9 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

My kids loved this. It was easy enough for them to make themselves and they loved that it looked like they each had their own personal pizza. Since we keep kosher, I didn't use the ham, but the pizza was good.

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Caryn Gale February 21, 2003

Devon S, I just finished eating this for lunch today, and it was FANTASTIC!! Very filling, due to the whole what pitas, which I happened to have stashed in the freezer. Ate this with a fresh green salad. Wonderful meal!! Thanks for sharing this recipe! ~Manda

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Manda August 12, 2002

I loved these pita pizzas. I made three with different toppings (roasted red peppers; mozzarella and basil; salami and cheese) and it took less than 20 minutes to make 3.. I would suggest putting the pita directly on the oven rack and using a foil below to catch drippings. The result is a very thin crispy crust and it tastes like the gourmet oven crust pizzas!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
rosewater March 20, 2006

Loved it and thanks to a super simple low fat sauce I can incorporate this easily into a healthy eating plan. I would have left it in the oven a little longer,but thats just because I like a harder crust.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
getting healthy September 20, 2007

Very easy, and delicious! What I like about this is that you can use whatever you have in your kitchen and it will still turn out great. I used sundried tomatoes, red peppers, onion and the last of the chicken breast I cooked last night, with cheddar cheese. Also used salsa instead of the pizza sauce and used a pocketless pita. Followed the advice of another reviewer and cooked right on the oven rack on a piece of tinfoil. Magnifique! I have another one ready for tomorrow's lunch :)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Katie Lou Who April 17, 2011

I try to make pizza dough on the weekends and freeze it for a quick weeknight dinner come Friday but I was out. I happen to have a lot of pita bread because it was on sale and I bought it up! Delicious and I agree this would be awesome for a get together so everyone could make their own.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
jrusk May 25, 2009

We cant believe how tasty these are. We used contadina pizza sauce,and for our toppings I put out Tyson grilled chicken diced up, turkey pepperoni, red peppers diced, olives, jalapenos and everyone put on whatever they wanted....its a fun idea maybe even for a get together. thanks

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
jellyko May 20, 2007

Excellant! Just love the idea of us creating our own pizza. We keep our pita in the freezer so that we can have one when ever we want. We have already made these 3 time since I printed this out, sorry for being late.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
BLUE ROSE January 23, 2007

Great little pizzas. I used fresh tomatos, fresh basil, and kalamata olives. They were very good and healthy.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Red Apple Guy September 17, 2006
Pita Pizza