62 Reviews

I've made these many times....a family favorite!! I always make them when I'm going out of town so my DB has fresh food to prepare. I know they're not "healthy" per se, but it's better than what he would be eating. I make just about as directed, and hope they make it into the freezer. My only alteration is I throw them in the freezer for about 5-10 min to firm up before rolling and again after slicing. This makes them much less messy.

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
zannawh June 30, 2010

I made these the other day & they turned out horrible. Everything was gooey & falling apart. Then I came back & read all of the reviews. Great! So today, I made exactly as directed except I used a combo of other pp's advice. Used ingredients just as directed, but I liberally floured my working surface & my hands. With four on my hands, I sealed each perforation & also turned the rectangle over & sealed from the other side too. This made rolling the spiral up much easier as the dough didn't break apart while rolling. Once rolled up, I placed the entire roll on a plate in the freezer for about 20 minutes & it cut perfectly with a serrated knife. My 5 year old ate 4 of them & I am thinking about all of the veggies he won't eat that I can hide in these things!! :-) Thanks for a great recipe.

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
zannah17 January 24, 2010

I would give this ten stars if I could. Seriously awesome, if for no other reason than its versatility. After the success of the pizza, I tried making it with sauteed spinach and swiss cheese (so easy!)... and ham and cheese... and ground beef with taco seasoning. On a budget but want to clean out all your random, unmatchable food? Buy some crescent dough and cream cheese! A note to Smaz and anyone else having trouble with the mess: Make sure the dough is COLD and also sprinkle some flour on the surface you're using, your hands, and the rolling pin if you are using one. I find the thinner you roll the dough the more stuff you can fill them with but the more messy they come out. also stick the rolls in the freezer for about ten minutes before you slice them and they will come out much more neatly! Once again easily ten stars for this awesome recipe!

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
dbostard September 05, 2008

The kids flipped over these pizza snacks! My daughter helped make them and we found them a bit hard to work with and messy to roll, but that is part of the fun. I only cut 4 slices from each roll as I didn't want them too thin. I think next time I will use a bit of flour as the last reviewer mentioned. I had planned to freeze a few to put in lunches but the kids ate all but two of them. Anyways, high fives from my kids, they love them!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mums the word January 29, 2010

These are awesome! I made them today for my christmas dinner party & they were literally gone in 5 minutes! I used butter on my pans instead of oil & mix the garlic in with my cream cheese before I spread it on the cresents. I also left out the oregano because I didn't have any but it didn't seem to matter. I had doubled the recipe & next time I may have to double it again! Thanks for a great recipe!!!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
rachcodejoe December 20, 2009

I have to give it 5 stars just because they went like hot cakes at our football party. I even doubled the batch. Mine turned out very messy when I put them together, but they were good. I would try to roll them a little tighter. It didn't help that I didn't read close enough and didn't pull the 4 rectangles apart on my first batch. When I took them out I put them in a crockpot on warm and it went well. I think the cream cheese made these really good. I didn't use the full 1.5 cups of cheese and they were fine. Edit: I've made these a few times now, and though they get a little putzy I've found a little easier step so they don't fall apart so much. I fold them down in half, and then in half again. Rolling is tough...They don't come out the prettiest, but I'm much saner in the end. Oh, and I always double the recipe because of how fast they go.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
enestvmel November 21, 2009

These are excellent. I used turkey pepperoni. Froze them and when ready to eat again, I reheated for about 10 min. If you're following weight watchers, these are only 1 pt each, surprisingly! The only changes I would make is maybe adding a bit more pizza sauce since they tasted more like buttery crescents to me than pizza rolls. But still delicioso!!!! Thanks ;)

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
CAZ OF NY! October 12, 2009

I was pleasantly surprised by these. I didn't think cream cheese on pizza would taste good, but these were great! Not a single one left. Thanks for a great recipe that would easily double or even triple for large crowds. One change I made was using a can of pizza dough, It tasted just perfect with it.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Tashak August 30, 2009

We enjoyed these for lunch along with a salad. I only used 4 ounces of cream cheese and next time will cut down to 3 ounces. I used 1 teaspoon oregano and didn't measure the rest, just put on each section. Mine baked in 17 minutes. I think this would be good with crumbled cooked sausage also. Thanks Leslie. Made for Ausie Swap #27.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
happynana April 17, 2009

This was pretty good. I ended up cutting them after they had baked because it was much easier to do it that way. I made a mess trying to cut the first one before it was baked. I used less cream cheese, sauce, and spices due to having a family of picky eaters. We actually used this for a meal instead of a snack. My extremely picky husband even said it was pretty good. Will probably make again. Thanks for the recipe!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
toshie1 February 16, 2009
Pizza Spirals OAMC