Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Pittsburgh Ham Barbecue Sandwiches Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Pittsburgh Ham Barbecue Sandwiches

    Average Rating:

    15 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-15 of 15

    Sort by:

    • on March 27, 2013

      I grew up eating these!! This recipe is as close as I can find to these classic sandwiches my great aunt use to make me.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 05, 2011

      This is a great recipe! Growing up in Pittsburgh gives you a great understanding of Ham BBQ sandwiches. I have recently wrote the Pittsburgh Cookbook where you can also find another similar recipe. I don't use the chili sauce in mine, but definetely have to have the Heinz product to make it authentic, and shaved or( chipped ) ham.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 20, 2010

      This is the best recipe!! I made this for a surprise 25th birthday party last weekend for my oldest daughter. We had a "potluck" buffet and this was the hit of all the food that was there! I used a whole precooked boneless ham (about 4 pounds), sliced it as thin as I could with my electric knife, and then coarsely chopped it. I doubled the sauce except for the chili powder, put half the ham in my crockpot, stirred in half the sauce, then added in the rest of the ham and the rest of the sauce and stirred it all together. Cooked it on low in the crockpot for 4 hours and then turned it on the keep warm setting for the party. It made 32 generous sandwiches making it this way plus enough for those who didn't want to eat it on a bun. All that was left at the end of the night was the sauce! It is so easy to put together and make using the crockpot. I have made several copies of the recipe already so am sure this will be served at our get togethers in the future! Thanks for a great recipe that is a welcome change from serving sloppy joes or barbecued pork loin for get togethers!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 15, 2013

      I grew up in Pittsbugh/Aspinwall/Blawnox area. Bard's in Aspinwall and Islay's in Blawnox both made this ham barbecue sandwich. Brought back great memories. Both stores made a simplified recipe of this sandwich. <br/><br/>Shaved Chipped chopped ham (sliced VERY thin), Heinz's ketchup and Nances Chili Sauce to taste. Heat for about five minutes, place on fresh buns and you're ready to go!.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 25, 2010

      I grew up in Pittsburgh and I just didn't think this tasted like any Chipped Ham BQQ I've ever had. It was missing a key ingredient for me and I just can't put my finger on it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 06, 2010

      Nice sandwich. A great change. I just asked my butcher at my local grocery store that I wanted chipped ham. He knew exactly what I was making and asked if I was from PA. He chipped it perfectly. I did use Heinz as I had some in my pantry. I love chili sauce. The only thing I changed was a quality roll vs a generic burger bun. I completely enjoyed it. Served with some chips and a pickle for lunch with co workers. Very nice. Definitely make again. Easy for dinner too with a side salad or bowl of soup would be great. Thx for a nice twist of a great BBQ sandwich Kim

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 17, 2010

      Delicious!! While my boyfriend is from Ohio and thought the chili sauce was a bit too strong, I am from Pittsburgh and this tasted just like it's supposed to be!! We did leave out the onions as neither of us like them, but the rest of it was yummy!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 01, 2010

      I grew up on bbq chipped chopped ham sandwiches. This was pretty good, but I thought there was a strong "clove" taste, maybe from the chili sauce or the relish? All in all this was good.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 30, 2009

      MMMMM!! BBQ chipped ham,sooo good!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 05, 2009

      This is the easiest and most delicious ham barbecue recipe! I tripled it for a party and it got rave reviews. Using chili sauce is such a timesaver, rather than measuring ketchup, vinegar, etc. For those of you not familiar with the term "chipped", you can just buy deli ham that is "shaved". Thanks for a great recipe, Lainey! GO PENS!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 28, 2008

      Bought some Isley's chipped ham yesterday and couldn't wait to try this! YUM!!! I don't think I'll make another ham bbq recipe again! Totally vintage 'burgh ham bbq! Go Steelers!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 11, 2007

      I couldn't find chipped ham so I used regular deli ham. I rinsed it as if it were the chipped ham. The only problem I had was that some of the people thought I should have rinsed the ham more because they thought it was a little salty. Thanks Lainey6605 for a different kind of sandwich to try. Bullwinkle

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 08, 2007

      My Pittsburgher husband says these are better than his Mom's! We all enjoyed them very much - nicely spicy (I added a bit extra chili powder) and easy enough to make while we were on a camping trip. Thanks for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 07, 2007

      They make a similar BBQ ham sandwich in the Syracuse, NY area where I'm from. I have to admit that I like this one better!! Loved the flavors - especially the chili powder and sweet relish combo. DS#2 loved it too. I chopped leftover sliced ham that I had frozen and it was an easy Saturday supper. We'll make these again! Thanks Lainey6605

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 14, 2007

      The sauce is great - in fact when I cut the recipe back to two Sandwiches I got a little carried away with the chili - But I do like it hot so all was well. Nice bit of sweet & hot taste in the sauce. Because I couldn't get the real Pittsburgh chipped ham I used Blackforest shaved ham and then because of a suggestion I cross cut the shaved ham. The result was a too chopped texture and it was like a sloppy joe - Definately a knife & fork sandwich. Guess I'll have to fly to Pittsburgh for the real McCoy Thanks for a new taste treat Lainey

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Pittsburgh Ham Barbecue Sandwiches

    Serving Size: 1 (171 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 188.8
     
    Calories from Fat 41
    21%
    Total Fat 4.5 g
    7%
    Saturated Fat 1.4 g
    7%
    Cholesterol 39.3 mg
    13%
    Sodium 1942.0 mg
    80%
    Total Carbohydrate 15.7 g
    5%
    Dietary Fiber 3.7 g
    14%
    Sugars 9.5 g
    38%
    Protein 18.5 g
    37%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites