Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Pizza Dough Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Pizza Dough

    Average Rating:

    155 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 155

    Sort by:

    • on November 18, 2009

      I'm sorry, I'm giving this one star because my dough won't rise. I'm sure it's going to be delish if it ever does, and if I make it differently in the future. Please read this, I googled it.... "Do not add salt directly to the dissolved yeast as salt will kill it. Instead dry-blend it in with the second cup of flour and then add both to the recipe. "

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 04, 2011

      This comes out perfect every time even when Im a space cadet. I sub in garlic salt for the salt, otherwise as the recipe directs. I preheat the oven to 200 deg F. and let the dough rise on the oven door in a bowl on a hot pad

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 30, 2011

      This was great! Added salt to flour so as to keep yeast happy. :) Your recipe produces a more "bready" pizza dough which would be great for grilling or use in a wood oven. Thanks for an alternate crust texture--those who like to pile on toppings or "Chicago-style" try this one! :D

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 15, 2010

      This made a very nice pizza dough. It was easy to prepare and it made two nice size pizzas. I really liked the seasonings in the dough. I followed the recipe exactly as written and we really liked it. I too, baked for about 5 minutes before adding my toppings and it worked like a charm. We had sausage, cream cheese, mushrooms, bacon and onions on our and it held it perfectly. Thank you for sharing this great recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 09, 2014

      I made this simple dough today, exactly as the recipe stated. I didn't have any issues with the salt effecting the yeast. I always add sugar and salt at the same time in doughs and keep my jar of red star rapid rise yeast in the fridge between uses. I highly recommend using this recipe if you are looking for a crisp crust with a very soft and chewy interior. I shaped half of the dough into a pizza and took the remaining half and cut it into about 10 small pieces and tossed them in melted butter, garlic salt, garlic powder, and grated parmesan cheese. I put the coated pieces in a glass baking dish sprayed with a little canola oil and baked for about 15 minutes at 425 degrees. The garlic bread pieces were just as good as the pizza I made and will definitely make this combo again frequently. Super easy to throw together and the possibilities are endless! Thanks for sharing this recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 20, 2010

      I just found this and used it for our last minute dinner. Followed almost exactly but I used spiced olive oil and doubled the brown sugar... Also, I didn't have italian seasoning but I had italian bread crumbs and that seemed to work fine. It was a huge hit and now this will be my main pizza dough recipe! Thank you!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 15, 2009

      I followed the recipe almost exactly as written. I added a bit more Italian seasoning, by accident actually and it was still excellent. My entire family loved it and it was so easy. We won't be ordering pizza anytime soon now that we have this recipe. Thanks so much for posting.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 21, 2009

      This worked wonderfully! I made it in my ABM. I added 1/2 t of garlic powder and onion powder. I also used bread flour instead of AP. I made 4 good size calzones and 2 mini calzones for my son (using soy cheese for him) Baked at 425 for about 18 minutes. I'm going to freeze the leftovers for lunch. Thanks for sharing.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 27, 2004

      I had never tried to make pizza dough before, and I am glad that I finally took the opportunity to do it! This was so easy to prepare and made one of the best pizza crusts I have ever had. A lot of flavor in this one, and will be my dough of choice from now on! And as another reviewer had stated, this is a very versitile dough that is going to be great for calzones! Great Job, podapo!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 11, 2003

      Well Podapo, since I loved your biscuits soooooo much, I have decided to give your pizza dough a try..... well I certainly was not dissapointed. A delicious pizza dough recipe, we loved the taste of the italian seasoning, the crust was nice and tender, This is a keeper, I will be making it again. Thanks for a great recipe.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 20, 2014

      Makes a great dough. We used it on the barbecue and it worked great.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 12, 2014

      Excellent recipe for a basic pizza dough crust.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 30, 2014

      Love it, love it. Every time I make it is a hit. We like ours thin. I put everything in my mixer and I only measure, warm and let it rest. I even used it fir my daughter's birthday party when I had 26 girls making their own pizza. Super easy and delicious!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 07, 2014

      Thank you, thank you, thank you!!!!! This is the best pizza dough I've ever made or tasted. I made it exactly as the recipe instructed and it turned out absolutely perfect! And DH, who usually doesn't like a thicker crust pizza actually loved this one. That's major!! From now on this is my go to. Thanks so much for sharing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 13, 2014

      This was excellent and made two big pizzas. One we made on a cookie sheet with edges and the other we made in a standard pizza pan. I proofed the yeast with the water, sugar, yeast and waited for 10 minutes until it appeared foamy/frothy (proofed). I substituted garlic salt in place of salt. Added 3 T. of Italian Dressing, 1/4 cup parmesan cheeese and proceeded as instructed. I eliminated the use of Oil and just used the Italian Dressing in its place. We stuffed the edges of the crust using Mozzarella string cheese which we sliced in half and placed in the pizza in the cookie sheet with an edge. We did prebake both crusts and then proceeded as instructed. These pizzas turned out fabulous and the crust was fantastic! The stuffed crust was the favorite. Thanks for sharing, loved it, very easy and quick rise time. ;)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 20, 2014

      This makes a great dough! I didn't mix all the ingredients with the yeast...I just added them to the flour, and I had no brown sugar so I used white. The consistency is inbetween a thin crust pizza and a Sicilian pizza. I always cook my pizza at 550 degrees for 15 minutes. It sounds high but I never get gooey dough in the middle and the pizza is perfectly cooked.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 18, 2013

      I just made this and its the bomb. Made it half whole wheat and unbleached white and it easily made two cookie sheet pizzas. Olive oiled the pans and made nice crunchy crust even after cooling off.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 04, 2013

      This was wonderful and easy to make! I didn't have "Italian seasoning" per se, so i just threw in some thyme, parsely, rosemary, etc. I divided the dough into eighths and made each small ball into a pizza turnover (or a mini Stromboli) and stuffed em with cheese, tomato puree and fried garlicky onions. I left a cast iron skillet in a 410 degree over and just threw the turnovers into the skillet as I assembled them and flipped em over when they were dry and just slightly golden brown. <br/><br/>The dough is soft and wonderful, and the turnovers were GREAT for work because the dough microwaves very well. One reviewer said they were even better the day after, and I think this is true. I'll definitely be making the turnovers again with *this* dough....Thanks podapo!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 22, 2013

      This made my house smell like an authentic Italian restaurant. Yummy. I will use this recipe going forward (adding the salt into the flour mixture as I heeded the warning that it kills the yeast if added in the first step). It rose up beautifully, had a nice outer crust and inner softness. It made 2 large calzones (I made one Buffalo Chicken Calzone & one Sicilian Calzone with pepperoni.). Thanks for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 27, 2013

      This pizza crust is fantastic. Easy to make, easy to spread in the pan and awesome taste. This will be my go to recipe anytime I want to make pizza.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2 3 4 5 6 ... 8

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Pizza Dough

    Serving Size: 1 (70 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 8

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 234.7
     
    Calories from Fat 36
    15%
    Total Fat 4.0 g
    6%
    Saturated Fat 0.5 g
    2%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 293.9 mg
    12%
    Total Carbohydrate 42.7 g
    14%
    Dietary Fiber 1.7 g
    7%
    Sugars 0.7 g
    2%
    Protein 6.1 g
    12%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    italian seasoning

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites