19 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

I have been looking for this recipe for a long time. This is basically a large pizza "pop", about 7 inches long, and 4 inches deep at the biggest depth. Even though you stick them in the oven for a while, they brown lightly. Filling and healthy, especially if you use low-fat cheese and go easy on the meat. Be careful to seal the edges. Poke holes in the top with your fork before you bake them (helps prevent pocket from exploding.)

12 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kat November 20, 2001

This was a keeper for my family! I made some adjustments, mostly because boys are not keen on too many details or ingredients. So I made the dough as specified, which was TRULY AMAZING by itself. Then once I rolled them out I spooned some pizza sauce (store bought), added a handful of mozzarella cheese and cut up some pepperoni. Then I folded the dough over and sealed the pocket (with a fork) and drizzled some Olive Oil on top. These were delicious. Next time I will try with all the original ingredients. Thank you for posting! As a side note: Both my 17 and 7 year old boys are able to make these without any complaints. . . Which I Love!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Vegaspeach January 03, 2014

These were yummy. I added 1 tsp garlic and 1/2 tsp Italian Seasoning to the dough to make it more flavorful. Also, they came out rather large, more adult sized, so my second batch I divided them into 12 parts and made kid sized pockets. I used my own sauce. Also, the egg used at the end needs to be added to the ingredient list. Wonderful!!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
a4dbulkids October 12, 2011

This was such a great recipe! The dough was lovely and crisp on the outside and soft and fluffy in the middle. I used ham as my filling as we had loads leftover from Christmas! The dough was also nice to work with and I loved that it didn't take hours to make! The filling was rich and flavourful and these were polished off very quickly!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
anniesnomsblog January 01, 2015

I can't give stars because we've only made the crust. We've made this numerous times in the past two weeks. It is so easy, I put it in the KitchenAid. This is a go to crust due to the time, taste and ease to make, Thank you!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
drinkmore February 11, 2014

This is one of those recipes that you cant go wrong! my family loves these! I did sprinkle some sesame seeds on top Delicious! again this is one of those recipes where you can add whatever you like your filling! thank you for this oh so yummy recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
anniek36 May 05, 2013

I liked this recipe, but I changed a couple things. I sprayed a little bit of Pam onto the pan to prevent the dough from sticking. I poked holes on top of the pizza pop with a knife because I tried one batch without poking holes and the cheese leaked out everywhere. I found the dough too crispy after brushing egg all over it, so it's better not to brush egg over the dough. I thought 20 minutes at 375 degrees was just right. In general it was a good recipe, but I wouldn't do what was asked on that recipe. I would only cook it the way I did. It was perfect this way.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Youngbaker2 July 26, 2012

These were fabulous!! and so easy to make. Dh and I both gobbled them up :) Thanks for sharing the recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Marsha D. April 09, 2010

These were great! Easy to make and very delicious. However, Pam, it doesn't say in the directions when to add the oil to the dough. I added when I added the water and they turned out fine. But just thought I'd let you know. Thanks again for sharing this great recipe. :)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
sehalla December 14, 2009

these were good n simple... my 12 yr.old son made them... we've also used ham n chz!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
scrapinboat July 20, 2009
Pizza Pockets