133 Reviews

I had struggled with pizza dough for a while until I found this recipe and it was perfect. We make our own mozzerella from our goats milk so really needed a recipe that I could make a lot of at a time and freeze to use when we have lots of cheese and this was perfect. Wasn't sure I would like the whole wheat but that really made it even better than all white flour. I use a kitchen aid mixer and just went through some of the other reviews and found how to do it that way. Great recipe.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ElizWlsn December 18, 2010

So far the best pizza recipe I have found! Loved the sauce, simple yet delicious!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
corrina8 October 27, 2010

This is for the sauce: I really, really hate to give it 3 stars (good). It was just ok for me. It was lacking a kick - a middle flavour. It was still pretty good though.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Scotland September 16, 2010

I have used this recipe for both the sauce and the dough several times now and I have had success each time. The dough is wonderful and is perfect at the 1/2 ww 1/2 white ratio. I use just a teeny pinch of sugar for the sauce, I prefer more of a savory flavor. All in all this is a regular in our house now!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
athenalove46 July 30, 2010

This was very good! I used all white flour but I'm sure the original version would be great too. I have been trying to find a dough that came out nice without being too doughy and this one did the trick! Will make again!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
GaramMasala1968 July 12, 2010

This turned out good but nothing to rave about. I made with half whole wheat and it came out a bit too heavy/dense. I also like dough with a bit of sweetener in it. I'll make again but add some honey and less wheat flour.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Shakahari June 26, 2010

First time I have made my own pizza base, and it was really, really good! The base had the right amount of crispieness on the outside and softness on the inside, and the addition of parmesan to the sauce makes it so tasty! I used pizza/bread flour instead of plain.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
micro_ang May 07, 2010

I am a first time bread maker and pizza maker!and this dough was AWESOME! It is obviously pretty difficult to mess up because I do NOT know how to knead dough or anything, but it came out great. I only had bread machine yeast so no activation was necessary and it rose just fine. My husband said the crust was "wheatie" and it was... I loved it and my two-year-old could not get enough. The wheatiness was perfect match for our toppings of cheese, green pepper, sweet onion, turkey pepperoni, and chicken breast.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
salbritton March 21, 2010

Your directions are so clear. I'm new to breadmaking, it didn't occur to me to let the yeast sit in warm water for a few minutes before adding flour. I can't remember where I saw it, but I also let the dough rise in the oven with the light on, which works pretty well. Not only easy and thorough, but tasty as well. I think next time I'll brush the crust with some garlic butter. The sauce was also wonderful, I would definitely recommend using the red wine. I topped with roasted red & yellow peppers and turkey pepperoni (yum!) Thanks for posting, and thanks again for the excellent directions.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ceruleanseven March 19, 2010

Very good - a thick crust that still cooked all the way through. I used a little more than half whole wheat flour, which made it kind of heavy; next time I will use a little less. Putting spices directly into the dough is also brilliant - garlic especially.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
lindseyv March 10, 2010
Pizza Dough and Sauce