21 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

A tasty alternative! I served this as part of a pizza buffet and those who tried it really liked it. I sauteed the onions for about 45 minutes to really bring out their sweetness then added the honey and vinegar and let it all cook a little longer. The onion mixture kept well in the fridge until I assembled the pie a few hours later. I used homemade dough for the crust and it all worked just fine. I will make this again. Thanks, Kim.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
MA Blossom April 04, 2006

Yummy toppings. I caramelized the onions without the honey, used homemade crust and also added salami, which was great. I made half of this as one pizza (I wasn't sure what "zaar's" conversion to 12 inches meant, but figured for the amount of toppings it had to be 2 crusts).

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Maito December 17, 2012

Great pizza! I made it using Boboli mini crusts. Liked the hint of honey in the onions. Made for Best of 2011 game.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mikekey February 06, 2012

This was terrific. I've been on the look for more recipes that call for honey and this recipe is definitely going into the collection.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Queen Dana June 04, 2011

This is the food I dream of at night! The sweet, sweet onions marry so perfectly with the meaty portabellas and thyme. I used a loaf of french bread dough and parbaked for about 8 minutes, then continued with the recipe subbing half brie and half goat cheese for the feta (simply because that is what I had--both were wonderful!). I would not change a single, solitary thing! Thank you, Kim for one of the most perfect pizzas I've ever had! Made for ZWT7.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
under12parsecs June 02, 2011

This was delicious! It had a wonderful earthy savory flavor. I realized half way through that I only had 4oz of feta so I subsitutted parmesan for the other 4ozs. I also added some garlic to the onions but therwise made as written. Will make again! Thanks Kim127. Made for ZWT7

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
sofie-a-toast June 01, 2011

This was a bid hit at last nights pizza party. I did use feta on half and goat cheese on the other half. The goat cheese was my favorite. Thanks for sharing the recipe, not one I would have come up with myself.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ratherbebaking February 27, 2011

Great combination of flavors! I halved the ingredients and used a tortilla rather than a pizza crust since that is what I had on hand

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Herb-Cat January 05, 2011

Wow! The five stars is for the onions caramelized with balsamic and honey...what a delicious pizza with very little fat! The toppings, crust and cheese could vary. It was tempting to use less onion but...it really shrinks up, and to add the mushroom to the saute but...the final texture of everything is perfect.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
FLKeysJen January 31, 2010
Pizza With Honey, Caramelized Onions, Cheese and Mushrooms