Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Pizza Dough Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Pizza Dough

    Average Rating:

    24 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 24

    Sort by:

    • on July 28, 2003

      This turned out wonderful! This is a great recipe for someone who has never made a pizza dough before (like myself) because the instructions are very detailed and the target texture is described so well. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 31, 2010

      Really easy, but not what we like in a crust. We like a chewy crust and this is really soft. Also, too much yeast for us. I had fun making it though, thanks for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 25, 2010

      I made this and another pizza dough recipe the other night and this one was wayyyyyyyyyyy better! I loved the honey taste! Tonight I am going to make it again and try using half whole wheat flour and half regular. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 03, 2008

      Wonderful recipe! I have only made homemade pizza twice. Yesterday was my first time and I tried another dough recipe here on RecipeZaar and it was edible but not enjoyable and wasn't what I was looking for in a pizza crust. So today - my second attempt ever at a homemade pizza - I decided to use this recipe and I was very pleased. Not having much experience or success in dough and bread I was so glad it turned out. It was very pleasing to the palate. As a plus the dough was super easy to work with and didn't give me any trouble at all. I made a single huge pizza with it and everyone in my family enjoyed it. The honey was a nice touch. The crust was a little harder than I would have liked but I had to leave it in a tad longer to get the cheese and topping done a bit more. And I think this may have to do with the fact that every oven is different, so I don't blame that on this recipe. So in conclusion, I will be keeping this recipe in my cookbook and will use it for future pizzas and calzones. I may even tweak it to make it my own. Makes a great thick crust or a great thin crust as well. It is a keeper! Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 16, 2008

      I made pizza dough using different other recipes and so far this one is by most the best recipe I have ever used! It's fun to make, and very easy to follow. I used only 1 tablespoon of active dry yeast (one packet). I also used thermometer to measure the temperature of the water. The correct temperature activates the yeast, if you have it too cold, yeast won't react, and if you have it too hot, yeast dies. Since this recipe includes salt, you may want to increase the warm water temperature a bit higher, to 120F, and follow the instruction to mix the honey and salt in. After the stiring, your temperature should drop (especially salt brings down water temperature). It should be 110-120 for active dry yeast to react. I manage to make 3 rectangular pizza dough (I don't have round pizza pan). I also experiment the sides to fold in cheese. Yum!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 06, 2007

      Everything about this recipe is perfect.I didn't change a thing.It rose up beautifully and the taste was excellent.I didn't find it too yeasty at all.It fit my large pizza pan exactly.A keeper for sure!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 15, 2006

      Having read some of the comments that said that dough was too yeasty, I decided to use instant yeast as they do not leave that yeasty taste/smell. So, I did not use warm water, and just mixed everything up in my stand mixer. I doubled the recipe, so when the dough seemed to dry and would not form into a ball, I kept adding water, and even more olive oil. After the first rising, dough still felt a little dry, but during shaping ( after 3 risings ), the texture was fantastic. Sooo easy to roll and shape, and it was not dry at all. I finally had a pizza that looked like a pizza, and it tasted good too, crusty and chewy. Thank you for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 23, 2006

      Great texture and thickness. My family loved it! We just need to get a great sauce recipe and we can throw out the pizza take out numbers. :0) Thanks for sharing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 11, 2006

      Very good!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 25, 2005

      Excellent, easy to follow directions, however the end result for me was too soft, to much like bread--not chewy enough, and rather bland.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 14, 2005

      Very clear and detailed instructions so even I was able to make a good crust. It is very yeasty so next time I will reduce the amount of yeast.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 25, 2005

      Amazing. Of course it is--it's by MEAN! Made this the other night and it produced absolutely the best pizza I've ever made. We loved this crust. Thanks mean! (miss you!)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 23, 2005

      Absolutely Wonderful! So super easy, and turned out beautifully! This is be my "regular" pizza dough recipe from now on. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 09, 2005

      If I could give this 10 stars I would. If you love making your own pizza dough this is a must try. The dough turns out beautiful, there is nothing like working with a good dough. I used the full amount of yeast and let it raise 3 times. A very tender dough. Thanks Mean Chef

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 26, 2005

      I use less yeast and I use a little over 1/2 cup wheat flour and the rest regular flour and it is wonderful!!! After trying several pizza dough recipes my husband tasted this one and couldn't stop saying how good it was!! Thanks Mean Chef!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 05, 2005

      Wonderful! I made this up this afternoon, tripling the recipe (all but the yeast,which I doubled). I then punched it down twice before turning it over to the family members to make their own pizza's. Some rolled it thick, some rolled it thin. Some baked it a long time, some pulled it out fairly quickly. All were completely satisfied with their results. Even my teen son, who straggled in late, and who's dough got a 3rd degassing, loved this recipe. It's the only one I need. Thank you once again Mean. You've done it one more time!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 28, 2005

      Wonderful recipe. I have tried 6 different pizza crust recipes previously. None of them worked out the way that I wanted them too. This was by far the EASIEST and the BEST of all of the recipes. Not including the waiting time while dough was rising, this pizza took about 10 minutes of effort on my part. Both a thin crust and a thick crust version of this pizza dough turned out perfectly. Thanks again Mean Chef!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 26, 2005

      This is a great recipe as I like the yeasty flavor too but next time I will add spices. Meanie your instructions are right on (but it still would be easier in the machine, sorry)! BF who used to own a pizza parlor helped and so he knew what he was doing. We will be making this one again! Thanx

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 07, 2005

      This dough is an absolute dream to work with! I like a fairly thin crust and I found I was able to do two 16-inch pizzas out of it. I used my bread machine to make the dough (sorry, Mean--my bread machine is my friend). I did have to add a couple of extra Tbsp. of water, but that didn't surprise me since it is winter and I live in a dry climate. Thanks for another great recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 09, 2005

      Perfect texture and taste, and very clear instructions. I made four 8 - 10" individual size pizzas with the dough. We each topped it with our favorites. It was a big hit. Thanks for sharing this one.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Pizza Dough

    Serving Size: 1 (133 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 378.0
     
    Calories from Fat 89
    23%
    Total Fat 9.9 g
    15%
    Saturated Fat 1.3 g
    6%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 198.5 mg
    8%
    Total Carbohydrate 62.9 g
    20%
    Dietary Fiber 2.8 g
    11%
    Sugars 5.9 g
    23%
    Protein 9.0 g
    18%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes