21 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Refreshing and delicious, but I would say make a couple of hours ahead of time, this needs a bit of time to firm up slightly. I made mine in an 11 x 7-inch pan and that worked fine. Wonderful dessert Mel! Kitten:)

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kittencal@recipezazz January 28, 2006

This is a favorite in our family. Everyone loves it. DD always wanted this made for her birthday instead of a cake and after she developed diabetes, I simply replaced the sugar/powdered sugar with splenda, the pudding with sugar free pudding and the coolwhip, with sugar free coolwhip, she still loves it and it tastes great!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Cinda Lu October 27, 2012

I liked it, but didn't think the crust added much to the dessert other than fat/calories... I would make it in cups or glasses if I made it again with no crust.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mandabacca April 06, 2012

My mom has been making this dessert for years after I got the recipe from a co-worker years ago. When guest come for holiday dinners they always expect this as one of the desserts. One large pan does not last. We love this!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
lslawrence73 December 03, 2011

I loved this! It was by far my favorite Thanksgiving dessert this year. I doubled the crust and subbed walnuts ( they were a lot cheaper) but kept everything else the same. It's also a very forgiving recipe. As I was taking the pan of crust out of my oven, I dropped the pan onto the oven door!! *eek* Thank goodness it was right side up, but the crust really looked destroyed. It was literally a pan of broken crumbs. So I smushed that mess all back together as best I could, and I stuck that baby back in the oven while I said some prayers. And It came out fine! Once it cooled and I layered the rest onto it, it held together fine and no one was the wiser. I will definitely make this one again, thanks!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Raspberri_Skies November 30, 2011

My husband is a chemist for a dried fruit and nut company, so he came home with a 5# bag of pistachios (shelled), and I tried this recipe using the pistachios instead of pecans, and it was fantastic. Everyone who tried it has asked for the recipe.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
tracytrebilcox March 18, 2010

Very very good put it in graham crust like a pie very good and easy!!!!! Will be making for babyshower for cousin!!!!!!!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Peaches N Cream February 22, 2010

This dessert is sooooooo good. I made it exactly as written and it turned out wonderfull. It reminded me of a recipe that my mom used to make many, many years ago. This recipe would be good with just about any flavor pudding (chocolate, banana, etc.), but I really do like it with the pistachio pudding. Made for Dec 2009 Let's P-A-R-T-Y.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Crafty Lady 13 December 09, 2009

I am giving this recipe 5 stars only because my family has been making it for years- BUT- a few changes: we add 2 tspns sugar to the crust and bake it for 20 minutes. we also use walnuts instead of pecans and the best change- we use banana pudding instead of pistacio (not many pistacio takers in our family)- it's a highly sought out recipe from family and friends. Make sure you let the crust cool for a good hour before spreading next layer on and make sure the dessert has had plenty of tie to firm up in the fridge before serving.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
thedec January 04, 2009

Sorry, none of us cared for this dessert.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
nottheloginiwant July 19, 2008
Pistachio Dessert