Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Pizza Pockets Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Pizza Pockets

    Average Rating:

    18 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-18 of 18

    Sort by:

    • on November 20, 2001

      I have been looking for this recipe for a long time. This is basically a large pizza "pop", about 7 inches long, and 4 inches deep at the biggest depth. Even though you stick them in the oven for a while, they brown lightly. Filling and healthy, especially if you use low-fat cheese and go easy on the meat. Be careful to seal the edges. Poke holes in the top with your fork before you bake them (helps prevent pocket from exploding.)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 03, 2014

      This was a keeper for my family! I made some adjustments, mostly because boys are not keen on too many details or ingredients. So I made the dough as specified, which was TRULY AMAZING by itself. Then once I rolled them out I spooned some pizza sauce (store bought), added a handful of mozzarella cheese and cut up some pepperoni. Then I folded the dough over and sealed the pocket (with a fork) and drizzled some Olive Oil on top. These were delicious. Next time I will try with all the original ingredients. Thank you for posting! As a side note: Both my 17 and 7 year old boys are able to make these without any complaints. . . Which I Love!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 11, 2014

      I can't give stars because we've only made the crust. We've made this numerous times in the past two weeks. It is so easy, I put it in the KitchenAid. This is a go to crust due to the time, taste and ease to make, Thank you!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 05, 2013

      This is one of those recipes that you cant go wrong! my family loves these! I did sprinkle some sesame seeds on top Delicious! again this is one of those recipes where you can add whatever you like your filling! thank you for this oh so yummy recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 26, 2012

      I liked this recipe, but I changed a couple things. I sprayed a little bit of Pam onto the pan to prevent the dough from sticking. I poked holes on top of the pizza pop with a knife because I tried one batch without poking holes and the cheese leaked out everywhere. I found the dough too crispy after brushing egg all over it, so it's better not to brush egg over the dough. I thought 20 minutes at 375 degrees was just right. In general it was a good recipe, but I wouldn't do what was asked on that recipe. I would only cook it the way I did. It was perfect this way.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 12, 2011

      These were yummy. I added 1 tsp garlic and 1/2 tsp Italian Seasoning to the dough to make it more flavorful. Also, they came out rather large, more adult sized, so my second batch I divided them into 12 parts and made kid sized pockets. I used my own sauce. Also, the egg used at the end needs to be added to the ingredient list. Wonderful!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 09, 2010

      These were fabulous!! and so easy to make. Dh and I both gobbled them up :) Thanks for sharing the recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 14, 2009

      These were great! Easy to make and very delicious. However, Pam, it doesn't say in the directions when to add the oil to the dough. I added when I added the water and they turned out fine. But just thought I'd let you know. Thanks again for sharing this great recipe. :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 20, 2009

      these were good n simple... my 12 yr.old son made them... we've also used ham n chz!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 26, 2008

      These were great! We doubled the recipe to make twelve pockets. Since there are only seven of us we figured we would freeze the leftovers, BUT THERE WERE NO LEFTOVERS! I loved the dough. We use our own pizza sauce and fillings. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 12, 2008

      I made a few changes to give the dough some flavor 1) Substituted 1/2 whole wheat flour 2) Added scant 1/4 cup parmesan cheese 3) Added 2 dashes garlic powder 4) Added 2 tsp honey. I also baked them at 425 for 10-15 as I was short on time :) I used my own homemade pizza sauce and fillings. My whole family loved them! I especially love that they are so quick to prepare.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 19, 2008

      I try from time to time to make things ahead for the freezer, so when the grandchildren pop in I have something for them that's quick. These sure fit the bill! I made mine with pepperoni and they ate these like there was no tomorrow! I am going to experiment with different fillings. Should be a fun project to do with my granddaughter! Thanks Pamela

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 02, 2007

      These were really good. I didn't follow directions on the filling and wound up making too much. Oh well, it's frozen for next time I make these! I made the dough the night before and refrigerated due to time, and let the dough come to room temperature the day I made it. Dough was really easy to work with. The only changes I will make next time is to add some seasoning (garlic, basil, and oregano) to the dough since when you eat only crust bits it's kind of bland. I'll also double the dough so there's plenty on hand to make it to the freezer! (Two seems to make a filling lunch)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 06, 2006

      Pam, these are amazing! This is the 3rd time I've made them in a week cuz people keep stealing them. I divided the dough into 4 as this makes a good size lunch for my hubby the trucker(he has 1 of those cooler/heater things that plugs into his truck so he can enjoy hot breakfasts and lunches)I have stuffed them with all different things and the one's in the pic have pizza suace, ham, peperonni, gr.peppers, mushrooms and mozzarella. Thankyou so much for this recipe, it will be made often!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 05, 2006

    • on January 22, 2006

      This dough is awesome! I made 12 smaller pockets, perfect for kiddies! I had a little trouble sealing them but that was my fault, overstuffed them with too much sauce!! OOPS! I used my own sauce and fresh uncooked toppings (veggies) and sliced pepperoni, turned out great! Thx for the great recipe Pamela! Were gathering enough ingredients to make a bunch and freeze them for quick snax! :) Thx again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 12, 2006

      These were very good! Like the other reviewers said, make sure to seal them well, I thought I did, but they still broke open while baking. This dough is really great and you could certainly use it for breakfast pockets, meat pies, dessert turnovers...lots of possibilities. This one's a keeper!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 15, 2003

      Wow! These were yummy! Very similar to a restaurant's calzones here in town. I was concerned because yeast and I don't get along very well but they turned out great! The only fillings I had on hand were pizza sauce, pepperoni and cheese but still worked out well. Definately pinch the edges well; I had a few that 'leaked.' I followed Kat's suggestion and pierced holes in the top with a knife. Definately doing this one again and again! Edited to add: I made the pockets last night with diced ham and shredded sharp cheddar cheese. Yummy!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Pizza Pockets

    Serving Size: 1 (248 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 421.1
     
    Calories from Fat 159
    37%
    Total Fat 17.7 g
    27%
    Saturated Fat 6.9 g
    34%
    Cholesterol 29.0 mg
    9%
    Sodium 1148.1 mg
    47%
    Total Carbohydrate 50.5 g
    16%
    Dietary Fiber 3.5 g
    14%
    Sugars 4.4 g
    17%
    Protein 15.2 g
    30%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites