Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Pioneer Woman's Marlboro Man’s Favorite Sandwich Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Pioneer Woman's Marlboro Man’s Favorite Sandwich

    Average Rating:

    16 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-16 of 16

    Sort by:

    • on May 20, 2011

      As written we did not really like this. It was runny and very tart. I ended up adding cream of cheddar soup to thicken it and mellow out the sharp taste. My son and I would have given it a 2, but my husband liked it both before and after the cheddar soup, so we averaged up. Thanks for giving us something new to try.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 10, 2014

      This sandwich is a guy's type sandwich because it is meaty and hearty. I rarely eat a sandwich without veggies or cheese but decided to serve this as written to see if it would be a husband favorite and it was. I served it with a green salad and her zesty lime rice and the flavors all complemented each other well and the salad made it healthier. It makes a lot of meat if you do the 3 lbs so you will have leftovers or buy more rolls and feed more people. The carmelized onions were great. We all consumed it before I could get a photo. We will make it again for sure. The Worcestershire sauce is a love it or hate it flavor. It was good for us. We omitted Tabasco as my family is sensitive to it. We do not toast rolls either but soft were just as great. Thanks for posting Ree Drummond's recipe Stephanie so I didn't have to. Enjoy! ChefDLH

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 08, 2012

      I made this after seeing the episode on TV. This is a great recipe. I did not find it runny or messy. My kids and husband loved it! I'm making it again tonight. Maybe if it didn't work out for you, you can look on her blog and see a step by step explanation of how to make it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 26, 2011

      My husband enjoys sandwiches and beef, and is a manly man. I made this for him. He requested that I never serve it again and, in our relationship, he has only said that about one other dish. He says it's too messy, and, when a plumber tells you something is too messy for him to deal with, you listen to him. He did not like the flavor, he did not like the amount of prep.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 06, 2010

      everyone in my house loves this recipe! excellent for a quick weeknight meal that is inexpensive. i use franks red hot and always add a little extra.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 12, 2010

      Ree Drummond's right that this is a testosterone-beef-fest! Delicious.... I thawed the steaks until they were still slightly frozen to make them easier to slice really thin. I doubled the butter and Worchestershire to make extra sauce. Before I added the onions back to the meat I took some out for my "onion hater" girls. I buttered the rolls and browned them face down on a griddle pan then flipped them over to just warm them through. Served the sandwiches with Crash Hot Potatoes with just a bit of the extra sauce and my, my.... not only were the men at my table insanely happy with the meal, we all loved it and it was requested to be served again really soon!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 17, 2009

      This was a quick and easy recipe. Great for a weeknight, I cut back on the amount of worcestershire sauce a tad after reading the other reviews. Felt the flavor was good, but a little too salty. Next time I might leave out the seasoned salt, as we seldom use salt in our family.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 23, 2009

    • on March 15, 2009

      I have to say we didn't like this. Probably for multiple reasons - it was my first encounter with cube steak, which I didn't enjoy, and also the Worcestershire was overpowering for me. However it was easy, so if you're into cube steak's distinctive texture, try it with less Worcestershire.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 03, 2009

      I made this exactly as written, although without the Tabasco. I found it delicious and ate every bit of mine. For my husband, it was too liquidy and au jus-like. He didn't appreciate his bread getting soggy. I will be making again, but reluctantly cutting back the Worcestershire so that there is less liquid.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 13, 2009

      Awesome recipe! I've made these several times now and the only thing different I do is add a few tablespoons of decent quality beef base and cut back on the worcestershire. Really great sandwich!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 21, 2008

      I love Pioneer Woman's recipes and this one is no exception! This is the very first one of her recipes I tried and it was an instant favorite. It seems like a lot of worcestershire sauce, but it's perfect! The onions get nice and carmelized, so good!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 19, 2008

      I think I am the only one I know that did not like this sandwich. I followed the directions exactly and it was ... not what I expected.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 14, 2008

      Wow, a great steak sandwich. One that filled everybody on the farm, and they didn't even have to share. I grilled the round steak (after seasoning and tenderizing it with a marinade 2 hours). But I followed the rest of the recipe to a tee/and was able to slice this steak against the grain producing and wonderfully tender steak sandwich. With a bit of the au jus that was left, I heated it slowly and everyone dipped their sandwich in and devoured every last bite. Thanks, Lena, really enjoyed you sharing this recipe. Made for *PAC* Fall 2008.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 18, 2008

      This recipe came word-for-word from The Pioneer Woman. Ree took time and effort into making a great step-by-step guide to making this, and shame on you (lena) for posting this without giving credit where it is due. For a great guide, from the actual author of the recipe, check out http://thepioneerwoman.com/cooking/2007/06/marlboro_mans_f/.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 14, 2008

      Boy, were these ever good!!!! I bought the cube steaks and had the butcher run them through the tenderizer a second time. That is the secret!!! It allows the seasonings to really get into the meat and give it great flavor. Topped with the cooked onions and this sandwich is to die for. Thanks so much for sharing this winner, lena in northeast Ohio. T

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Pioneer Woman's Marlboro Man’s Favorite Sandwich

    Serving Size: 1 (97 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 403.3
     
    Calories from Fat 229
    56%
    Total Fat 25.5 g
    39%
    Saturated Fat 14.9 g
    74%
    Cholesterol 61.0 mg
    20%
    Sodium 738.5 mg
    30%
    Total Carbohydrate 38.0 g
    12%
    Dietary Fiber 1.9 g
    7%
    Sugars 4.9 g
    19%
    Protein 6.3 g
    12%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    cube steaks

    Lawry's Seasoned Salt

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites