10 Reviews

Debbwl... I took your advice and made dibs Quinoa-Toasted and then followed your instructions exactly. I then used your recipe to make my Beef and Quinoa Stuffed Bell Peppers. It worked wonderfully. Great flavor and texture. Thank you for posting something so simple that I can't botch it up! Made for Culinary Quest 2014 / Suitcase Gourmets

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
rosie316 August 23, 2014

Four things I have learned about cooking quinoa: always rinse it first (even if the package/box states it is pre-rinsed), toast the grain first, salt sufficiently, and use broth or stock. That's what I did. I toasted the quinoa in about 1 tablespoon of olive oil. Cooked 15 minutes then set aside for about 10 minutes. Perfect! Made for CQ 2014.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
COOKGIRl August 27, 2014

Great result - many thanks - love the toasted tip and also went with that !!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
katew February 05, 2012

I used white quinoa and added some chicken boullion to the water. I was making the quinoa for a different recipe and thought okay I need to make some as a side dish, it was great.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Margie99 January 12, 2011

This is the perfect quinoa recipe! The recipe to toast it, which I first tried some time ago at Deb's suggestion, was what got me to try this seed again - and now I'm totally hooked! Deb's recipe makes it come out perfect, and look, Mom, no watching, either! For this recipe, I used red, white, and black quinoa. How pretty! Thanks for a real winner! Made for PRMR Tag (sorry for being late with my review!)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Katzen September 26, 2010

This is a wonderful method for making plain quinoa! I love how easy it is and how well written your descriptions are, Debbie!
My quinoa came out fluffy and perfectly cooked after 18 minutes.
THANK YOU SO MUCH for sharing yet another great instructions for cooking grains!
Made and reviewed for Veggie Swap #26 September 2010.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Lalaloula September 21, 2010

This is one of those recipes that you always keep handy - I know that I certainly will! I have used this method several times (always toasting the quinoa first) - usually only making 2 or 3 servings; it has worked out just great each time even when changing the serving size.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Brooke the Cook in WI May 25, 2010

Thanks Debb for posting this recipe. I didn't know it was better to toast the quinoa first. It's great that way. Thanks :) Made for Holiday tag game

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Boomette April 25, 2010

The essential recipe for perfectly cooked quinoa! Toasting it first is a must.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
FLKeysJen March 13, 2010
Plain Quinoa