91 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Good recipe! Changed things a bit...used Trader Joe's regular pizza dough, rolled it out and split it into two halfs (rectangles). Put 4 tbs cream cheese mixed with 2 tbs pizza sauce and italian seasonings (with a bit of garlic and fresh pepper) with italian sausage, which I rolled up and topped with freshly grated parmesan and romano cheeses and fresh basil. With the other half I sauteed vidalia onions and prosciutto with a small amount of tomato sauce, also topped with fresh basil and the cheese mixture. Baked for 17 minutes on 400 with parchment paper and they turned out perfectly. :)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
CulinaryCutie827 December 31, 2010

Not bad. I'd make it again. The kids and husband enjoyed it as a change of pace...

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
michelle1172 December 26, 2010

Great recipe! I made one batch of beef, and one batch of pepperoni for my boyfriend's football party with his friends. The pepperoni roll-ups were gone immediately!!! I have to say they were better than the hamburger meat. I am going to try it with breakfast items next! (eggs, cheese, ham, sausage, ect.)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
JessicaJoan September 14, 2010

These were ok the sauce we used really made all the difference. They were nice to pop out of the freezer and warm up for the kids. My husband said they were too doughy.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
kimemeki February 22, 2010

I thought these were pretty good. The other thing i liked was that despite that they were frozen for almost 2 months they didn't taste like it. i would do these again for sure with maybe a few changes.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Calla Flower October 23, 2009

I won't rate these as I changed things a bit. I put the beef with the cheese and seasonings and thought, is that it? LOL I knew it had great reviews. But I felt it would be dry. So I fell back on the old standby of tomato paste across the dough first, then the beef mixture, then added pineapple chunks to half of it and some extra grated tasty cheese to all of it. Rolled up, cooked, it did smell wonderful and combined with the sauce (we only had plain tom sauce) it was a terrific weekend feast for a heap of kids. I used Homemade Buns for the dough and I would add seasonings through the dough (which cooked beautifully) when making it next time.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
RubberDucky AU October 10, 2009

The whole family loved it. The house smelled so good. We tried to make enough to freeze a bunch but ended up eating half of them before they made it to the freezer. We used Pillsbury refrigerator pizza dough but next time will probably try Trader Joe's herbed pizza dough. We also made half with pepperoni and put fresh basil on everything. Delicious!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
PDXChef September 20, 2009

It was great! We used pepperoni and made them a little thicker. We also didn't use nearly as much sauce but that's just us. I've made this 3 times already and can't wait to take it to a party.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
cincytowncutie August 30, 2009

My husband loved these! I used frozen pizza dough because I could not find any other frozen bread. And, I cut mine pretty large as I did not have another cookie sheet up for grabs. So, I made 6 large roll-ups. I cooked them for 13 minutes. And, for the little ends that I cut off without any meat mixture, I made garlic knots by dabbing a little olive oil on them and sprinkling a little garlic powder. We will definitely make this again!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Annette NC August 11, 2009
Pizza Roll-Ups (Oamc)