122 Reviews

I made this for our weekly homemade pizza night. I was getting tired of regular pizza and wanted to try something different. We both loved it! It taste like an interesting cross between a pizza and a lasagna. I'll definitely make this again!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Scarlett516 February 16, 2008

My family absolutely LOVED this casserole. Everyone had second helpings, and my husband said it was the best casserole he's ever eaten. Lol so I will defiantly be making this again, I followed the recipe exactly & it was perfect. I may add some peppers and mushrooms next time, but the casserole is overflowing :) be sure to place a cookie sheet underneath on the other rack to prevent dripping/smoking.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ChefSunflower August 23, 2014

I used pizza sauce and it turned out great! Even my picky 11 year old loved it!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
happygirl2u2 May 24, 2014

My entire family really enjoyed this casserole. It's definitely a kid pleaser, as my 3 sons gobbled it up. Instead of using the entire amount of sausage, I substituted 1/2 of it with ground beef. I also only used 1 bag of mozzarella cheese. To simplify things, I mixed the sauce, meat, and pasta together and dumped it in the casserole dish. Then I put a layer of mozzarella cheese on top. It was sooo good. I will definitely make this again and again!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
michelles3boys May 16, 2013

Comfort food at its finest! I followed the recipe, only omitting the ham and adding the foil while baking, and we loved it! I thought it was a really great idea to mix the seasoning right into the sausage meat and onions-I could tell from the first taste test that this recipe was going to be a keeper! Thanks so much!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
CookieMonster2323 May 04, 2013

Mama Mia! Yummy, CarrolJ! So, so good - what a great recipe! I must admit, I made some changes because I didn't have everything that the recipe called for - but as my husband was leaving the table tonight he said, "Now where can you store this recipe so you will remember to fix it more often?" - so my substitutions must've been ok! I'm not a big ham fan, so I browned a pound of ground beef with the sausage, onions, and seasonings. Also, I didn't have the required grated mozzarella on hand, but I did have 1 bag of mozzarella and 1 and a half bags of colby jack - it worked! I'm not even sure I layered it correctly, but it tasted great with the big salad we enjoyed tonight. It's a keeper! Thank you!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
soonermama February 19, 2013

We all enjoyed it, but didn't think pizza at all except when we got a bite of pepperoni? I'll make it again for a family friendly meal but I think I'll chop the pepperoni up and mix it in the layers next time too. Thanks for a great dinner Carrol!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Buzymomof3 July 11, 2012

This is a fantastic dish which does remind you of pizza! I took the advice of other reviewers and reduced the meat. I used the 1 lb. of sausage and a 7oz. pkg. of sliced pepperoni and left out the ham. I used 1 1/2 jars of sauce and an 8oz. bag of mozzarella and used extra parmesan and it was plenty cheesy. Since there's just two of us we have enough for at least 2 more dinners. Thanks for posting. Reviewed for Zaar Chef Alphabet Soup game.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
linguinelisa May 17, 2012

We made this with all the goodies we like on our pizza - sausage, bacon, pepperoni, green pepper, onion, jalapinos. My DW really liked it. Excellent! This one is a "keeper"

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Oldfardt March 07, 2011

Easy to cook and adapt to everyone's taste. Thank you!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Squisha December 07, 2010
Pizza Casserole