Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Pita Bread Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Pita Bread

    Average Rating:

    19 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-19 of 19

    Sort by:

    • on March 15, 2002

      Made this into Whole Wheat Pita Bread by using 1 1/4 cup whole wheat flour and 2 1/2 cups bread flour. They turned out great, except I found they were better if I only cooked them 2 minutes on each side. Hearty recommendation!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 16, 2001

    • on September 13, 2013

    • on June 06, 2013

      This was so easy to make. I also made it whole wheat. Soft and moist. Just be careful not to roll them too thin or they won't puff up.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 14, 2012

      Clear instructions and comes out great everytime.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 12, 2012

      This came out terrific, nice and crispy. Thanks for the recipe! Though, I think next time I might try lard instead of shortening.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 24, 2009

      These turned out great.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 19, 2009

      Oh my gosh these are so good. I had a few not puff but oh well those one make great pita chips. These are so light and fluffy and tender. I hate the tough chewy almost dry ones at the stores. I also like how I can cut the recipe back and make just a few when needed . Keeper recipe for us

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 25, 2009

      Even people who don't really like pita bread like these.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 25, 2009

      Great dough to work with, puffs up so nice in the oven and this is so simple. I prepped these onto a lightly floured pizza peel, and then slid them onto a hot pizza stone. I could fit 3 at a time on my stone. 2 minutes per side was spot on for me. This seems like it takes awhile- but start to finish was only 1 1/2 hours, and most of that was waiting while the dough rested. This is a very economical recipe, only 4 very cheap ingredients that you already have in your kitchen.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 09, 2008

      This is an excellent pita bread recipe. My pita's had an amazing pocket!! I used them for sandwiches and for ground beef gyros #30081. My BF will NEVER let me by pita bread again. These are so good.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 28, 2008

      These are amazing. This was my first time making pita and your instructions were spot on! We loved them. I took some that I over-browned and made chips out of them. They were so good, I over-browned a few on purpose. I will definitely be making these frequently. Thank so much!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 28, 2008

      These were a great treat and fun to make. I used my breadmaker to mix the ingredients and then followed the directions from step #7. When done I took some, seperated them, brushed the tops with olive oil and a mixture of salt, pepper and garlic powder. Returned them to the oven for about 4-5 min. at 350 degrees and made pita chips. Serve with hummus. Yum!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 12, 2008

      This bread is amazing! I'm never buying from the store again. These are SO soft and light. The store bought pockets always seem dry and tough. I used the advice of another reviewer and made whole wheat pitas which are absolutely outstanding! I have already tried them with a chicken filling and a cream cheese and raspberry jam filling. Both were excellent. Absolutely perfect pitas, no doubt about it!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 16, 2007

      Hubby and kids loved it! I tried making bigger ones, but they didn't puff. And, if I overrolled it, they didn't puff. I had to be extremely careful about rolling it. The bread was soft and delicious and lasted for a few days in a sealed bag. I made gyros with greek pork kabobs and tomato, mayo and ranch dressing and grated mozza melted overtop. Yummy!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 10, 2006

      The pita bread turned out great! I used King Arthur white whole wheat flour (instead of red wheat flour) & reduced the flour about a half a cup. I baked them on a baking stone and found that I needed to set my oven to 500. I baked them for 2 min, then turned them over & baked an additional 1 to 1 1/2 min. (Look for the picture I posted...) I made these to go with gyro burgers (# 54398), tzatziki (#59336) and a Greek salad with this dressing (#57642). The pita was delicious. I definitely will bake these again!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 23, 2005

      I too used partial wheat flour to great success. And when your husband doesn't roll them thinly enough they make great biscuits!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 15, 2005

      Very good recipe. Well written. I used my pizza stone to bake them in the oven instead of the baking sheet. They were very good.I used it with Gyro Burgers,Gyro burgers and #57746 Gyro Sauce. I made it all the day before. Very good.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 09, 2004

      Somewhat time comsuming, but oh what fun! They taste much better than store bought. Next time I will have my kids help me; I think they will have a blast.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Pita Bread

    Serving Size: 1 (69 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 12

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 181.8
     
    Calories from Fat 42
    23%
    Total Fat 4.7 g
    7%
    Saturated Fat 1.1 g
    5%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 292.5 mg
    12%
    Total Carbohydrate 30.0 g
    10%
    Dietary Fiber 1.2 g
    4%
    Sugars 0.1 g
    0%
    Protein 4.2 g
    8%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes