115 Reviews

i was so disappointed with this crust that i joined the site just to review it. there were so many great reviews, but, as with Chef #771965, i was totally bummed out with the consistency of the finished product. the dough stretched out nicely and i thought i was going to get a great thin crust pie, but it turned out grainy, salty and dry instead of crispy and bready. i wasted some high-quality (and expensive!) toppings, so my frugality will force me to eat it against my better judgement. i recommend that future foodies don't waste your time, though. back to boboli for me if i'm pressed for time!

7 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
vtfoodie October 20, 2010

I don't know what I could have done wrong with this one.I was able to roll it and the consistency was good but after cooking it the flavor and consistency I was expecting were just not there.

6 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
blacksky_ms May 20, 2010

I have to say it tasted like biscuits. It was edible, but not at all what I expected.

6 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
emccoy79 March 03, 2010

zero stars. This is the worst pizza crust that I have ever tasted. Don't waste your time. It is terrible.

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
isotech February 07, 2010

Very disappointing recipe. I have made other pizza crusts in the past but I didn't have any yeast on hand so I thought I'd give this a try. The 4 star review is puzzling to me. The dough is waaaaaaay too salty & just crumbled apart. I followed the instructions to a "T" except I used all of the dough to make one large pizza. I will NOT use this recipe again. The salt alone makes it inedible. Such a shame to waste good ingredients! My search continues for a good crust recipe.

4 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
telstran March 22, 2011

Great recipe when you want to use up some basic household ingredients. I've made it several times, baked in the oven and grilled on an outdoor barbeque. Really nice results with both methods. I will say this, I tried to replace the white flour with whole wheat and I was not so impressed. So, I've been making it with half white flour, half whole wheat. I also use skim milk and canola oil. I leave out the second 2 tablespoons of oil altogether. I prefer thin, crispy crust, so I roll the dough out and bake it for 8 minutes. Then, I roll it out again and add my toppings before putting it back in the oven. I recommend dicing up some chicken breast with barbeque sauce and making barbeque chicken pizza . BBQ sauce topped with the chicken, 2 oz of mozzarella, and scallions.

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
YoureNotAFoodie July 04, 2010

After reading many of the reviews, good and bad, I decided to give this recipe a try because, hey, I'll try anything once. I now understand why some said it was great while others found the results less than palatable. It's all relative to the individual person. If you are a person who loves pizza and makes (buys) it often and who has no restrictions, e.g. yeast or gluten, then I can understand why you would be VERY dissatisfied. However, if you have had to eschew pizza because you can't have yeast and/or gluten, it will taste very satisfying to you because you are just so happy to be eating pizza again, even though it might not resemble the pizza of old. I made ½ the recipe and used spelt flour, coconut oil in the dough, and olive oil for the top. I saute'd my toppings (red and green peppers, diced grape tomatoes, fresh basil, and garlic). I rolled the dough out very thin (between parchment paper) and baked it for 10 minutes, then covered it with the toppings and baked for 5 more minutes, and then covered it with fresh mozzarella for the last 5 minutes. It made a thin, cracker crust that I decided I could live with since I really miss having pizza :)

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
baking psychologist October 22, 2014

I liked this pizza dough a lot. I made a one slight adjustment in that I used half whole wheat flour and half white flour. I also used skim milk and extra virgin olive oil...just trying to stay a little on the healthier side. It turned out great. Next time I may reduce the amount of salt. I found it a little salty for my tastes. Otherwise, it was a great recipe!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
BethsMom May 28, 2010

I love this pizza dough.I double your recipe and make a thick crust pizza.4 in one and everyone says it tastes like bisquits.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Venus78 July 26, 2013

I wish I was a better baker. Half the time I make this, it's great. Other times, it's so sticky, I can't make a ball or roll it out without having to add loads of extra flour. It's a messy disaster. But when it works, it's fantastic. I follow the recipe. I often only make half, for one pizza. Since I can't be bothered to deal with yeast and rising time, etcetera, I'm really glad I found this. So, for what it is, a quick and dirty pizza crust, I give it 4 stars. If you want something awesome, don't make a shortcut one. Also, cut back on the salt. I also sometimes add a shake or two of basil and oregano. Just for fun. Thanks for sharing.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
AnnaJ22 December 24, 2012
Pizza Dough (With No Yeast)