Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Pizzelle Italian Tye Plates 1927 Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Pizzelle Italian Tye Plates 1927

    Average Rating:

    12 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-12 of 12

    Sort by:

    • on December 10, 2011

      Exactly how I remember my great grandmother's. Exactly!

      Except I never liked the anise... so I make them with cinnamon. Now they're better than my great grandmother's.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 21, 2009

      I have tried quite a few pizzells recipes and this one did not meet 5 stars for me. I will say however that is a perfect recipe if you want to roll them and fill them...nice and light. But there was something too light ...maybe it was the oil only...not sure.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 25, 2009

      Andypandy, this is my grandmother's recipe too! I love how these turn out. A word to the wise, follow andy's advice about the anise oil, a little dab will do ya'... if you use too much it'll ruin the cookie. thanks for sharing

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 08, 2009

      My family love these cookies and we have tried different flavor extracts with success: orange, lemon, almond and coconut!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 28, 2009

      I made these for Christmas. Everyone loved these. They're wonderful. A new addition to my christmas cookie list! Great Recipe! Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 27, 2009

      Great recipe. I used all organic ingredients and did cut the flour back a bit. I actually just started with 3/4 cup and added more from that until it was the desired consistency, which I am told is supposed to be like pancake batter? I left out the anise flavoring as I had none but will make these again and try adding it then. For the oil I used smart balance omega oil and it didnt seem to make any difference as opposed to regular oil. I also cut the sugar to just about a cup and I thought it was perfect. This was my first time making them in a loooooong time and I had just gotten a brand new iron for this. The directions stated that to be sure the iron is super hot and well greased with either shortening or oil. The first time I tried this I didnt let the iron get hot enough and everything stuck and it took me 2 days to get all the stuck batter out of the crevices of the iron. I think I have it right now though, and a great recipe; so thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 13, 2008

      I misplaced my recipe for my p. maker so I decided to try yours and made it twice. I used maple extract/vanilla for the flavorings. I really liked how they baked up (slightly thicker, which makes nice edgers). I compared my recipe (I found it!) with yours and yours calls for 3 more eggs than mine, and I realize that's what I liked about it! Also, yours called for oil and mine melted butter (and specif. not oil!), but I loved the ease of using the oil. In short, I like YOUR recipe better than mine and will continue to use it. Thanks Andypandy, for sharing your Grandma's recipe! Roxygirl

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 27, 2008

      hey! my first time making pizzelles! ( i bought a pizzelle maker today at a garage sale for $1)...i didn't have canola oil so used vegetable oil, didn't have anise flavoring so used vanilla extract, and only made 1/6 of the recipe, but they turned out GREAT!...my pizzelle were about 4" in diameter and 1/6 made 12 so i believe that the whole recipe will make 72...thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 02, 2007

      I doubled the basic recipe and added chocolate extract and cocoa powder. They came out very nice. To the last half of the batter I added orange extract and orange zest to make chocolate-orange pizzelles, also very nice. The recipe doubled made about 60 Pizzelles. Vanilla and Lemon flavors are a treat in addition to the anise, giving you a nice assortment of pizzelles. Double your recipe and make half one flavor and half another flavor if you like. Mold them into bowls or cones just after taking off the iron for added flair. Karen

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 19, 2007

      Well, I choose this recipe after finding I had lost the booklet that came with my pizzelle iron. But remember this as being similar to my recipe. Made it using vanilla instead of anise as that's the way I always have. The only issue I had was that it was quite think, so I'm making another batch using 1cup and then adding 1/4 cups until its a consistency I'm happy with. Also, there is NO possible way I could ever get out 120 of them. My irons must be larger than yours. I probably got about 30 out. I also made 7 into a bowl form for a xmas meal we're having in a couple weeks. They will be holding fruit sorbet.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 14, 2006

      Well, this Pizzelle recipe was great! My mom passed away a few years ago, and I just could not get a recipe anywhere that worked like hers. This was just like hers!! Love it Thanks for posting this

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 02, 2005

      I tried this recipe after asking for a tresure of a recipe, I received this from AndyPandy and her Grandmother did us all proud. This is definitely one for your recipe files.And the little bit of cornstarch does make them stay crisp. Many thanks for the treasure. You knoe if these stars went higher i would give them a higher rating! JERSEYGIRL

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Pizzelle Italian Tye Plates 1927

    Serving Size: 1 (931 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 50.3
     
    Calories from Fat 24
    47%
    Total Fat 2.6 g
    4%
    Saturated Fat 0.4 g
    2%
    Cholesterol 15.5 mg
    5%
    Sodium 6.0 mg
    0%
    Total Carbohydrate 5.8 g
    1%
    Dietary Fiber 0.0 g
    0%
    Sugars 3.4 g
    13%
    Protein 0.8 g
    1%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    anise flavoring

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites