Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Pizza Dough and Sauce Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Pizza Dough and Sauce

    Average Rating:

    133 Total Reviews

    Showing 121-133 of 133

    Sort by:

    • on September 18, 2006

      I made only the sauce, but will certainly try the crust too. I used the wine option, something I have enver done before in pizza sauce, and it really did give another taste and smell to the pizza. My husband commented that it tasted like his spaghetti bolognaise. It was certainly easy to make and I froze half for another pizza later. Nice change to try for something a little different.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 16, 2006

      I made the sauce only, first for pizza quesadillas for lunch and spaghetti sauce for dinner (thinned out with water). I was in a hurry and this fit the bill. Thanks Marg. Roxygirl

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 08, 2006

      I used the sauce recipe this weekend with some changes to suit our tastes and it was to die for! I added 1/2 cup more water, 2 TLB. more parm, omitted the sugar and added 1 tsp. each dried thyme and basil. It made enough to do two pizzas and since I was only making one, I was able to freeze the other half of the sauce for next time. This was a great sauce and tasted totally authentic. Thanks so much!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 01, 2006

      Yumm, this is fantastic. Only change we made was to put all of the crust ingredients in the bread machine and that worked out great. We used half whole wheat and half white flour. That seems to be a perfect mix. Used half of the dough for a pizza and the other half a couple days later for calzones. The sauce was great. We used wine and added a dash of garlic powder. Topped the pizza with veggie pepperoni, onions, baked garlic, spinach and cheese. Next time I think that we will cook the crust a few minutes before topping it. Thanks for sharing this recipe- this is the best completly home made pizza we have made. Will make again for sure.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 21, 2006

      Fantastic! I followed the recipe for both the crust and sauce as written, taking Marg's suggestion and using half wheat and half white flour, a little garlic powder in the sauce and all olive oil. I meant to prebake the crust but forgot, and it was still cooked through and crisp on the bottom. This was a very generous amount of dough for a large 16 inch pizza pan. Great flavor in both the sauce and crust. I was a bit worried the sauce might be too sweet, but it was right on. Just a tip, I always coat the pizza pan with a decent amount of olive oil, and sometimes add cornmeal for texture before pressing out the dough. Thanks, Marg, for a great recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 19, 2005

      This DOUGH RECIPE deserves 'TEN STARS'!! It was AWESOME! So rich and filling! I used exactly as recipe called for 1/2 wheat and 1/2 A/P flour. The sauce was a too sweet for our taste, so I'll need to make some modifications for our personal preference next time. I added pepperoni and olives ~ YUM! BTW, this was my first time making PIZZA (&DOUGH)! I wish recipe poster mentioned that you need to allow to foam in STEP 1. I had to discard my first dough as it had not risen in 2 hrs, and I was getting too impatient. Also, I took another poster's recommendation and cooked pizza dough for 5 MIN prior to adding sauce in order to avoid a "soggy" pizza. Do this but~~~ PIERCE dough so it can steam. Mine ballooned in oven but then settled down when I immediately pierced once I took out of oven. I then added sauce, cheese, and toppings and cooked for 15 minutes. ENJOY! This is a REAL GOOD ONE OVERALL!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 04, 2005

      How wonderful this is!!! The dough (made with half whole wheat and half white) is easy to put together and you can refrigerate it until the next day and it's still perfect!! (I was a little nervouse since I hadn't made pizza dough before so I made it the day before.) The sauce is great too!! Kudos Marg!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 28, 2005

      I originally reviewed this recipe for the first time in Dec 2004. I wanted to update the review a little. I am reviewing the sauce only. I absolutely love this sauce recipe. I have been using it almost every week since my first time and look forward to my homemade pizza like never before...because it tastes so good. I especially love combining this sauce with Culinary Judge's #51209 dough, which has also become my favorite. It is so very easy and so very good. The only changes I make is that I always use twice as much water as the recipe calls for and 2 or 3 times as much fresh parmesan cheese. I let the sauce simmer while I make the dough which creates a lot of heavenly flavor in the sauce. If you haven't tried this sauce please do...I promise you won't regret it. I'm hoping this recipe gets more exposure...it should have many, many more reviews! It is wonderful! It definitely should be a keeper in everyone's cookbook who loves pizza.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 16, 2005

      Marg, I prepared this pizza sauce and it's fantastic. Love the flavors-- great balance. I made it with water, and added 1 T fresh basil and a few shakes of garlic powder. Perfect! I'll make the crust next time since this time I'm using Roxygirl's Foolproof Focaccia (#117325). Thanks for posting this.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 03, 2004

      This review is for the sauce only: TERRIFIC! It was a snap to mix it together and tasted much much better than store bought. I did put a couple shakes of onion powder in too. I was a bit surprised at the addition of the olive oil, but it works nicely. I will not go back to store bought sauce again. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 04, 2004

      This pizza is great! I've made it many times and it always turns out great. (my friends love it!) It's a not to soft not to crusty kind of pizza thats just awsome!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 22, 2004

      I have been using another recipe for several years. After trying this I got rid of my old recipe. This was fantastic. So light and fluffy, but also held up the my homemade sauce and several toppings. My husband loved it. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 03, 2003

    1... 2 3 4 5 6 7 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Pizza Dough and Sauce

    Serving Size: 1 (77 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 16

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 165.1
     
    Calories from Fat 35
    21%
    Total Fat 3.8 g
    5%
    Saturated Fat 0.5 g
    2%
    Cholesterol 0.2 mg
    0%
    Sodium 454.6 mg
    18%
    Total Carbohydrate 27.1 g
    9%
    Dietary Fiber 1.4 g
    5%
    Sugars 2.2 g
    8%
    Protein 4.0 g
    8%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites