133 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Delicious and easy! I would have given it more stars if I could have. I followed the recipe exactly. The dough was perfect (and thanks for the two freezing methods). I used half white and half wheat flour, rolled it out on my pizza stone and baked it for 20 minutes to perfection. The sauce was to die for! I chose to add wine instead of water using a mild cab sav. For the seasoning, I used 1/2 t of Pensey's pizza seasoning. Next time I'll add 1t. All in all, very yummy, very simple and much healthier than take-out. Thanks for sharing this recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Angeline July 29, 2009

We only made tha sauce and it was fantastic! I would have given five or six stars fro sauce alone but since we didn't try the pizza dough I felt like I could not. This will be my new staple from now on. Thanks for the great recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
MommyWhoBakes June 15, 2009

My family loves this crust and it is so easy to make. I am so glad I found this recipe that uses 1/2 wheat. We love to make BBQ chicken pizza or Chicken Pesto Pizza with this dough. Must try!!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
lisalousmith June 08, 2009

This dough was excellent. I used all wheat flour and it tasted great and had a good texture. Baked it on a pizza stone for 20 minutes.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
I like to eat June 01, 2009

Loved the crust! Made it with 1/2 white, 1/2 wheat flour like suggested - it came out with a nice texture. I will definitely make this again. The sauce was a little sweet, and next time I will omit the sugar. I prefer using sweet basil to sugar in my tomato sauces. Also, it made too much sauce for one pizza, but not quite enough for two. I would suggest increasing the sauce recipe by 1/2, then it would be enough for 2 pizzas.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Conductor-Cook May 23, 2009

This sauce recipe is wonderful! Everyone I've made it for loves it! I used Italian style tomato paste (which you can find at most grocery stores...it has a few spices already added) then I added 1/2 teaspoon Italian seasoning, then followed the recipe exactly as shown here. The result ended up tasting very similar (but not identical) to Papa John's pizza sauce. However, I think this is just a bit better than Papa J's.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Cheddurmonkee May 16, 2009

This is by far the best pizza dough recipe I have ever used, and I have used many over the years! It is easy, tastes fantastic and has a wonderful texture. I usually make a deep dish pizza. I just take two 9" cake pans (disposable works best) and spray them liberally with olive oil cooking spray, and let the dough rise in the oil. Then pat it out if you need to, top, and bake as this recipe directs. It never fails! :D

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
PLURgirl April 16, 2009

I was out of our usual pizza sauce, so I decided to find a quick and easy one on zaar. This is definitely both -- pretty tasty, to boot. :) I added some fennel seeds and basil to the sauce. It was a little too sweet for our liking, though. So, if I'm ever in a pinch, I'll use this one again -- but with a tad less sugar!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
unmistakable1 April 12, 2009

Our family LOVED this pizza dough and sauce! I made the dough and sauce according to the recipe. It was easy, and turned out perfect. I made one recipe and it was enough for two square cookie sheet pizzas. I made one cheese and one cheeseburger pizza. The dough held up well with the weight of the ingredients. I made sure to oil the pan and sprinkle it with cornmeal and didn't have a problem removing the pizza from the pan. The crust was thin, crispy, not too yeasty and the sauce, OMG.. wonderful. The only changes I might make would be to knead some italian seasoning into the dough and double the sauce recipe so there is more of it. Even my DIL, who doesn't care much for pizza kept going back from more and came over for leftover today. Thanks for a great homemade pizza.. we can now quit ordering expensive takeout!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
sheila.blair April 11, 2009

I have tried several pizza doughs and this is one of the best. I used only one cup whole wheat flour and grated a little parmesean into the batch. I liked the pizza so much that I made the dough again the next day, using a bit more flour to make it stiffer, and formed it into sandwich buns. Makes a great muffaletta!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Oh!Susannah April 10, 2009
Pizza Dough and Sauce