Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Pistachio Dessert Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Pistachio Dessert

    Average Rating:

    21 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 21

    Sort by:

    • on January 28, 2006

      Refreshing and delicious, but I would say make a couple of hours ahead of time, this needs a bit of time to firm up slightly. I made mine in an 11 x 7-inch pan and that worked fine. Wonderful dessert Mel! Kitten:)

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 27, 2012

      This is a favorite in our family. Everyone loves it. DD always wanted this made for her birthday instead of a cake and after she developed diabetes, I simply replaced the sugar/powdered sugar with splenda, the pudding with sugar free pudding and the coolwhip, with sugar free coolwhip, she still loves it and it tastes great!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 06, 2012

      I liked it, but didn't think the crust added much to the dessert other than fat/calories... I would make it in cups or glasses if I made it again with no crust.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 03, 2011

      My mom has been making this dessert for years after I got the recipe from a co-worker years ago. When guest come for holiday dinners they always expect this as one of the desserts. One large pan does not last. We love this!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 30, 2011

      I loved this! It was by far my favorite Thanksgiving dessert this year. I doubled the crust and subbed walnuts ( they were a lot cheaper) but kept everything else the same. It's also a very forgiving recipe. As I was taking the pan of crust out of my oven, I dropped the pan onto the oven door!! *eek* Thank goodness it was right side up, but the crust really looked destroyed. It was literally a pan of broken crumbs. So I smushed that mess all back together as best I could, and I stuck that baby back in the oven while I said some prayers. And It came out fine! Once it cooled and I layered the rest onto it, it held together fine and no one was the wiser. I will definitely make this one again, thanks!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 18, 2010

      My husband is a chemist for a dried fruit and nut company, so he came home with a 5# bag of pistachios (shelled), and I tried this recipe using the pistachios instead of pecans, and it was fantastic. Everyone who tried it has asked for the recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 22, 2010

      Very very good put it in graham crust like a pie very good and easy!!!!! Will be making for babyshower for cousin!!!!!!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 09, 2009

      This dessert is sooooooo good. I made it exactly as written and it turned out wonderfull. It reminded me of a recipe that my mom used to make many, many years ago. This recipe would be good with just about any flavor pudding (chocolate, banana, etc.), but I really do like it with the pistachio pudding. Made for Dec 2009 Let's P-A-R-T-Y.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 04, 2009

      I am giving this recipe 5 stars only because my family has been making it for years- BUT- a few changes: we add 2 tspns sugar to the crust and bake it for 20 minutes. we also use walnuts instead of pecans and the best change- we use banana pudding instead of pistacio (not many pistacio takers in our family)- it's a highly sought out recipe from family and friends. Make sure you let the crust cool for a good hour before spreading next layer on and make sure the dessert has had plenty of tie to firm up in the fridge before serving.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 19, 2008

      Sorry, none of us cared for this dessert.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 24, 2008

      Very nice!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 30, 2008

      YUM - my mom used to make this, but I didn't know where the recipe is. This was it! It was delish! No need to change a thing - although I did whip up some real cream (w/ 1/2 cup sugar) to use in the cream cheese mixture and as the topping instead of cool whip - this is just personal preference for real whipped cream. Thank you so much - very, very good! And a much needed green dessert to try to usher in spring!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 18, 2008

      I made this all sugar free and it was a wonderful dessert...

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 05, 2008

      This dessert went over very well at my Mom's New Year's Day dinner. Once I had the crust mixed together, I didn't think it was enough for a 9 X 13 pan so I came back to check the reviews on this recipe. I decided to use an 8" square pan. The crust was a little on the thick side so I baked for 20 minutes. I loved the bright green layer of pudding - it was really thick, though - almost pasty. I also thought that maybe 1/4 cup of pecans sprinkled on top would have been a little better both for flavour & presentation.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 12, 2007

      Personally I'm not a huge fan, but only because I don't like pistachio pudding. The rest of my large family raves about it! It is always a favorite in the summer.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 02, 2007

      My sister used to make this dessert a lot about 20 years ago. I hosted a Pampered Chef Party last night and thought I'd make this since it seemed to be the same recipe. It was! The taste is still awesome, light and sweet and the crust is so light and tender it almost melts in your mouth. My only complaint, and it's a small one, is that I had to double the crust ingredients to pat out in a 9 x 13 pan. I also baked for an additional 5 minutes. Thanks Melody for bringing this fantastic dessert back to me!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 17, 2007

      I used fat free coolwhip and sugar free pudding...tasted just great! Thanks for a fun St. Patricks day dessert!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 27, 2007

      That was very good, light tasting yet pleasing to the senses. Will definately put in my "make again and again" folder! Thank you Melody H, mmmmmmmmmmmmmm

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 13, 2006

      Fabulous! This version reminds me of the pistachio dessert we used to have as kids at community & church potlucks. Excellent and very filling! I chilled mine for 6 hours per Kittencals suggestion, came out great!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 11, 2006

      Pistachio is my favorite! Made this in a smaller pan to make it thicker as Lindsey suggested. Used sugar free pudding & I get to eat it all by myself!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Pistachio Dessert

    Serving Size: 1 (65 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 12

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 281.3
     
    Calories from Fat 187
    66%
    Total Fat 20.7 g
    31%
    Saturated Fat 11.5 g
    57%
    Cholesterol 41.1 mg
    13%
    Sodium 131.8 mg
    5%
    Total Carbohydrate 22.2 g
    7%
    Dietary Fiber 0.7 g
    2%
    Sugars 13.4 g
    53%
    Protein 2.8 g
    5%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    pistachio pudding mix

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes