Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Pizza Sauce Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Pizza Sauce

    Average Rating:

    23 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 23

    Sort by:

    • on January 27, 2008

      Love this stuff. I have been making homemade pizza a couple of times a month for years now, but still try something new once in awhile. I'm really glad I tried this one. It has turned out to be one of our favorites. I do not change a thing, and it always comes out the same...great! The only thing I would suggest is to let the sauce set in the refrigerator for an hour or so before using to allow the flavors to meld. Thanks Cattleships!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 16, 2004

      I love this sauce! I am one to always ask for extra sauce to drag my crust thru - mmmm this is so good! I really love the flavor that the paste gives and might use a little more of that and less sauce next time around. Two thumbs up in our house!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 02, 2003

      This sauce was excellent if you like your sauce sweet (and I do)! I didn't have any red wine vinegar so I had to substitute Balsamic of Modena and I was worried how it would work, but it turned out phenomenally, I recommend it highly. Also would make a stellar dipping sauce for deep fried mushrooms and/or cheese sticks!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 06, 2011

      This was way too mildly spiced for my tastes. First, mixed everything as listed, except cut brown sugar back to 1 teaspoon as I don't care for sweet pizza sauce, then started tasting. Adjusted seasoning by upping pepper, coriander, basil, oregano, and cumin to 1 teaspoon each. Added 1 teaspoon fennel seed, 1/2 teaspoon cayenne pepper, 2 teaspoons dried minced onion and about 1 tablespoon grated parmesan cheese The result was a very generous batch of sauce with just a hint of spiciness.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 04, 2011

      Outstanding sauce. Looking forward to using the rest on my next pizza. I halved the sugar, used less oil and less garlic (it was all I had, about 1 tablespoon). I too used balsamic vinegar. No comparison to canned. Great consistency. From now on this will be my go to recipe for pizza sauce.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 21, 2010

      I love this! It made my homemade pizza crust taste so much better! Great recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 25, 2009

      Wow this is the easiest sauce I did. And it tastes great. I was afraid it would be too sweet but it's not. I omitted the coriander and cumin. I got enough for 3 pizza. Thanks Cattleships :) Made for I recommend tag game

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 15, 2009

      We made the Tasty Pizza Sauce recipe that this incorporated. The kids like this one better because it was not as thick as the other. We will never buy jarred sauce again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 12, 2008

      Tasty, easy, great!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 12, 2008

      This was a great pizza sauce. I needed a little bit of pizza sauce for 2 different tags that I made in the game room. I didn't have any jarred sauce in the pantry, so did a search and settled on this recipe. So glad that I did. It worked out great. And... I will never use a jarred pizza sauce again. Thanks Cattleships!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 17, 2007

      The Country Chef modified this slightly - as usual. I can not bring myself to not have a little diced onion with green pepper saut�ed with olive oil and the copious amounts of garlic in this recipe. The sauce was great. Txs.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 12, 2006

      So much better than store-bought, and so easy as no cooking is required. I made this for OAMC; it freezes nicely. If you like garlic, you will love this!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 03, 2006

      Tasty, and a very unique flavor with the Cumin and Coriander. And by unique I do not mean in a strange way. A flavorful take on classic pizza sauce.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 07, 2005

      This sauce was the best. I've been working for several years trying to come up with my favorite pizza sauce -- this is it!! The only thing I modified was to cut back a tiny bit on the vinegar. Awesome! Thanks so much.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 22, 2005

      This sauce is exactly what I was looking for. I enjoyed this sauce because it is sweet and it has a unique flavour. The vinegar adds a nice kick. I will be making this all the time.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 25, 2004

      Super easy, super tasty, what more could you want? I used powered garlic in place of the minced and it was just as good. I tossed out my old pizza sauce recipe to be replaced by this one.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 19, 2004

      The sauce was very easy to put together but not quite what I was hoping for. I would rate it as "fair." I wasn't wild about the cumin and the vinegar flavors so perhaps next time I'll leave them out. Also, even though I reduced the sugar to 2 tsp, we thought it was still too sweet.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 27, 2004

      Very simple, quick, and easy to make. I found the sauce to be slightly sweet, so next time I will reduce the sugar a bit or omit it entirely. Has a good balance of flavors with the spices, no one dominating the flavor. Thanks for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 06, 2004

      A+++++++++++ This is the best pizza sauce I have tasted in my entire life!! Ihe flavor is just what I have been looking for. You should bottle it.... My husband is itallian and he went crazy over this sauce. I think I will even use it in my lasagne. It is very inexpensive to make and I followed the recipie exactly. It is the gourmet of pizza sauces! I will make another batch today and always keep this sauce on hand. Again thank-you so much for an award winning sauce...its addicting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 10, 2004

      This is the best pizza sauce I have tasted in my entire life. It would be wonderful as a dip for cheese sticks or bread sticks. It made enough for two large pizzas. I didn't have coriander and it was too late and too cold to go out and get it but other than that, I made it exactly as posted.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    You Might Also Like...

    View All Sauces Recipes

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Pizza Sauce

    Serving Size: 1 (706 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 310.6
     
    Calories from Fat 129
    41%
    Total Fat 14.4 g
    22%
    Saturated Fat 2.0 g
    10%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 2097.9 mg
    87%
    Total Carbohydrate 44.4 g
    14%
    Dietary Fiber 7.0 g
    28%
    Sugars 33.0 g
    132%
    Protein 7.1 g
    14%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites