Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Pita on call,,,, half recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Pita on call,,,, half recipe

    Average Rating:

    9 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-9 of 9

    Sort by:

    • on August 19, 2002

      Why you would buy pita bread after discovering this recipe I don't know. It is the easiest bread recipe ever, takes no time at all to put together and tastes a million times better than the stuff you buy at the store. The chef says he keeps his in the fridge, to use as needed, but I bet if you try this you won't have any left to put in the fridge! It's far too tasty for that...

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 09, 2007

      These were great and fun to make - I got so excited when they actually began to puff up in the oven!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 15, 2007

      These pita's came out exactly as i expected. They were yummy and quick to make. Thanks for a great recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 03, 2005

      Fantastic pita bread. I have cooked it on a baking stone in the oven many times, but decided to do these on the gas grill as it gets hotter than my oven (I cranked it up to around 600F). I slid them on the grate, and it was a matter of seconds before they started forming bubbles. I flipped them over and they fully ballooned very quickly. Super fast process using that much heat. They came out wonderfully! I doubled the recipe, and used half for Palestinian Chicken; the other half I am planning to use for gyros. I like to put them in a clean kitchen towel fairly soon after they are cooked; keeps them warm and soft. Tips for anyone having problems getting them to fully balloon: roll them as evenly and smoothly as possible (eg. no creases, folds) and make sure you have plenty of heat. Pizza peels are also handy to slide them on/off the stone, grill, etc. The pitas available in the stores in my area are horrible, so good, homemade pita bread is a godsend. Great recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 31, 2005

      I never thought making pita bread would be so exciting, but when I saw them puffing up in the over I was thrilled. Everyone loved them - we made gyro's with them. Sent my guest home with the recipe !

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 26, 2005

      These are so amazing! They're so much softer than the junk you buy in a plastic packet from the supermarket. And... I got them to puff up and make pockets! I used wholemeal bread flour but I don't think that changed much. What I did after I made the dough was put it in the fridge and just cut off a good sized chunk. I didn't bother letting it rise or warm up. Put the ball of dough on a floured board and roll it out thin with a rolling pin. Preheat oven with pizza or baking stone to the highest temperature. Slap rolled out dough on hot stone and cook for 3 minutes without opening oven. They start to deflate when you open the oven and when you take them out (with ovenmitts) and put them on a rack to cool a bit. I am wondering if I make my pita bread unusually small because I made four pitas and there's still enough dough for probably three times that. I'll be using this recipe a lot!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 02, 2005

      I doubled the recipe, used 100% whole wheat flour, and reduced the salt a bit. The pitas didn't puff up to make a "pocket," so it was more like flatbread. But with lamb, feta cheese, tomatoes, lettuce, and tzatziki, it was some mighty good flatbread!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 26, 2004

      Great tasting bread. Very easy to put together. Like Bekah, my bread did not completely puff up. I used a cookie sheet, sprayed with oil, and baked it in the oven. Next time I will try the stove top. AND there will be a next time. Thanks for sharing

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 05, 2003

      Gawds... I love making bread too! This was a snap to make. I am not quite sure what I did, but mine never bubbled up like typical pita bread. Chef error I assume. However, the taste is to die for. Dipped in hummus... oh man... sheer heaven. I used one to make a wrap sandwich today and it was incredible. I used the on-stove method and it was easy as pie. I made all four pitas this morning, and only have two left. If that isn't a testament to the great taste, I don't know what is! Thanks for sharing!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Pita on call,,,, half recipe

    Serving Size: 1 (560 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 274.3
     
    Calories from Fat 28
    10%
    Total Fat 3.1 g
    4%
    Saturated Fat 0.4 g
    2%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 877.9 mg
    36%
    Total Carbohydrate 55.1 g
    18%
    Dietary Fiber 9.5 g
    38%
    Sugars 0.3 g
    1%
    Protein 10.9 g
    21%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes