Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Pizza Calzones - Diabetic Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Pizza Calzones - Diabetic

    Average Rating:

    12 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-12 of 12

    Sort by:

    • on January 29, 2014

      Very yummy recipe. My 11 year old made the bread dough while I cooked the filling. The kids ate it up! I used some elk sausage we had on hand for the meat, and broccoli. Everything worked very well together and was very good leftovers as well.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 10, 2009

      This was a pretty good recipe! Like another reviewer, I used some spaghetti sauce that needed to be used. I also cut out the meat and used only parmesan cheese. It was a nice, quick dough, though next time I will probably add some garlic or onion powder to the dough for more flavor. Thanks for a great healthy recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 12, 2009

      This was fantastic!! I was thrilled to be making pizza calzone for the first time, and have it turn out beyond expectations. I cut down on the mozarella cheese a little and doubled the garlic but other than that, I followed this recipe as written. My 3 year old who is very fussy asked for seconds so this is definitely a winner.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 26, 2008

      yum! made this for my kids, husband, and diabetic mom. even the picky neighbor kid would eat some!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 20, 2008

    • on December 16, 2007

      "The only thing that would be better is if it were fried... but this is probably healthier." -My husband. I did mostly follow the directions, used broccoli. I exchanged some of the AP flour for some buckwheat flour only because it needed to get used. VERY tasty.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 18, 2007

      Got into making these right away! This TOTALLY made my day! YUMMY, delicious as can be! WHOO HOO! That's from ME! Helpful hint if you should make it too, Less in more when filling, TRUE!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 09, 2007

      These are fabulous! I love the dough, I found it very easy to work. For the filling I used some homemade spaghetti sauce that needed to be used up (tomatoes, tomato sauce, ground beef, and lots of seasoning) to which I added the zucchini and cheese. Oh, and I used whole wheat pastry flour instead of all-purpose. What I like most is that the recipe tells you how much filling to put on each round of dough, a very helpful tip that most calzone recipes don't include. I will use this recipe for dough many times in the future, with a variety of fillings. Thank you for an excellent recipe and excellent instructions.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 17, 2006

      These were fantastic!! Another definite keeper! I had a little trouble with the dough but I don't ever make anything that has to be rolled out... I will continue making it with this crust though, it's wonderful!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 20, 2005

      Absolutely delicious. Just need to add a little salt. I used soft tortillas instead of fussing with making the dough. I did use some milk to let the edges soften before filling and grimping the edges. These would be great in pita pocket too. Adding the zucchini was great. My very picky daughter didn't even notice it! Thanks for a great recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 18, 2005

      Just tried this a few minutes ago for lunch. They were excellent. We tried sprinkling cornmeal on an UNGREASED baking sheet and they slid right off. We had these with a salad and use this recipe again.Thanks for this wonderful recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 17, 2005

      These were excellent! Derf suggested sprinkling cornmeal on the greased baking sheet which I will definately do in the future cause mine stuck like glue. But they were sooo good and they froze and reheated prefectly. I let them cool to room temperature then wrapped each one individually in plastic wrap and froze in a large freezer bag. To reheat, I microwaved them for 3 minutes straight from the freezer. Wonderful! -- 6 WW points, great with a salad.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Pizza Calzones - Diabetic

    Serving Size: 1 (179 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 8

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 294.1
     
    Calories from Fat 112
    38%
    Total Fat 12.4 g
    19%
    Saturated Fat 3.8 g
    19%
    Cholesterol 41.0 mg
    13%
    Sodium 684.4 mg
    28%
    Total Carbohydrate 29.7 g
    9%
    Dietary Fiber 2.5 g
    10%
    Sugars 2.5 g
    10%
    Protein 16.7 g
    33%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites