33 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

YUMMY!!! Made the dough in the bread machine for my man when he was gonna make a pot pie casserole. Used water not beer, basil in place of ital seasoning, and all purp flour in place of bread flour. also added a little bit of fried garlic. Turned out great!!!! Thanks for sharing this wonderful dough recipe!!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef GreanEyes April 01, 2010

Used it for pizza and everyone raved! I can't wait to try it with calzones. Definitely a little sticky, but I just kept flouring my hands lightly as I patted it out. I skipped the cornmeal and the prebaking. I put the sauce and toppings on and baked the whole pizza for 22 minutes at 400°F. I used water but can't wait to try it with beer. I think I'm going to try increasing the seasoning a little too. Thanks for posting!!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Marg (CaymanDesigns) August 24, 2013

All I can say is WOW!! I made the dough using water, oil, and 1/2 c. whole wheat flour, and used it for calzones. Beautiful texture but a little sticky--needed a little flour incorporated while rolling. They tasted gourmet! For filling I sauteed half an onion in olive oil and butter, added a couple generous handfuls chopped, fresh spinach and a clove of fresh minced garlic and cooked just till wilted, then added a cup and a half of diced ham and sprinkled the mixture with oregano, salt & pepper. I divided the dough into six rounds, rolled out thin, put equal portions of filling plus a generous handful of mozarella & some parmesan and sealed. Then I brushed the tops with olive oil & sprinkled with parmesan cheese, baked at 425 for 15 minutes & dipped in pizza sauce. YUM!!! This will be my pizza dough recipe for sure.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
bake December 30, 2008

I thought I reviewed this one already! Shame on me!! This is a great dough to work with and the flavor is on the money. I used beer and minced onion ( out of powder) but the rest stayed the same. I will try cutting dough in half for my pizza pan because this makes a thick dough. I am going to make this again tonight with different toppings. Yum!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Raspberri_Skies February 01, 2008

This was a delicious pizza dough. I used mostly whole wheat flour and you couldn't even tell, it had such a nice texture and taste. I'll be using this recipe again.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mommymakeit4u March 03, 2012

Perfect flavor and consistency! We made to use with Runza's and it was perfect. We've just made another batch to use for pizzas because it's so easy and good.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kohtzy January 17, 2012

Excellant recipe. I made calzones last night and we enjoyed them very much. I filled them with hamburger, sausage, pepperoni, green peppers, onions, and mushrooms. So good and filling. thank you so much for sharing with us. We loved them.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mommyoffour February 01, 2011

I have been using this recipe for several months now to make pizza and pizza sticks (baking in 9 x 13 pan and cutting into sticks and brushing with melted butter and garlic). I use 1/2 bread flour and 1/2 white wheat flour and the beer. LOVE this recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
TheMcMahons July 09, 2010

such a good idea!!!!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Care Bear Caroline March 04, 2010

Yummy, no fault pizza dough! I used water instead of beer. I did the initial bake at 425 for 10, then it took another 20 mins or so at 350 with the toppings to finish (probably because I didn't get the crust as thinly spread out as I should have). I've been looking for a good dough for calzones, I will have to do that with this recipe next. Thanks for sharing!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
StephaniePB December 20, 2009
Pizza Dough for Pizza or Calzones (Bread Machine)