Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Plain Raita Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Plain Raita

    Average Rating:

    11 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-11 of 11

    Sort by:

    • on June 28, 2012

      This was a great raita recipe! I loved all the flavors of the spices within it, but I did add mint and minced cucumber at the very end and it was great! Went very well with the bhindi masala. T

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 01, 2010

      This is really super. Quick & easy. I made this as part of a vegetarian Indian meal I made for my family-and was asked for the recipe later. Clean, crisp, satisfying flavor. I didn't have whole cumin seeds at the time, so I just dry-toasted the ground cumin at hand, and it was still great!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 20, 2008

      Simple clean flavors, perfect. Thanks, Charishma. I also added a teaspoon each of chopped fresh flat-leaf parsley and chives.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 31, 2007

      Yummy, perfect for our Indian dinner tonight. I followed the recipe as written and really enjoyed the taste. It was a great accompaniment to cool down the curry. Thank you Charishma Ramchandani

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 11, 2007

      Very good. :) I added a bit of garlic and hot pepper instead of salt, to cut down on the sodium. Thanks!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 04, 2007

      What an excellent recipe! I make this to have on its own (yes, naan/raita junkie here). In contrast to the other reviewers who felt there was a bit too much cumin, I thought the original recipe too salty for my tastes, so I've been using 1 tsp of salt instead of the 1.5 indicated. I may dial that down further if I add cucumbers/tomatoes to it. At any rate - an excellent recipe. Thanks for sharing!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 29, 2006

      You can't eat these wonderful dishes without Raita, it wouldn't be right :) This is delicious, I agree with adding the cuc's tom's and teeny bit less cumin, The main dish usually has plenty! Very yummy~!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 15, 2006

      We've made this recipe a few times now. WE LOVE IT. We also added cucumber and diced tomatoes (so that it's like the Raita from our favourite restaurant) and we tone down the amount of cumin as I find it is a little too much as is.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 04, 2005

      Delicious. Added a bit of grated cucumber for some texture. Everyone loved it.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 23, 2009

    • on April 25, 2007

      This was ok, a bit too thick, and it was a little bland. We added extra spice and some cayenne pepper which helped.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Plain Raita

    Serving Size: 1 (84 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 52.3
     
    Calories from Fat 24
    47%
    Total Fat 2.7 g
    4%
    Saturated Fat 1.7 g
    8%
    Cholesterol 10.6 mg
    3%
    Sodium 619.6 mg
    25%
    Total Carbohydrate 4.2 g
    1%
    Dietary Fiber 0.1 g
    0%
    Sugars 3.8 g
    15%
    Protein 2.9 g
    5%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites