Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Pizza Sauce Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Pizza Sauce

    Average Rating:

    33 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 33

    Sort by:

    • on May 05, 2009

      EXCELLENT!! I didn't have any tomato paste so I just used a can of tomato sauce instead of the paste and water. Did everything else the same and it turned out GREAT!! Thank you so much for this recipe!! I will use it weekly!!! :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 07, 2008

      I made this with 3/4 cup of Hunt's canned tomato sauce. Used 1 tbsp olive oil, 1 tsp each of oregano, parsley and basil, 3 large flakes of garlic (crushed), 3/4 tsp salt and just 1/4 cup of water. To this I added 1 tsp of paprika, 1 1/2 tsp of sugar and some fresh ground rainbow peppercorns. Simmered the whole thing down to a thicker sauce and used it on Basic Pizza Dough. I will be using this again soon. TY for posting, Heather.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 07, 2013

      Wow, easy to make and tastes like a pizzerias. Thank you for helping me out of a bind, when discovering I'm out of boughten sauce. No need, I will make your recipe, as its just as easy. Thank you for sharing with us.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 25, 2011

      Perfect! I ran out of pizza sauce and this saved the day! Very easy

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 18, 2010

      this is really good! thank you so much!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 06, 2010

      Thanks for the quick and easy recipe! I threw everything in my mini-processor and voila! Delish!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 18, 2009

      Fantastic! I really wanted pizza tonight but I couldn't find the store brand sauce and I wasn't going to pay the big bucks for the Boboli sauce, which I love but is just too expensive for what it is. So I found this recipe and reluctantly made it. The only changes I made was I used roasted garlic, oregano and basil for the dried herbs, added about a teaspoon of sugar and some red pepper flakes. Dog goneit! it tastes as close to Boboli sauce as you can get. Not to mention that it costs less than a dollar and I had a lot left over.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 14, 2009

    • on January 19, 2009

      this is a perfect recipe for beginers

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 16, 2009

      Thank goodness I forgot to buy sauce at the store and had to go looking for a recipe here...I will never buy pizza sauce again! Added a can of Italian-Style diced tomatoes instead of water and threw everything in food processor. Had some leftover Tastefully Simple beer bread (Italian style) and used extra sauce for dipping...absolutely fantastic!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 03, 2009

      This was really simple and good. I used garlic paste instead of minced garlic, and it came out perfect.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 11, 2008

      Excellent and easy recipe, made even better through Galley Devil's suggestions (i.e. adding some salt and sugar and a bit of water to Hunt's sauce, on top of all other ingredients).

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 09, 2008

      Very quick and easy. Substituted roasted tomatoes for the paste and threw everything in the food processor. Had a good flavor and worked well with the calzones. I let it simmer on low to release the flavors for 20-30 minutes.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 29, 2008

      I forgot to get jar pizza sauce at the grocery the other night and had all the ingredients on hand for this recipe. It was awesome and made our pizza taste even more like a take-out pizza. I will probably never buy jar sauce again. Thank you for posting this recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 17, 2008

      Very quick, easy and tasty. But make sure you only use 1-1 and 1/2 tablespoons of garlic! Didn't find it needed salt--the basil/oregano/parsley is sufficient. I also recommend cutting back on the water, like earlier reviewers have mentioned, for a thicker sauce.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 28, 2008

      The key is adding the italian seasonings. I added oregano, basil, marjoram, and thyme. Very quick and easy! I reduced the water just a bit to make the sauce thicker.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 21, 2008

      Great sauce! Thanks for sharing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 01, 2008

      something was missing from this. i found it a little bland. will keep looking for a sauce that suits my taste. may be good for kids taste buds :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 23, 2007

      Yummy! This pizza sauce was perfect for making pizza bagels for my kids. It was just the right combination of tomato and spices. Plus, none of the extra salt that is added to the jarred sauce. And it was super easy to make. A win-win!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 21, 2007

      Soooooo easy! My husband makes his sauce from scratch on the stovetop with a ton of ingredients and it tastes nowhere near as good as this! I just added a spoonfull of sugar because I love sweet sauce. I slapped it on a pre-baked crust with some onions, green peppers and provolone cheese. Delicious! Thank you for such an easy and flavorful recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    You Might Also Like...

    View All Sauces Recipes

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Pizza Sauce

    Serving Size: 1 (61 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 8

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 34.0
     
    Calories from Fat 16
    47%
    Total Fat 1.7 g
    2%
    Saturated Fat 0.2 g
    1%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 170.6 mg
    7%
    Total Carbohydrate 4.4 g
    1%
    Dietary Fiber 0.9 g
    3%
    Sugars 2.6 g
    10%
    Protein 0.9 g
    1%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    mixed Italian herbs

    pizza crusts

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes