70 Reviews

3 Stars as written...5 Stars with changes. I took the advice of many reviewers and made a few changes. Didn't double but used a heaping teaspoon of sugar and doubled the oregano, basil and thyme. Kept all other ingredients as written. I can't imagine the sauce would have been as flavorful without bumping up the spices. I'll be using this sauce from now on but with my changes. Thanks for sharing!

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
SloppyJoe December 17, 2011

We LOVE this sauce but I have to admit that sometimes I use a can of tomatoes and just blender them into a sauce for a fresher taste than canned tomato sauce. We love it both ways. Just finished using it on grilled pizzas and have enough left for a couple more little pizzas next weekend. Thanks!

4 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
buddy3229 June 06, 2010

With a few changes, this is a 5-star recipe. I had only 10 minutes, so I used a 6 oz can of tomato paste and 1 1/2 c. water in this recipe, instead of tomato sauce.. Also, I added a titch more sugar and then put in 1/4 tsp. garlic salt. This was absolutely delicious and I only cooked it for 5 minutes. It was PERFECT! It is better than Pizza Hut. Now it is a 5-star recipe.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
bcwhitehurst November 17, 2011

I added a little more of the herbs (basil, oregano, thyme) and a little more brown sugar then it became a 5 star recipe!!! The whole family loved it!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kristel V. June 16, 2015

Very good standard pizza sauce!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Weewah February 20, 2012

As per other reviewers, I doubled up on all seasoning and lemon juice. I used diced tomatoes and blended them, then cooked on stove with seasonings. I think the bay leaf really adds something I can't put my finger on. I simmered it for 1.5 hours cause I had the time to spare. I strained the sauce to get rid of extra water once it was done. It made a beautiful thick sauce. I used it for one 12 inch pizza sub,and had enough to freeze for next time. Husband complimented me on how good it was.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
viviansmomma November 07, 2011

Perfect! And smelled so good while simmering. This made just the right amount for two 12" pizzas and tasted fabulous. Easy, too. Winner!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
vrvrvr May 05, 2011

This really came out great. I ended up omitting the water and doubling all of the seasonings and the lemon juice after reading some of the reviews saying it didn't have enough flavor. I don't think it could have come out better!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
richardsonjv January 30, 2011

Sorry, but I too, thought this sauce was very bland. I agree with a couple of other reviewers, in that, it needs way more seasoning, but it's a good starter sauce. I noticed that many of the 5 star reviews were after the recipe had been tweaked somewhat and I followed it exactly as written. I'll either have to make some adjustments to this recipe, or keep looking.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
arroz241_11561377 December 04, 2010

I tried this tonight. Very good sauce.
I did add 2 tablespoons of cream cheese for thickening. My wife loved it.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
jruffino November 10, 2010
Pizza Hut Pizza Sauce - ( Copycat)