Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Pizza Burgers Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Pizza Burgers

    Average Rating:

    20 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 20

    Sort by:

    • on April 01, 2002

      I have a hamburger almost every Sat. Night (except when we have company) with oven fries on a baking stone so I consider myself somewhat of a connoisseur of hamburgers and if I could rate yours higher than a 5 I would - this will be a regular for me! I scaled the recipe down to one big patty (no problem). The Italian sausage is what makes this special (I used Hot Italian) along with how it's put together, I used "Diana(brand name) Sauce, Honey Garlic" ( It could be used as Pizza sauce) and put a slice of onion inside the burger with the cheese. When I put the rest of the sauce on the pan with the burger I put in 5 quartered mushrooms. slipped on the lid and let the flavors combine. When I put it all together I added hot banana pickled peppers, sweet dark mustard 2 slices of tomatoe and the extra cheese melted on top Next time I'll make the burger on a Jalapeno bun. The recipe is on site under "Jalapeno Bread" and I have added my comments on how I made buns from that recipe_ WOWEE Whimpy eat your heart out. This was super!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 01, 2002

      Enjoyed by all. These are thick and juicy. I filled them with cheese, pepperoni, and olives. Fried them in large skillet until almost done, then poured the sauce over and simmered until nice and hot and bubbly. One of these is enough for even a hearty appetite. We had a side of Tumpura mushrooms which made a great meal. A great way to do burgers. I highly recommend this recipe! Thanks Karen!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 18, 2002

      Yes, these are quite "humungo!" My husband could only down one, and my daughter and I each managed about a half of ours. I thought they were very good. I bought sweet Italians from our neighborhood store that makes their own sausage and some ground round, and just put some pizza sauce, (Contadina)some oregano, and a couple thicker hunks of mozzarella in each one.Also sauteed some onion and green pepper in a little olive oil to top them off - for he and I - Kiddo doesn't like that veggie scene, and some more thin mozzarella slices.Had them on sesame seed kaiser rolls.Very tasty.I'm thinking that this would also be a great filling for stuffed green peppers. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 24, 2003

      Wow, Karen, you are right. These burgers are whopper-jaw sized. Very delicious, by the way. I put some minced garlic and chopped onion into the meat mixture. The toppings we used were pepperoni and mushroom. My husband added some jalapeno slices to his. A big hit with my family. Thanks for sharing your recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 23, 2002

      WOW, these were GREAT!! Instead of "burger" shape we made "hoagie" shaped patties and put them on mini french sub loaves. These were remenescent of a "hot pizza sub deluxe" that we used to order from a pizza palor/sub shop 15 or so years ago. Thanks for the great recipe! :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 09, 2002

      My fiancee and I were of two opinions about it, so here they are. Me: Oh my god, this is the biggest freakin' burger I have ever seen!!! It was just too, too much, I was overwhelmed with beef, sausage, pepperoni, cheese... and I only ate 1/4 of my burger! The taste was okay, but we didn't use our normal sauce, and I think this translated in the flavor. I also think that maybe a tiny, tiny bit of the sauce with some freshly minced garlic and sea salt worked into the patties would improve the flavor. Too much for this little girl! Him: Oh my god this is the best dinner ever! Honey, you really, really love me! (Pause for chewing) Oh my god this great! -- I got the idea that he thoroughly enjoyed it. If I hadn't realized that he definately liked it last night, as I was walking out the door to work this morning he kisses me and says once again how much he loved dinner last night! Wow, this is quite a burger, Miss Karen in Colorado: thanks! I simmered some sliced baby portobellos with the burgers, and they tasted incredible. I also followed Bergy's suggestion about using Jalapeno Buns vs regular for this recipe. Boy am I glad I gave it a shot! I used a slightly different recipe (which I posted), and they came out great. However, I think the bun tasted too "southwestern", and almost overwhelmed the pizza burger explosion of taste. Anyway, thanks Bergy!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 07, 2002

      Everyone sure is correct about these delicious hamburgers. They were really good. I will definitly be making these again and again and again........... The sauce was really good on these too. Thank you for posting a great recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 07, 2002

