126 Reviews

I thought this had a great flavor (like a baked ziti with meat). However, the abundance of meat was a bit too much for my family, so next time I think I'll cut out the ham. Oh, and be sure to cover the top with foil or it will burn! Thanks for sharing this fun recipe!

6 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Suzie Boozie February 07, 2010

Sorry about the three stars, but... the taste was good but as I was shopping for the ingredients and started making this, I realized that this one single dish of casserole cost me $25. IMHO, that is a boat load of $ for a comfort meal at home. The taste was pretty good, but we all felt that it could have been a bit better. Thanks for posting. Please see my rating system on my AM page.

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Axe October 28, 2009

It was a very good meal...but it is huge we had leftovers for along time, it is a very fattening heavy dish...It is greasy and all I could think about is my arteries clogging a lil more with every bite...If I am to try this again I am going to use low fat everything and make as many healthy changes to it as possible.

4 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sammy_gunn January 04, 2010

I hate giving a recipe a bad review, but we just didn't care for this. My kids ate it, so at least it wasn't too bad, but the flavors for us wasn't what we had hoped for.

4 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mmsanchez09 September 23, 2008

Oh my heavens, I made this for dinner last evening, I used my home made spagetti sauce, did not have ham, just used the sausage mixture, added minced garlic plus garlic powder (love love garlic) Carol this was magnificent & on the next day lunch even better. I will have this at my next card party. I love the crispness of the pepperoni on top. I also used fresh mozzoerella. The simplicity of preparation was awesome as well.

4 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
pmrealty June 22, 2006

Great recipe; wish I had used a deeper pan. Used ground beef as someone else suggested and it turned out great....lots of leftovers. Thanks!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Vos January 20, 2009

This was a rich tasting dish! The smell made my mouth water! I added Mushrooms, peppers and sliced olives to justify eating so much meat and carbs. When I make it again, I dont think I will layer it, I will just mix it all in a bowl then put in a casserole dish and then top with pepperoni. If someone is making this for the first time know that you should be feeding a crowd! or at least make it in two dishes so you can freeze one for a later date. I ended up freezing half the dish after 4 of us ate us at until we were stuffed. Cant wait to make this for a Pot luck!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
AmandaMcMom September 18, 2008

3 stars for an amazing concept. I had to make some subs the 2nd time I made it. Jimmy Dean sausage is a breakfast sausage and just wasn't cutting it in an Italian based recipe - I used actual Italian sausage and it made all the difference in the world. I drained the sausage after it was cooked and removed more fat from it by pouring boiling water over it in a colander and blotting it with paper towels. I also left out the ham and used a better quality jar sauce (Silver Palate Marinara with San Marzano tomatoes) and it was delicious!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
DeeLawson June 10, 2016

I'm so very unhappy with my canvas... Poor job wrapping canvas as picture repeats itself on sides ... Everyone notices it!! So disappointed !

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Charlotte F. January 10, 2016

Wow! This recipe is amazing. The best ive made in a while!!! And yes cover with foil and it comes out perfect, but I halfed the cheese and pasta and it's the perfect amount of everything.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Darelle S. October 16, 2015
Pizza Casserole