11 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

This was a great raita recipe! I loved all the flavors of the spices within it, but I did add mint and minced cucumber at the very end and it was great! Went very well with the bhindi masala. T

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
BlondeGuru June 28, 2012

This is really super. Quick & easy. I made this as part of a vegetarian Indian meal I made for my family-and was asked for the recipe later. Clean, crisp, satisfying flavor. I didn't have whole cumin seeds at the time, so I just dry-toasted the ground cumin at hand, and it was still great!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Shalabhanjika February 01, 2010

Simple clean flavors, perfect. Thanks, Charishma. I also added a teaspoon each of chopped fresh flat-leaf parsley and chives.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Susiecat too September 20, 2008

Yummy, perfect for our Indian dinner tonight. I followed the recipe as written and really enjoyed the taste. It was a great accompaniment to cool down the curry. Thank you Charishma Ramchandani

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef floWer October 31, 2007

Very good. :) I added a bit of garlic and hot pepper instead of salt, to cut down on the sodium. Thanks!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kitty Z July 11, 2007

What an excellent recipe! I make this to have on its own (yes, naan/raita junkie here). In contrast to the other reviewers who felt there was a bit too much cumin, I thought the original recipe too salty for my tastes, so I've been using 1 tsp of salt instead of the 1.5 indicated. I may dial that down further if I add cucumbers/tomatoes to it. At any rate - an excellent recipe. Thanks for sharing!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
stingo February 04, 2007

You can't eat these wonderful dishes without Raita, it wouldn't be right :) This is delicious, I agree with adding the cuc's tom's and teeny bit less cumin, The main dish usually has plenty! Very yummy~!!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef Jenn #3 April 29, 2006

We've made this recipe a few times now. WE LOVE IT. We also added cucumber and diced tomatoes (so that it's like the Raita from our favourite restaurant) and we tone down the amount of cumin as I find it is a little too much as is.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Ennoia February 15, 2006

Delicious. Added a bit of grated cucumber for some texture. Everyone loved it.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
DeSouter July 04, 2005
Plain Raita