16 Reviews

I was very skeptical to try this recipe but I went with the reviews and gave it a shot. Wow did it turn out good! I used it to make calzones. Usually when I make homemade dough it tastes like the yeast and is sometimes very tough. This dough cooked up wonderfully. It was crispy on the outside and nice and soft on the inside. It had a wonderful taste. It was the closest to pizza shop I have ever come. I used red wine even and it was fine. The dough was not pink as others have stated but it might depend on the type of red wine. I did let it rise twice as well as others had stated. It was easy to work with and just excellent! Will defenitely make again and again.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
staceycook January 07, 2011

After using this recipe constantly for the past three years -- I did something different. I let the dough rise twice! If you think u have experienced this recipe -- try letting it rise a second time for another 30 mins after punching it down.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Country Chef March 23, 2009

This recipe makes a very nice big puffy single and it was DELICIOUS! I like the reviews because they told me to bake at 450. However, I think I'll bake my crust first: 10 mins or so till lightly browned. I raised it twice, kneading it in between. I will make more and freeze them. This is soooo very wonderful to do! Thank you "caetb" for your wonderful recipe!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
webmom9 March 06, 2012

I made this using a REALLY old bottle of red wine I had in the fridge, so I had my doubts about how it would turn out. I shouldn't have worried. I mixed it up in my Kitchenaid. The texture was a little moist and sticky, but I tried not to worry about it since the recipe said not to. The red wine made the dough pink, btw. I put one half of the dough in the freezer to use for another meal. The dough had a nice wine-y taste (it was probably strong for me because my wine was so old). When I finally got around to making another pizza with the freezer dough, I noticed the flavors had blended even more and it was mellow and delicious. It came out superb. This will be made many times in my house.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
debarra June 21, 2009

My teenager really loved this pizza and so did I. Thanks to the person who gave the tip to bake it at 450*. My dough came out really thick and made a very large pizza. I didn't even have to use a lot of spices to flavor it up, it just came out really tasty. I baked mine for about 23 minutes.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
metcalf_tina January 06, 2009

This recipe for pizza dough is superb! I let the dough rise twice because I had time. I would never have thought of putting wine in dough, but what a nice aroma! The texture is perfect, soft and tasty. I usually avoid eating the crust but I ate the crust it was so good! Thanks for a wonderful recipe!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
chefRD February 09, 2008

This was a superb pizza dough, Caetb! I used bread flour and mixed in bread machine. I was out all day so the dough rose for about 4 hours (I read your note about rising time). I made a potato pizza with the dough and the flavor and texture were just perfect (lots of "real" pizzeria flavor and crisp, soft, and chewy.) I used a Pinot Grigio, too. Normally, I don't like a strong yeast/wine flavor, but this just tasted like a good crust (not strongly flavored at all). Thanks for posting. I will be happy to make this again! Roxygirl

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Roxygirl in Colorado November 25, 2007

Great stuff!! So easy to make and it bakes up into a perfect pizza. I made some extra and froze it and it was simple to thaw out and use within a few hours. We won't be buying frozen pizzas or take out pizza anymore :) The wine flavor does come out more when it is frozen and thawed.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
EllaP June 03, 2007

This is a wonderful pizza dough.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Terry W January 16, 2007

this was great! I made it in my bread machine on "dough"...there's a "pizza dough" option but I didn't realize it until after I had started it... Anyway, I really liked the flavor of this. I made a calzone...next time I will make parmesan garlic breadsticks and dip it in some marinara...mmm

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
cryssi May 19, 2006
Pizza Dough