Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Plain Quinoa Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Plain Quinoa

    Average Rating:

    10 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-10 of 10

    Sort by:

    • on August 23, 2014

      Debbwl... I took your advice and made dibs Quinoa-Toasted and then followed your instructions exactly. I then used your recipe to make my Beef and Quinoa Stuffed Bell Peppers. It worked wonderfully. Great flavor and texture. Thank you for posting something so simple that I can't botch it up! Made for Culinary Quest 2014 / Suitcase Gourmets

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 27, 2014

      Four things I have learned about cooking quinoa: always rinse it first (even if the package/box states it is pre-rinsed), toast the grain first, salt sufficiently, and use broth or stock. That's what I did. I toasted the quinoa in about 1 tablespoon of olive oil. Cooked 15 minutes then set aside for about 10 minutes. Perfect! Made for CQ 2014.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 05, 2012

      Great result - many thanks - love the toasted tip and also went with that !!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 12, 2011

      I used white quinoa and added some chicken boullion to the water. I was making the quinoa for a different recipe and thought okay I need to make some as a side dish, it was great.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 26, 2010

      This is the perfect quinoa recipe! The recipe to toast it, which I first tried some time ago at Deb's suggestion, was what got me to try this seed again - and now I'm totally hooked! Deb's recipe makes it come out perfect, and look, Mom, no watching, either! For this recipe, I used red, white, and black quinoa. How pretty! Thanks for a real winner! Made for PRMR Tag (sorry for being late with my review!)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 21, 2010

      This is a wonderful method for making plain quinoa! I love how easy it is and how well written your descriptions are, Debbie!
      My quinoa came out fluffy and perfectly cooked after 18 minutes.
      THANK YOU SO MUCH for sharing yet another great instructions for cooking grains!
      Made and reviewed for Veggie Swap #26 September 2010.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 06, 2010

    • on May 25, 2010

      This is one of those recipes that you always keep handy - I know that I certainly will! I have used this method several times (always toasting the quinoa first) - usually only making 2 or 3 servings; it has worked out just great each time even when changing the serving size.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 25, 2010

      Thanks Debb for posting this recipe. I didn't know it was better to toast the quinoa first. It's great that way. Thanks :) Made for Holiday tag game

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 13, 2010

      The essential recipe for perfectly cooked quinoa! Toasting it first is a must.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Plain Quinoa

    Serving Size: 1 (161 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 156.4
     
    Calories from Fat 23
    14%
    Total Fat 2.5 g
    3%
    Saturated Fat 0.3 g
    1%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 5.6 mg
    0%
    Total Carbohydrate 27.2 g
    9%
    Dietary Fiber 2.9 g
    11%
    Sugars 0.0 g
    0%
    Protein 6.0 g
    12%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes