91 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Absolutely delicious!!!! I froze half of them, as it did make a lot of rolls, so we'll have to see how they re-heat. I mixed in about 1/4 cup tomato sauce with the meat mixture before spreading. Thanks for a great recipe!!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
PurplePen July 20, 2009

i really thought that the cheese would melt all over and i would have a mess but these were great . i cut my rolls up kinda big .they turned out great .these will be a staple in my freezer thanks so much

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
DAKOTAFARMGIRL April 12, 2009

I made this as written, after making Throw Away the Bread Machine Instructions!.... White Bread using the dough cycle of my breadmaker for the crust. I probably didn't roll it thin enough and so only got 18 rolls from this but they were really big. I was surprised by how flavorful these were with such simple ingredients. Will be keeping a bag of these in the freezer in the future!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
pedspeech April 03, 2009

We used pepperoni, sausage, and Canadian bacon for our meat. This made a great appetizer at our superbowl party! To give it a little extra kick, we mixed up a topping of parmesan cheese, pepper flakes, and various Italian spices. We did NOT have good luck with leaving some unbaked in the fridge and doing some fresh the next day. I may try baking them all next time and freezing, as suggested.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mark & Stacy March 18, 2009

Despite my lack of experience with dough (I NEVER bake), this turned out well! I didn't roll it thin enough so it made less than 24 and they were huge, but they looked neat and we liked them. I used sausage (a little under a pound) and added some chopped spinach (from frozen). I also used some extra seasoning (onion and garlic powders) and subbed some of the mozzarella for parmesan cheese. My husband still said they seemed to be missing "something." I guarantee I'll try these again!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mayness February 13, 2009

It gets 5 stars for ease of prep, low fat (compared to pizza), and the whole family ate it!! I used ground turkey, but with the italian seasoning mixed in, my husband thought it was sausage. I had never worked with bread dough before, but it turned out ok, using lots of flour to keep from sticking. Mine did not turn out as pretty as the pictures- much skinnier-- but we'll see what happens next time.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
didyb February 12, 2009

I made these tonight & we loved them! Both my boys had seconds! Super easy & delicious!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Karilou January 26, 2009

My kids and husband love these for breakfast, lunch or snack. Easy to make and if you are lucky, some will get to the freezer.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
sambini January 13, 2009

I made this recipe the other night. It had the potential of being very yummy, but the cooktime didn't work with my oven and ours got burnt! They were okay when they were warm, but we couldn't eat any of them after they cooled because they were too hard. I'd recommned watching them closely while cooking. We used Prego spaghetti sauce instead of tomato paste (to dip it in). I also had the issues with the bread dough being way too sticky and the contents of the rolls falling out. I will definitely try the recipe again and watch the cooking time carefully. Thank you for posting!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
CherryBerry1727 November 23, 2008

hmmm... This was good but I feel that I did something wrong. I used rodes frozen bread dough. I needed flour to roll it out since it was so sticky. 1 loaf was not enough for the amount of filling made. I should have used two loafs. They turned out ok and look like the picture from mika g.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
m.klitzke October 21, 2008
Pizza Roll-Ups (Oamc)