Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Pita Chips Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Pita Chips

    Average Rating:

    49 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 49

    Sort by:

    • on April 09, 2014

      I sprayed them with oil spray to reduce the oil content. My kids loved these, what a great idea. A variety of seasonings would allow these to have a range of new and different tastes (Moroccan seasoning, Greek seasoning and so on). Thanks for posting, will make these again.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 15, 2010

      Perfect!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 31, 2010

      This is such a great recipe. I agree with other posters that it is better to brush the oil and sprinkle the ingredients before cutting. Thanks for posting.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 18, 2011

      Just made these for the first time WOW. I took others advice and split in half Sprayed with EVOO then sprinkled seasoning on. Cut with pizza cutter. Very easy! Now - to stay out of them till I serve tonight!! Thank You

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 06, 2010

      Delicious! The seasoning combination is perfect. I cooked 7 minutes, but next time would add a minute or two to make them a little crispier. Pita chips are outrageously expensive at the store and they aren't nearly as good as these! Thanks for sharing. Made for Top Favorites of 2009 Tag Game.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 01, 2010

      These were great! Thanks.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 25, 2010

      I love how easy this is...I only use 1/4 c. oil though. I always have a lot leftover when I use 1/2 c. I cut the halves in half, so they're thin and don't take quite as long to cook. About 4-5 minutes per side.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 20, 2010

      So delicious! Thank you! This is the perfect chip to take to a potluck along with some homemade dip! I love the garlic taste and they baked up nice and crispy. YUM!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 13, 2010

      Pita Chips turned out great. *Note: Make sure they are completely cooled before storing. Thanks for sharing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 17, 2010

      For flavor, these get 5 stars. Garlic, basil, salt and pepper with olive oil -- what's not to love? However, the method could use some improvement. I do three things differently: a) I split each pita in half (careful so they don't tear). This makes thinner pieces of bread so they cook faster and get crisper. And it yields 16 chips per pita; b) I brush lightly with oil before cutting into triangles. Just easier that way; and c) I don't combine the oil and spices. I brush with oil, then sprinkle on the spices. I find the spices stick better this way and give a more flavorful chip. Also, for those dieters out there who think these are a healthy alternative to chips -- be careful with how much oil you're using. Plus, these taste so good you'll end up eating way more than you intended to!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 31, 2009

      Originally rated on 2/4/09 - This recipe made it into my book#266453. 5 plus stars! I will never bake pita chips any other way again. This is just awesome. Perfect directions. Perfect taste. Just salty enough and the basil gives it special flavor without being too noticeable. Nice and cripsy, too. Love these!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 19, 2009

      These came out great. I did season them with a little more garlic and sea salt after I brushed the oil on. Thanks for a great recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 12, 2009

      Fantastic! Just like some others, I brushed on the olive oil and sprinkled o some spices before cutting the pitas into wedges. Mine took 8 minutes and were nice and crispy and golden brown. I used Kosher salt, greshly ground black pepper, and granulated garlic. These are great for my pesto-cream cheese dip. Thanks for sharing this super easy recipe, Marie!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 08, 2009

      These had great flavor, but weren't as crispy as I wanted. I baked them for about 12 minutes, hoping they would crisp up more, but they were starting to brown too much so I pulled them out. I did as other suggested and spead the topping before cutting the pitas into wedges with kitchen shears.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 02, 2009

      These were great with a sun-dried tomato dip that I made. They didn't come out quite as crispy as I hoped. Not sure if they were a little stale, or I didn't cook them long enough. Didn't notice the lack of crispiness, though, when eaten with the dip. Will make again, varying the spices.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 12, 2009

      Very good chips! I added kosher salt too. I found it much easier to coat the pita bread & sprinkle the spices on before I cut it with kitchen shears. Much better then the cardboard boughten ones~

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 23, 2009

      This one's a keeper. These were easy, quick, healthy and tasty. The only change I made was subbing garlic powder for garlic salt. We had them with spatchcock's Lighter Hummus

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 03, 2009

      Yummy!! I really enjoyed these.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 23, 2009

      These turned out great! I did have to bake mine a little longer because I wanted them to be crspy. The flavor was not too strong but a nice compliment for dip. Mine weren't good the next day though as they became chewy.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 13, 2009

      I used whole wheat pitas to make them a little healthier, and the flavor from the spices were great! We had these with some dip and these were eaten up in no time!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2 3

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Pita Chips

    Serving Size: 1 (832 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 368.5
     
    Calories from Fat 131
    35%
    Total Fat 14.5 g
    22%
    Saturated Fat 2.0 g
    10%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 482.9 mg
    20%
    Total Carbohydrate 50.5 g
    16%
    Dietary Fiber 2.0 g
    8%
    Sugars 1.1 g
    4%
    Protein 8.2 g
    16%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites