28 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

These are tangy, creamy, crunchy and delicious. I made them for a baby shower and since some were left over, I put them in a freezer bag and saved them. I melted them over some simple grilled chicken (1 per chicken piece) with a lemon & sundried tomato sauce -- it made a great quick dinner and it looked like I fussed for hours. These are not just for appetizers anymore!

7 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
monicawf March 07, 2010

Great finger food! I added chopped dried cranberries to mine. Delicious!

6 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
barrylaura April 30, 2010

I've made this- but made one major yummy change: I started with seedless grapes, put the goat cheese (and cream cheese if desired) around the grapes, and then dusted it with the chopped pistachios!

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Nimita Patel May 22, 2009

Made these for a nibbler for the fam at Thanksgiving. They were easy enough to create and tasted good, but I did them early and stored them in the fridge. The chilling time definitely made the nuts lose their crunch/pizzazz. Next time I'll try to make them just before I serve them.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kristine at Food.com December 11, 2010

These were my contribution to Easter Dinner; I was asked to bring an hors d'oerve. As my husband is on Atkins I wanted something he could eat. I did bring up his carb points very slightly as I was unable to find pistachios and instead substituted the pre-chopped, honey-glazed pecans that are made to top salads. The slight sweetness really complimented the tang of the goat cheese! While the ball rolling and nut crusting was time-consuming, the resulting snacks (after a quick chill time in the fridge to firm up the cheese again) were well worth it. Bravo, GaylaJ!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Raquel Grinnell November 17, 2010

Very impressive (and easy) appetizer ... especially nice since you can make them ahead of time! These are VERY RICH so make sure you make them on the smaller side. Thanks, Gayla, for a great recipe!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
GramCracker February 15, 2009

I made this for a small "appetizer" party at home and a friend of mine who doesnt like goat cheese enjoyed them!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
shilpar August 15, 2010

These were very good and easy. I did make them ahead of time and refrigerated them and the nuts lost their toasty crispness, so when I do them again, I'll just make them and serve them without refrigerating. thank you.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
megarachnid February 21, 2010

"Delicious!" That's what our company said as they devoured these little morsels and asked for the recipe. Creamy, with a hint of tartness on the inside paired with the crunch of the toasted pistachios on the outside, made these disappear quickly. We served them on a platter surrounded by my Nectarine, Prosciutto and Arugula Bundles and it made a nice presentation for our guests. The platter was emptied in no time. Thanks Gayla J for submitting this recipe. They will be made often at our house.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ugogirl August 06, 2006

These are wonderful! I skipped the cream cheese and made these with goat cheese only (I had a 10.5 oz pack of goat cheese which I didn't want to go to waste). Brought the goat cheese to room temperature and rolled the balls by hand, which I thought may be faster than dropping them by spoonfuls. Also skipped the refrigeration step and rolled the little goat cheese balls in the chopped nuts and then put them in the fridge until we were ready to eat them. I can honestly say that this is my new favorite appetizer. Thank you!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
alinasls August 11, 2013
Pistachio-Goat Cheese Bites