26 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

I have been looking for a good non-bread machine pizza crust and this one is the best one I've tried after about 8 attempts. Sometimes it is more of a pain to haul out the machine than to just do it by hand... and this way is quicker. I put the cheese on right away unlike the directions state because I've had great luck with baking at 425 on the bottom rack for 16-18 minutes. Pizza and cheese come out perfect golden brown. Also, do not bake your crust first as I know allot of people are tempted. I've done both ways and find that putting it all in fresh is much better!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mandy Jo 829 October 29, 2010

This crust is soo good! The texture was great and the taste was delicious. I 1/4th the recipe because all I needed was 1 crust. I feared it wouldn't come out right because I quartered it. But it came out perfect and it was pretty easy to roll out and rolled up the edges to make a crust. I added olive oil to the edges the last 15 min to brown it a bit. Super crust! I'll be making this again :-)

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
The Veganista August 25, 2009

I was looking for a recipe that made enough dough to freeze, and was happy this yielded 4 pizza crusts. I baked up one of them up now with Hawaiian Pizza, and it turned out great. I used my Kitchenaid mixer for this recipe with the dough hook. All of the ingredients fit just fine. Thank you, gran!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
averybird January 28, 2012

Fabulous! So easy and so delicious- thank you!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
sudekol November 06, 2011

Thanks Gran! Excellent dough! Easy to make and comes out perfect! Goes great with Kittencal's Pizza Sauce by kittencal.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
goyeabean November 07, 2010

I used this recipe for Grilled Pizza. The crust was the perfect tuxture for grilling. It made enough crust to make 6 pizzas on the grill.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Cul_de_sac_Barbie September 13, 2010

This is a very simple and delicious recipe. My SO and I made it two days in a row. The first time we used the store brand dry yeast. Having made a pizza crust before I was expecting it to expand very quickly, but it did not. In fact, after several hours it never really got twice as big. We ended up using the dough, anyway, and it was delicious. The second day we used Fleishchmann's Rapid Rise yeast. Big difference. The dough more than doubled in size, and was more of the consistency that I expected (the first one was dry, and we had followed the recipe to a tee). The dough also tasted and smelled much better. I guess the quality of the yeast makes a difference.
We took the advice of another reviewer and added more salt than sugar. As a whole this is a very delicious and fun recipe, something we will return to in the future. Thanks, Gran!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Pansori August 16, 2010

Awesome crust...pair with Homemade Pizza Sauce for pizza sauce (makes enough for 4 16 in pizzas) and it wins hands down for YUMMY pizza! EDIT: Still my favorite as a pizza crust. I too bake the crust about half way before topping, then finish it up. Only recipe I use now.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
sandesnow June 21, 2009

pretty easy recipe, which I like.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef busy bee November 15, 2008
Pizza Crust