10 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

This was a lovely, easy cake to make, although I must admit that it creates a very dense batter that cannot exactly be poured into the pan, but spooned in and patted evenly. Rather than use walnuts, I used pistachios, which worked out really well. This looked so Christmas-y, that I was thinking I might add some cranberries (not sure if fresh or dried) next time for a real holiday look! Thanks for sharing! Made for PRMR Tag Game.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
JackieOhNo! December 10, 2012

This is a fabulous cake. Its moist and I love the crunchyness of the struesal. I revised it slightly here on couponpassport.blogspot.com.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Crazy4Food March 06, 2010

Easy peasy, lemon squeezy! Followed the directions; really wish I'd read the review that says not to put the filling too close to the edges, as it 'runs.' That was OK, but I had to kind of man-handle the cake to make it release from the pan (after greasing AND flouring), as it stuck a little around the middle. Tastes great though, and not a big problem. I shared this at a party, and it was all gone before I left! Thanks for sharing, CaliforniaJan!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
alligirl April 30, 2013

Another great cake recipe from CaliforniaJan! I thought this one was even more delicious than your German Chocolate Bundt Cake actually. It's super-moist, and the filling inside adds a nice crunchy surprise. I used pecans instead of walnuts though, and I added a bit of green food coloring to make it more festive for St. Patrick's Day. It was perfect. [Made for PRMR]

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
rpgaymer March 17, 2013

This was very good! Made for New Years Day. Kind of difficult to make. The dough is not pliable. Marshmellowy. Had to scoop into bunt pan. Hard to make even layer. Tip: not to put brown sugar to close to the edge. It seeped out the sides a little and got very dark. Tasted a little burnt on those sections. Everything else was wonderful. Not an overwhelming taste of pistachio. I used walnuts and pistachios. Sprinkled powdered sugar on the top. Thanks!!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
seal angel January 02, 2013

I made this last night for our St. Paddy's Day luncheon at work today. Very good. I sprinkled powdered sugar on top. I'd make this next time for breakfast or brunch.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
AvonladyNH March 17, 2009

I made this cake for my son who doesn't like sweet desserts and he really liked this cake. Made as written. Thanks CaliforniaJan. Bullwinkle

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
bullwinkle October 07, 2008

The only thing I changed was to substitute pistachioes for walnuts! Well, & I didn't use the powdered sugar, either! Still, a great tasting cake! Well worth making again! Thanks so much! [Tagged, made & reviewed in 1-2-3 Hit Wonders cooking game]

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sydney Mike March 31, 2008

I used no fat sour cream. I used a white cake mix (I didn't have yellow). For the filling, I didn't pack brown sugar cause I didn't want it too sweet. And even if I love cinnamon, I used only 1 teaspoon of it. And no powdered sugar for dusting. The taste is fabulous. So tasty. And not too sweet with my changes. Thanks Jan :) Made for 123 hit wonders.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Boomette March 30, 2008

Luck of the Irish to you! This was the perfect cake for St. Paddy's Day. My boys ate every piece. Made for Photo Tag.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mary winecoff March 17, 2008
Pistachio Nut Bundt Cake