Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Plain Popovers Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Plain Popovers

    Average Rating:

    12 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-12 of 12

    Sort by:

    • on April 07, 2002

      I really enjoyed these. Made them for dinner last night and they turned out perfect. Loaded mine with lots of butter...yummy!!! Whenever I go shopping at Marshall Fields (Hudson's) I always have a popover, now I can make my own. Thanks :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 17, 2002

      We love popovers in our house. The problem is, I find the results unreliable. I've always used recipes where you blend the ingredients smooth. Sometimes they don't "pop" up for me, even though I've tried all the tips (bake on bottom rack, dust muffin tins w/ sugar, etc). This recipe was EASY and they puffed up pretty well. The insides were mostly hollow with custardy walls. I think next time I'll bake them on the bottom rack and add a tbs. or two of sugar, as the flavor was a tad bit bland. I will also try baking them a little less time. They were VERY brown. My oven door door has no window, so I can't check on them easily. I will make these again. Great with butter, jam, and plain yogurt. Would also be great with lemon juice & powdered sugar.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 27, 2001

      My aussie husband visited Boston 25 years ago and came back raving about Popovers and till today I have not been able to find a recipe for them. Thanks for saving my sanity and marriage He is truly a content man now!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 14, 2003

      Tebo, you've made me a very happy woman! I have always lo-o-ved popovers, but never could make any that I would rate above average. This recipe broke every rule of popover making that I've read from the so-called 'experts', and yet delivered the most perfect result!! They were high, tender, and the perfect dark brown color. They tasted exactly as popovers should--eggy, but light. They literally took two minutes to make from start to oven; couldn't be easier! Next time I'm going to make some honey butter to serve with them--how could it get better than that? Thanks so much for posting this winner!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 26, 2006

      Followed instructions to a "T" and still flat popovers. I will continue my search for the perfect popover.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 23, 2006

      Popovers came out fluffy and beautifully brown. I mixed flour and salt separately prior to mixing in with wet mixture. The leftovers, when reheated microwave, were still delicious.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 21, 2006

      I Must say, I was a bit skeptical when I read the part of this recipe that said put the pan into a cold oven. Every other popover recipe I ever used had the pan preheated before adding the batter. I will NEVER use any other popover recipe again! This was easy, quick and the results were PERFECT. That is something I did not often achieve with other recipes! THANK YOU for sharing this recipe. I had small eggs so I used three instead of two and the results were fine! The entire family wants these more often now that we tried these!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 26, 2005

      I have wonderful memories of going to Neiman-Marcus and The Hedges restaurant with my Grandmother when I was little. That is where I was first introduced to popovers and I have loved them ever since. My folks even bought me a popover pan when I started trying to make these little jewels. However, I have had only limited success. The other 'Zaarians were right about trying all these recipes with "special" instructions like letting the batter rest for 30 min. before baking. Oy! These were quick and easy and very good. They took the same amount of time in a popover pan. My only complaint is that they tasted a little bland - not eggy enough or something. They need something besides butter to elevate them.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 10, 2005

      we ate popovers as a treat and these are easy my mom heated up tin before she put batter in i dont know what this does

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 05, 2004

      These are so yummy!!! Very easy to follow instructions for the first time popover maker (that would be me). I ate one hot out of the oven. They really puffed up nicely. Thanks so much for the great recipe. Gibblet

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 03, 2003

      Wonderful flavor! Super easy to make. The kids loved them. They popped up with no problem. I made mine in jumbo muffin tins and they were a bit dark but didn't taste like it. Will definately make again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 17, 2003

      I just pulled these out of oven and they are fantastic. I am eating one as I wtite this. So simple to throw together, I ate mine with a little butter and honey what a treat. This is definate keeper. I also made mine in a 12 cup muffin tin, they bake for about 20 minutes.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Plain Popovers

    Serving Size: 1 (472 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 94.7
     
    Calories from Fat 22
    23%
    Total Fat 2.5 g
    3%
    Saturated Fat 1.1 g
    5%
    Cholesterol 57.1 mg
    19%
    Sodium 178.1 mg
    7%
    Total Carbohydrate 13.4 g
    4%
    Dietary Fiber 0.4 g
    1%
    Sugars 0.1 g
    0%
    Protein 4.1 g
    8%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites