133 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

I have made this numerous times and we all love it. I also use the half white/half wheat combo; it is perfect. It is so much better than buying nasty frozen pizzas to feed your kids and it doesn't take that much effort to make your own dough. Who knew?!!? We love this and I thank you for posting. So no one else will have to do the math: 3/4 tbsp=2 1/4 tsp

9 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Bobbin April 28, 2010

I have used this recipe for over a year and haven't reviewed it till now. It is wonderful! I have changed the cooking time a bit: 475 degree oven (my old oven is always kind of like, "Seriously?") for 8-12 minutes. Like other reviewers, I cook the dough without the toppings for 5 minutes to help with sogginess. Great recipe! This is one of my stand-bys.

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
SeeDawson June 24, 2010

I am ONLY reviewing the SAUCE, I followed the recipe exactly. I used it for pizzas and the thick red canned tomato PASTE was all we could taste, we couldn't taste any of the seasoning. Sorry, I just can't give it more stars.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Magic Momma July 15, 2011

Good deal! Making your own pizza is so much better than ordering, gotta say. This recipe is pretty spot on; I use a bread machine for the dough, and I tend to make my own pizza sauce recipe as well.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ieyeasu January 15, 2010

I love this crust. I made it with 1/2 wheat flour and 1/2 white flour and the texture was better than any I have had out. It was crisp not soggy. I had to make double the batch of sauce because I simmered mine for a while and we kept finding things to dip into it before time to add to the crust. I added a little basil, garlic powder and onion powder to the sauce and it was to die for. I also placed the crust in the oven for about 5 or 6 minutes before adding the sauce. Thanks so much Marg for posting. This was my first home made pizza but it will not be my last.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
~Nimz~ April 27, 2005

This is the best Pizza Dough & Sauce recipe I have found so far! Easy to assemble and create, great flavor. We have changed the cooking temperature from 400 to 350 and the length of cooking time from 20 minutes to 15 minutes. Perfect pizza every time . We will no longer buy pizza out anymore. Thank you for this recipe.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Jean Kathleen Wilson January 06, 2013

Mmmmmm...5 stars for both the sauce and the crust! I used 1 cup WW flour and 3 cups of white flour. My DH was able to get the crust real thin and it held up to the toppings without being limp or soggy. He cooked it on the grill and it only took about 10 mins. The sauce was very flavorful and thick. I used about a 1/4 t. of garlic powder and red wine and it made the sauce kind of tangy, which we really enjoyed. Thanks for the keeper recipe.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Lucky in Bayview April 23, 2014

This is for the sauce only as I haven't tried the crust recipe. This is the absolute best sauce I have ever had for pizza. It is so good I have deleted all other sauce recipes and my family has even asked that we just keep this one. I followed the directions exactly and even added the garlic powder like suggest great! Haven't tried the crust yet because my family likes really thin crust, but this sauce is awesome!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Julie Childers February 03, 2014

Yummy. Followed recipe almost but added lots of toppings (salami, peppers, onions, and mushrooms). Used 1/2 whole wheat.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Ty's Kitchen October 27, 2013

This is just a review of the dough. It was alright, a little to heavy/dry for me. I did use half whole wheat flour though, maybe that is why. Other family members liked it, it just wasn't my favorite.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
n1ts1rk March 13, 2013
Pizza Dough and Sauce