33 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

I love that friends have a fit over this desert and can not figure our what makes it unique! I even used fat free pistachio pudding and Lite frozen topping and it was superb. Less calories and noone could tell the difference. What a quick, lovely desert.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
harris5889 July 11, 2004

When I was a child we ate this at all holidays and I always looked forward to it. I have been telling my children about childhood traditions such as this. I am so glad to have found the recipe. Try it. You won't be disappointed!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Bobbin December 23, 2012

This was very good. Didnt have nuts on hand so I omitted! The kids fought over this!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Jolene Green December 14, 2012

Really good but I found it to be a little dry. I think next time I won't completely drain the pineapple.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Debbb October 13, 2012

As another reviewer mentioned this salad is the "Watergate Salad" that's printed on the "Jello" pistachio pudding mix, has been for years so nothing new here. They recommend NOT draining the pineapple which is the way I've always preparred it. It's a good salad or dessert. Very sweet however. I'm giving it only 3 stars because it is a copy cat recipe with no mention of the "Jello" people who came up with it many years ago.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Carol G. September 17, 2012

This was an awesome dessert... thank you very much. My guest went back to the bowl and scraped out every last bit.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Krista Roes January 09, 2012

My mother and I first discovered this recipe almost 20 years ago when I was 14. We had friends staying with us from New Mexico and they said that they were going to make this dessert for us. It was very poplular in their circle of friends from New Mexico so they were excited to share it with us. My mom & I talked later amongst ourselves about how strange this sounded and how we really didn't want to try it but in an effort to be nice we would. I guess they noticed our hesitation and said that they were hesitant at first too. We tried and loved it. My mom immediately asked for the recipe and has made it several times since then. I have made it a few times as well and when I first served it to my in-laws they said 'Oh, we make this too. We didn't know you make it'.

This is a really great summer dessert that is perfect for BBQ's.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
"mom of girls" April 19, 2011

I ate this first in Chicago and have never forgotten it! My mom calls it "toxic waste" because of the green color and the unhealthy ingredients, but I LOVE IT!!!! So easy to make and light and refreshing. GORGEOUS.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
DoubletheGarlic November 24, 2010

This is delicious. I added mandarin oranges and it turned out perfectly. I will be putting this into my regular menu rotation. Cathy, thank you for posting this recipe. Great job!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
JOY1998 August 19, 2010

Tastes good and so easy to throw together.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
embutterfly75 July 27, 2010
Pistachio Pudding Salad