12 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Great recipe for the low carb dieters. I used 1 1/2 lbs ground beef so adjusted the ingredients accordingly. Added 1 tsp Italian seasoning and a bit of garlic salt. I chopped up a pepperette and added it to the cheese topping to give even more pizza flavour. The kids enjoyed it too and they aren't the biggest fans of meatloaf, so that was a bonus! Thanks NoraMarie, I will be making this again!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mums the word January 04, 2014

I made this last night. My husband thought it was great but I felt it was pretty bland. I did add 1/2 tblsp Italian seasoning to it. I think I may try it again and add more seasoning.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Wind in the Canyon January 04, 2012

Made this the other night for dinner and it was really enjoyed. Only change I made was to use red peppers(just my preference). Served with perogies for an easy weeknight dinner.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Tiggrr December 23, 2010

*Made for the Cookathon in Memory of ED* I had 1 pound of meatloaf mix -- beef, pork, and veal --so went with this recipe as written! I added a tsp. of Italian seasoning and garlic powder, just because -- and this smelled so good while in the oven, DH thought we were having pizza for dinner ! There is plenty left for sandwiches. Thanks for posting, Nora, we were thinking of Ed's brave fight, and your loving care.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
NurseJaney December 12, 2010

This was just fabulous meatloaf. Everyone loved it! It is a definite diet ruiner for me - I had a Lean Cuisine and then couldn't help myself and about 4 hours later HAD to have a meatloaf sandwich. OMG it was just so good! Ours was still pink in the center after 60 minutes so I had to cook it for an additional 15 minutes, but it could have been that my loaf was too high. Thanks Nora!!!!!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
NcMysteryShopper September 12, 2008

This is sooooo good!!!! I made it early in the day, thinking I would get a head start on dinner. Now, I'm worried that there won't be any left as I keep taking bites out of it. It is so juicy and I used Kezza's Chunky Pizza Sauce in place of the jarred sauce. The flavors of the green peppers, onions, basil, and oregano danced in my mouth! I made I half recipe (kicking myself for that) and I'm hoping I'll have some left to serve for dinner tonight! Thank you Nora!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
cookiedog July 07, 2008

This recipe fits right into our family taste. Very good. Made for Tastebud Tickling Travellers for ZWT4.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Ycooks2 July 01, 2008

My DH who usually considers meatloaf a necessary evil, actually commented that "this is very good!" So...that is definitely worth five-stars IMHO! We all were commenting on how much we liked this. We didn't have mozzarella but some other cheese (the label was missing, so it was more of a mystery cheese). I'm sure that mozzarella cheese would only IMPROVE the flavor even more! I've never used oats in meatloaf before, and they really added nice body to the meat. I cooked it in a 9x9 pan, but it would make two nice loaves in loaf pans, too. Served it with Portuguese Potatoes (another awesome recipe) along with frozen (cooked) sweet peas--a tasty dinner in early January! *Christmas 2007 Beverage Tag*

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Debber January 07, 2008

Good, but not great. I expected a bigger "flavor punch." I think it could use more veggies, more oats, and more herbs/spices-- maybe some fresh garlic and oregano? Or use pizza sauce rather than pasta sauce? I'll use this recipe again because it was very easy and we liked the cheese. I will make several changes, though.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
A Messy Cook January 12, 2007

Oppps...I left mine in the oven and forgot about while I typed up some reviews, luckily the oven switches itself off when the times runs out, so it was a little overdone around the edges but not actually burnt anywhere, Inside the taste is great, DH had slices cold in sandwiches, I enjoyed mine with salad and I'm looking forward to making it again. Please see my rating system: an excellent 4 stars :) Thanks !

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
kiwidutch July 20, 2006
Pizza Style Meatloaf