55 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

I have been trying out various pizza dough recipes for years now unable to find the perfect texture and flavor I was looking for. I am so glad I came across this one. It is THE dough recipe I will use from now on. (I haven't made the sauce yet) I made a few slight changes. I heat the oil for the bottom of the pan with a clove of garlic on medium heat until the garlic "fizzes". Then I set it aside to come to room temperature and until the dough is ready to go in the pans. I also always let my yeast mixture sit for longer than stated, anywhere from 10-20 minutes, and I add the salt to the flour.

This dough seems to be very forgiving too. The first 2 times I made this I didn't have powdered milk so I substitued warmed milk for a portion of the water. The 3rd time (this evening), I completely forgot to add the oil to the dough. It came out really dry and I thought that I added too much flour. I ended up adding a few tablespoons of water to the dough until it felt "right". I remembered the oil when it was much too late but it still turned out GREAT! The kids even said that it was the best pizza I have ever made.

The type of pan really makes a difference too. I have an actual Pizza Hut pan that my mother let me have. (she got it from someone that use to work for Pizza Hut 20 years ago) It is a thick, dark deep dish type pan. The pizza omes out perfect. The crust comes out exactly like thiers. Soft on the inside with a thin layer of crispy golden crust. My airbake pizza pans don't come out as well, but they are still really good pizzas.

12 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
emberpatch May 15, 2011

This recipe makes a great pan pizza! I do have to say tasting the crust by itself, it is very similar to the taste of pizza huts. I didnt make the pizza sauce recipe. I only put about 1 1/2 - 2 oz. of oil into the bottom of the pans and it was perfect. At 475, I put them on the bottom oven rack and they are done in aprox. 10 - 12 minutes with a nice brown and crunchy crust! I couldnt believe how crispy the crust came out each time but was still soft and fluffy in the middle. I didnt make the whole 3 pizzas at once since theres just two of us. I made one the first night and put the dough in the fridge to make the other two a couple days later. The last two still came out as perfect as the first. Great recipe! I will always use this when I'm craving pan pizza!

9 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
*pink* September 20, 2010

We loved this recipe! The sauce was good, I thought it had just the right amount of spices. We put 2oz oil on bottom of pans instead of 3..but I wouldn't put less than that, it really makes the crust a nice golden brown on bottom. We put one teaspoon of yeast. Pizza's were done in 10 min...but my oven tends to cook fast. I actually thought this was better than Pizza Hut. Thanks for posting!

8 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
sweetcakes January 17, 2009

I just made this and it was amazing! It was better than pizza hut! The dough was soft and fluffy. The sauce was a perfect compliment to the dough. I did cut down on the amount of oil that the recipe calls for in the pans. I used just enough to coat. I baked for 10 minutes and then turned off the oven and left the pizzas in for 5 minutes. My husband absolutely loved. He said "this is how you make pan pizza!"

7 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
khippie777 June 25, 2011

Not *just* like pizza hut but very good pan pizza dough so giving 5 stars! I replaced a half cup of the 1 1/3 cup water for milk cause I was not about to pay what they want for powdered milk at the grocery store. Thanks for the recipe! :)

6 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
madetobemagic71 June 29, 2011

Absolutely delicious! My husband actually commented on how much he liked it. That means a lot coming from an Irish family that ate the same thing almost every day. So, he doesn't comment much about meals. He did this time! :-)
I didn't have powdered milk so I used coffee creamer. The 2nd time I made the recipe this week I was in a rush and accidentally doubled the sugar, salt and creamer. It was even tastier! It think I'll repeat that next time. Thanks for posting this recipe!

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
elglance July 24, 2011

Yum! I didn't use the sauce recipe here, only the pizza dough. Will try the sauce some other time, though. This was really easy to put together and it was delicious! I made one large pizza instead of making three personal pizzas -- baked at 475* for about 16 minutes and it came out perfect. I followed the recipe exactly as directed except I didn't add the oil into the pan at the end... I just sprayed it down with butter-flavored non-stick spray and let it rise. Thanks for a fun, fast, easy pizza dough recipe!

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
NELady April 11, 2010

This pizza dough was great! I like soft dough, so it worked out well for me, but it didn't crisp up like Pizza Hut pizza. I used a cast iron skillet instead of a 9 inch pie pan, so maybe that was it, but I didn't think it would make that big of a difference. I didn't make the sauce, but used some that my mom made this summer.

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mhauck September 07, 2009

It has been a long time since I have been so enthousiast about a recipe, and with a reason. This is one of the bestest pizza crust and pizza sauce I ever tasted. As many suggest: use less fat in the pan (a smal layer was good enough for making it goldbrown). I and my family enjoyed this so much. (I used the pizza hut deep pan barbecue topping) Thanks a lot!

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
blueberrypumpkin August 08, 2009

This was exactly what we were looking for. This crust is excellent. I made it exactly like the recipe calls for. Perfection. I will roll my dough a bit larger than the pans I used(3 layer pans). And this is so the crust more or less seals the oil under the crust. Mine fit just right in the pan and that let the oil leak to the top of the crust. I had to dob it off with paper towel. It does sound like alot of oil, but you need it to get the end result. Crispy, light and tender crust. Thanks! AND the sauce was great also.

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Nicki H. March 20, 2009
Pizza Hut Original Pan Pizza