15 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Good but found it too sweet

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
swiz58 March 19, 2013

This was so very good. I reduced the sugar to 1/2 tsp brown sugar (dietary restrictions) and by mistake I forgot to add the water. After the sauce had simmered for 10 minutes I added 2 TBSP water, and I think the consistency was just perfect for our pizzas. Because of the positive reviews, I doubled the recipe and now I have a supply in the freezer for the next pizza night...I am so glad I did!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sweet Baboo August 05, 2009

I knew when I read the recipe that this would be good, but, boy was that an under-rated assessment! This is one of those recipes where the "whole" is FAR better than the "parts". It is sweet, tangy, savory and thick. Made as exactly written (including the pine nuts), and it needed nothing else! Homemade pizza night was a hit, in no small part due to this sauce.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
davianng November 18, 2010

Used hard neck garlic in the sauce and followed the recipe exactly. Used on a thin crust topped with chopped salami, Italian sausage, chopped green olives, halved cherry tomatoes, mozzarella, and fresh parmesan. The results were outstanding. Thanks for the keeper. Will enjoy many times in the future.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
MTDavids November 22, 2009

this is definitely "spoon lickin' Good" no need to try another recipe! It's good as is but for my personal taste I added 1-2 more tsp of sugar (I used brown) and I sprinkled in a little of Penzey's pizza seasoning. but like I said...good as is too! Thanks for sharing

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Yanni1 March 01, 2009

I didn't use the pine nuts but otherwise made as written. Such good sauce. I think you should call it "Awesome Saucesome" :) I made one pizza and then made some calzones. We really enjoyed both! Excellent sauce NC!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
JustMeMelMel September 25, 2008

How is it I have not yet reviewed this recipe? This is a phenomenal sauce. The wine and the basil pesto here are brilliant and really add so much to the flavor. Never again will I buy jarred sauce. This is fantastic stuff! Thanks gorgeous!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mama's Kitchen (Hope) September 16, 2008

Wow! Such wonderful flavor for so little work. The basil pesto is that little ingredient that sets this recipe apart - brilliant. I also appreciated the red wine. Gave me an excuse to open a bottle and have a couple of glasses, can't have it go to waste, now can we? LOL! Thanks for this one! Made for the Babes of ZWT4.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kim127 July 08, 2008

This is TDF!!!! This is the best pizza sauce I have ever had. Usually I find pizza red sauces to be kind of bitter. This had so much flavor. I followed ingredients per recipe; I used Chianti wine, and did add the pine nuts. The only tomato sauce I had in the house was mexican tomato sauce so it added a little spice to the sauce. Thank you for a great recipe. Made for Cookin Cats ZWT4.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Lavender Lynn June 30, 2008

I have three children who aren't very crazy about red sauces so I thought I would try this. (must be their father's genes!) I decided to use it with some wacky mac for their lunch today. The two youngest had too big of a mental block but the oldest liked it. She has always had a more sophisticated palate to I think the red wine and pesto flavors appealed to here. I still felt like I needed to add some pizza seasoning to it with some fennel and red pepper flakes but otherwise really enjoyed the flavor. I am going to now freeze my double batch for making pizzas later. Can't beat how fast it went together. Thanks, Cheryl! Made for my Babes for ZWT4 Italy.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kitchen Witch Steph June 27, 2008
Pizza Sauce.... Spoon Lickin' Good!