 5 minutes, like another reviewer said. Great every time. (tried this 3 times so far) I don't like the minute rice either, so I am glad to have this back up plan. Thanks.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 27, 2010

      Love this!!! SO EASY!!! When I'm making rice for dinner, I up the amount so that I can restock the freezer. I freeze 3c amounts (best for my family) ... just take straight from the freezer and put in the microwave for 5 min and you have perfect rice every time!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 29, 2012

      This never occurred to me and I'm not sure why not. I used 2 cups of uncooked rice, cooked, and put into sandwich bags. I then put them into the freezer bags with my cut up fresh broccoli and froze. When it was was time for stir fry, I microwaved the rice in a bowl for about a minute or so, and then made fried rice. This is exactly what I needed for fried rice especially since its best to use day old/cold rice. I'll continue doing this.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 06, 2011

      Wow, this is a TEN star tip and works like a charm. I filled both the sandwich size zip lock bags for 2 of us and a few snack size for when I want rice for myself. Thanks so much for posting.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 15, 2010

      "Thank You From the Bottom of My Heart". I froze 2 cups per bag and got 5 bags. Since then I have used the rice with Chilli, made my version of Lazy Stuffed Cabbage & had it with Chicken & Vegetable Stir Fry. The rice was perfect every time when thawed and heated. While I love to cook from "scratch", it's nice to find a healthy short cut. This is a "keeper".

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 14, 2010

      I'm so glad I saw this! I had read somewhere NOT to freeze rice because it looses its texture! But after seeing these reviews, it must be a VERY OKAY thing to do! Thanks so much for posting! I'm off to cook up some rice! This will be AWESOME come winter for the "on-the-fly" 10 min chicken and rice soup! Bye bye Instant!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 13, 2010

      What a great idea! I have so many recipes that I can make up ahead and just need some rice to finish it. I will make this now and put it in the freezer for the next time I need some rice. Thanks for a great idea to make my life run a little smoother.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 01, 2013

      Ended up with 3 bags two cups each.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 26, 2012

      What a wonderful tip- Thanks for sharing!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 31, 2010

      Great idea & far better than the processed instant rice in the store! Thanks so much!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 02, 2010

    • on February 02, 2010

      How is it I have not rated this one? I use this all the time after making my rice Perfect Basic White Rice. The rice freezes wonderfully and reheats perfectly.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 17, 2009

      So Simple. . .So Smart. . .

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 03, 2009

      Love this so much! When I get home too tired or when I'm rushed in the morning and have no time to pack a lunch I take one of these out of the freezer, add frozen chicken and vegetables and throw it all into the microwave.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 07, 2009

      Awesome! I made my rice and froze in 2 cup packets. I pulled a packet out last night and put in the microwave for five minutes and had perfect rice. Thanks so much!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 23, 2009

      LOVE THIS! I used Jasmine Rice, put 2 cups cooked into cheap sandwich baggies, and put THOSE into a nicer zip-lock one to keep from freezer burn. I don't thaw - just take from freezer and put directly into microwave for 5 minutes or so. Has made eating rice SO convenient! Would make fresh for company as the texture of Jasmine is slightly altered, but perfect for meals for hubby and I. Am doing long-grain rice today and expect it to work just as great! THANKS!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 20, 2009

      My rice cooker states to rinse rice before cooking...however it"s still starchy. This technique finally gave me no starch. Thanks...

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 20, 2009

      This worked really well! Not mushy or sticky at all. What an excellent "trick." I made brown rice using weak (homemade) chicken stock and put it in gallon size freezer bags, spread into a very thin flat layer so that I can break off chunks as I need it (read that tip somewhere else). I microwaved it right from frozen and it was great.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 13, 2009

      This works like a charm! I love the price on large bags of rice, but I hate having to wait 45-50 minutes for it to be ready for dinner. Now I've got enough rice for 3 dinners in the freezer and still saved money! The rice turns out wonderfully - the BF couldn't even tell it had come out of the freezer! (He just asked how I managed to cook the rice so fast - shhh! It's a secret!) Thanks, for the great idea!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2 3

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Plain Rice -- Make Ahead OAMC Throw It in the Freezer!!

    Serving Size: 1 (73 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 8

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 263.2
     
    Calories from Fat 3
    43%
    Total Fat 0.4 g
    0%
    Saturated Fat 0.1 g
    0%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 0.7 mg
    0%
    Total Carbohydrate 58.0 g
    19%
    Dietary Fiber 1.0 g
    4%
    Sugars 0.0 g
    0%
    Protein 4.8 g
    9%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites