Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Pita Pocket Bread (Bread Machine) Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Pita Pocket Bread (Bread Machine)

    Average Rating:

    16 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-16 of 16

    Sort by:

    • on August 12, 2013

      Very easy to do and the results were fantastic. The kids enjoyed watching them puff up in the oven. This is definitely one I will continue to use over and over

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 14, 2013

      The taste of these was wonderful :-) but I had issues with a pocket forming (I barely got any with any sort of pocket). The problem, I think, is that the dough balls dried a bit when they were rising, and that prevented me from getting them flat enough (I didn't want them to tear). I'm going to try again, perhaps giving them a slight brushing of olive oil while they rise, and report back :-)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 30, 2013

      Fast and easy recipe. Delicious!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 01, 2013

      This was an excellent recipe, very quick and easy compared to other recipes. The bread turned out really soft and tasty and uses alot less oil when cooked in the oven, then when I cook flatbread on the stove. I will keep using this recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 15, 2010

      Very VERY good. Not dry like some I've tried. Made in a KA instead of bread machine, other than that followed your recipe. Made for NA*ME ZWT #6!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 10, 2010

      Very good! Followed the recipe exactly and most formed pockets. I used my bread machine for this and set the timer so the dough would be done right after I got home so we could have fresh pita for our chicken pita pockets last night. These were great, the texture was great and I will definitely make again! Thanks for posting! Made for The Queens of Quisine ZWT 6!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 08, 2010

      Delicious! Some of them formed the pockets, some didn't but it did not take away from the flavour and great texture. I used the old fashioned method. Next time I would add a tad more salt. Made for Unrulies under the Influence / ZWT6

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 30, 2009

      As my Norwegian ancestors would say "Tusen Takk" which means "a thousand thanks". I can't tell you how much we enjoyed this. I was especially happy to have some WW flour in the pita breads. Being on a diet, the next time I will make the pitas smaller thus lower in calories. They were so easy to make and they looked good enough to take a picture of! Tusen Takk again for sharing this great recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 19, 2008

      thank you debber it's just perfect

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 31, 2008

      Tasty and very easy. I used 3 cups white flour with 1/3 cup of whole wheat flour, and increased the yeast 1/8 teaspoon. I had thought that by doing those 2 changes it would make a big air bubble to create the pocket, but those ideas did not work instead they were puffy balls. Next time I will use a rolling pin to flatten them out instead of being gentle and follow the ingredient list as posted. I divided the dough into 8 and set onto parchment paper and baked on same parchment paper-wow-easy as pie. Was very easy dough to work with. They did not make air pockets, so I just sliced them in half vertically and then horizontally to create a sandwich effect. Thanks for sharing Debber. Made for ZWT4.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 13, 2007

      I loved that this recipe was for the bread machine. After the beep I portioned the dough and shaped into circles on parchment paper. They rose up beautifully and it was a shame to flatten them. A few of the pitas did not have the open center, but most did. I loaded the pitas with Chicken Bites With Spice and the next day used them for Onion and Chive Pitas. Thank you for sharing your recipe! Reviewed for ZWT 3.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 13, 2007

      These are terrific, it is a hot day here, and I wasn't sure how these would do with the higher humidity~ but this turned out well. I have trouble with making the "pockets" too. When this happens, I just cut in half, and slice the inside carefully~and make my own pocket. I used the bread maker for the dough part/and baked in my real nice miniature oven, as not to get the kitchen overly hot. Also, decreased the whole wheat flour by 1/3 cups, added bread flour instead. Thanks Debber for another fabulous recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 12, 2007

      These tasted great and I will make them again. I am a novice bread maker, and so I assume that the reason it didn't turn out _perfect_ is because of me. My breads formed little mounds with no pockets, although you can cut a pocket into the insides. Mine were also smaller in diameter than I would have liked (probably my fault). No bread machine, so hand-kneaded, which went fine, and let rise for about 1 hour on my stovetop covered with plastic wrap. Moving the risen dough to a cutting board was a little tricky. It collapsed pretty much as I lifted it and was of course very greasy. I couldn't see cutting it into 10 pieces, so I only cut 8 (didn't seem enough dough to me for 10...). Made 8 round balls and left them to rise again. After 20 minutes they didn't seem to me to have risen enough, so allowed an additional 10. Then patted down, but I had trouble to get them to go out to as big as 6 inches. Was afraid to squash them too much. So if anyone has tips for me on how to do better next time, let me know. There will be a next time, and I look forward to practicing on this recipe. But it tastes fabulous in any case!! Thanks for the recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 08, 2007

      First off these tasted delicious. But I had some problems with them. Next time I will use my BIG baking sheet, because I couldn't fit 5 six inch disks on my regular sized ones - they would have smooshed into each other. So, since mine were puffier to start with, they took 7-8 minutes to bake. And only two of them naturally formed a pocket, the others, I had to pry open with a fork, like an English muffin. :) I think making them on a bigger sheet, so I can flatten them to 6" disks, and maybe greasing the sheet so I don't have to scrape them off the sheet will help trememndously! But even with all that, these were REALLY easy and REALLY tasty. Thank you very much. :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 03, 2007

      WONDERFUL! I do not have a bread machine so had to do it the old-fashioned way. Loved it.. the pitas were a beautiful light brown colour and all puffed up! Thank you for sharing your recipe. Will be making these quite often from now on.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 02, 2007

      I have a bread machine and used this recipe and I loved it...The kids take there lunches every day to school this is great for them.. Thanks

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Pita Pocket Bread (Bread Machine)

    Serving Size: 1 (78 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 10

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 176.9
     
    Calories from Fat 29
    16%
    Total Fat 3.2 g
    5%
    Saturated Fat 0.4 g
    2%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 293.1 mg
    12%
    Total Carbohydrate 32.3 g
    10%
    Dietary Fiber 2.8 g
    11%
    Sugars 1.3 g
    5%
    Protein 5.1 g
    10%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites