14 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

FANTASTIC!! Soooo very light and thin and delicious! I made them with anise extract and another batch with real vanilla and hazelnut flavoring. When they first come out of the maker, they are very pliable and easily wrap around shapers for cones or tubes. My pizzelle maker makes two 5" pizzelles and this recipe only made 44 pizzelles total and there was not much at all to cut off the edges. I would absolutely highly recommend this recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Colleen D. June 02, 2015

A little thinner tha my Nonna's but a good basic recipe. I added another 1/2 c of flour, used anise seed instead of flavoring, and added 1 t vanilla.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Jersey_Girl December 07, 2014

Exactly how I remember my great grandmother's. Exactly!

Except I never liked the anise... so I make them with cinnamon. Now they're better than my great grandmother's.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
xDAVEx December 10, 2011

I have tried quite a few pizzells recipes and this one did not meet 5 stars for me. I will say however that is a perfect recipe if you want to roll them and fill them...nice and light. But there was something too light ...maybe it was the oil only...not sure.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
FromKatesKitchen December 21, 2009

Andypandy, this is my grandmother's recipe too! I love how these turn out. A word to the wise, follow andy's advice about the anise oil, a little dab will do ya'... if you use too much it'll ruin the cookie. thanks for sharing

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
CHRISSYG October 25, 2009

My family love these cookies and we have tried different flavor extracts with success: orange, lemon, almond and coconut!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
petretta August 08, 2009

I made these for Christmas. Everyone loved these. They're wonderful. A new addition to my christmas cookie list! Great Recipe! Thanks!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
FOREVER YOUNG January 28, 2009

Great recipe. I used all organic ingredients and did cut the flour back a bit. I actually just started with 3/4 cup and added more from that until it was the desired consistency, which I am told is supposed to be like pancake batter? I left out the anise flavoring as I had none but will make these again and try adding it then. For the oil I used smart balance omega oil and it didnt seem to make any difference as opposed to regular oil. I also cut the sugar to just about a cup and I thought it was perfect. This was my first time making them in a loooooong time and I had just gotten a brand new iron for this. The directions stated that to be sure the iron is super hot and well greased with either shortening or oil. The first time I tried this I didnt let the iron get hot enough and everything stuck and it took me 2 days to get all the stuck batter out of the crevices of the iron. I think I have it right now though, and a great recipe; so thanks!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
jennifer in new jersey January 27, 2009

I misplaced my recipe for my p. maker so I decided to try yours and made it twice. I used maple extract/vanilla for the flavorings. I really liked how they baked up (slightly thicker, which makes nice edgers). I compared my recipe (I found it!) with yours and yours calls for 3 more eggs than mine, and I realize that's what I liked about it! Also, yours called for oil and mine melted butter (and specif. not oil!), but I loved the ease of using the oil. In short, I like YOUR recipe better than mine and will continue to use it. Thanks Andypandy, for sharing your Grandma's recipe! Roxygirl

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Roxygirl in Colorado December 13, 2008

hey! my first time making pizzelles! ( i bought a pizzelle maker today at a garage sale for $1)...i didn't have canola oil so used vegetable oil, didn't have anise flavoring so used vanilla extract, and only made 1/6 of the recipe, but they turned out GREAT!...my pizzelle were about 4" in diameter and 1/6 made 12 so i believe that the whole recipe will make 72...thanks!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
erinj June 27, 2008
Pizzelle Italian Tye Plates 1927