      My son loved these. All I had on hand was 4 frozen hamburger patties,but they worked just fine. Next time I'll plan ahead and make these with the sausage and ground meat.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 08, 2003

      These are a great change from the usual burgers! I stuffed mine with cheese and pepperoni, but I think next time I will try some other "toppings" as well. I made these ahead of time and threw them into the freezer for a later meal.I grilled the patties and served on homemade buns(Homemade Buns) . This is a great summer bar b que supper! Thanks for posting this recipe.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 07, 2010

      Tasted great thanks for posting Karen form Colorado1

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 18, 2009

      Very delicious burgers, I ended up having company so I made a double batch. Everyone loved them and will definately be making over and over again. Thanks for the recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 01, 2009

      My house smelled soooo good while these were cooking. What a great burger. My family went nutz over these. I planned on one burger per person and that was more then plenty. I added pepperoni, mushrooms, green peppers, onions and extra cheese along with the sauce and cheese for the filling. It wasn't as hard as I had feared getting the burgers sealed. I really liked the whole concept of simmering the burgers in the pizza sauce at the end, fabulous flavor. Thank you so much for sharing this recipe with us, we will definately make these again......and again and again....lol.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 15, 2008

      Thee were wonderful! The only problem I had was in not sealing them tightly enough and that was my fault. The cheese in the middle leaked out towards the end of the cooking time, but I just spooned it over the tops of the burgers when I served them. I stuffed them with the sauce, cheese and pepperoni and served them with french fries and a green salad. I made 4 huge burgers and 2 are in the freezer. When they start calling my name, I'll serve with some frozen pizza sauce.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 12, 2008

      WOW! These are so good. I made homemade burger buns and stuffed my burgers with mozzarella cheese, pizza sauce and pepperoni. I did not add the sauce at the end, instead I topped the burger with warmed sauce, cheese and fried mushrooms. I added garlic salt, onion powder, seasoning salt, italian seasoning and pepper to the beef mixture. I added an egg to the beef mixture as I wanted to avoid any crumbling burgers. My burgers did not leak any toppings. These burgers should be on everyone's to make list! Your family will love them.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 03, 2008

      My boys gave these 5 stars!!!! They were HUGE!!!! I only stuffed ours with sauce, cheese and pepperoni. I served grilled onions for topping on DH's. My eldest said we should have these all the time!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 21, 2008

      Delicioso! Instead of sliced cheese, I used grated, which I think helped the enclosure process. I used lean beef and mild Italian sausage. I also pan fried in a large electric skillet; they stuck a little, but held together. These suckers are HUGE! But they have to be to hold the fillings. My boys gave these all thumbs up!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 20, 2007

      very good but very messy

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 26, 2007

      Great burgers!!!Very different,can't wait till we can try it on bbq,we loved them.Did only make 2,froze rest for next time,thanks.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 31, 2003

      These were a nice change. I used sweet Italian sausage. I think next time I'll just top the burgers w/ the sauce, etc., as it seeped out & made quite a mess. Nice flavors, though. Thanks for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 25, 2002

      I was really disappointed. My boyfriend is a pizza junky (eats it 5 days a week) so I thought this would be great for him. He ate 1/4 of it and threw it away. I thought it was good but I was really expecting something fabulous from the reviews. I put ham and pepperoni on the inside because thats what he likes on his pizza, all meat. I used a really good pizza sauce too. I am letting my dad try it tomarrow so we will see what he says.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    You Might Also Like...

    View All Pork Recipes

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Pizza Burgers

    Serving Size: 1 (184 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 349.3
     
    Calories from Fat 159
    45%
    Total Fat 17.7 g
    27%
    Saturated Fat 8.5 g
    42%
    Cholesterol 80.3 mg
    26%
    Sodium 502.3 mg
    20%
    Total Carbohydrate 18.6 g
    6%
    Dietary Fiber 1.4 g
    5%
    Sugars 2.9 g
    11%
    Protein 27.1 g
    54%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes