12 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Very yummy recipe. My 11 year old made the bread dough while I cooked the filling. The kids ate it up! I used some elk sausage we had on hand for the meat, and broccoli. Everything worked very well together and was very good leftovers as well.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Dana S. January 29, 2014

This was a pretty good recipe! Like another reviewer, I used some spaghetti sauce that needed to be used. I also cut out the meat and used only parmesan cheese. It was a nice, quick dough, though next time I will probably add some garlic or onion powder to the dough for more flavor. Thanks for a great healthy recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
SandwichQueen July 10, 2009

This was fantastic!! I was thrilled to be making pizza calzone for the first time, and have it turn out beyond expectations. I cut down on the mozarella cheese a little and doubled the garlic but other than that, I followed this recipe as written. My 3 year old who is very fussy asked for seconds so this is definitely a winner.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sara Jo June 12, 2009

yum! made this for my kids, husband, and diabetic mom. even the picky neighbor kid would eat some!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
BekW October 26, 2008

"The only thing that would be better is if it were fried... but this is probably healthier." -My husband. I did mostly follow the directions, used broccoli. I exchanged some of the AP flour for some buckwheat flour only because it needed to get used. VERY tasty.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mrs. Sudds December 16, 2007

Got into making these right away! This TOTALLY made my day! YUMMY, delicious as can be! WHOO HOO! That's from ME! Helpful hint if you should make it too, Less in more when filling, TRUE!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mickeydownunder August 18, 2007

These are fabulous! I love the dough, I found it very easy to work. For the filling I used some homemade spaghetti sauce that needed to be used up (tomatoes, tomato sauce, ground beef, and lots of seasoning) to which I added the zucchini and cheese. Oh, and I used whole wheat pastry flour instead of all-purpose. What I like most is that the recipe tells you how much filling to put on each round of dough, a very helpful tip that most calzone recipes don't include. I will use this recipe for dough many times in the future, with a variety of fillings. Thank you for an excellent recipe and excellent instructions.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
emily hauer June 09, 2007

These were fantastic!! Another definite keeper! I had a little trouble with the dough but I don't ever make anything that has to be rolled out... I will continue making it with this crust though, it's wonderful!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Susie FHE October 17, 2006

Absolutely delicious. Just need to add a little salt. I used soft tortillas instead of fussing with making the dough. I did use some milk to let the edges soften before filling and grimping the edges. These would be great in pita pocket too. Adding the zucchini was great. My very picky daughter didn't even notice it! Thanks for a great recipe.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Marilyn Collari August 20, 2005
Pizza Calzones - Diabetic