12 Reviews

I have made this recipe from Pioneer Woman's website and it is great. The recipe that is posted here does not include the 1 lb of mozzarella slices in the ingredients, so watch for that.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Delighted May 20, 2009

Very yummy! I had ricotta that I HAD to use so I put a bit of milk into my cheese to make it wetter.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Wildblu3 December 02, 2010

This is my new favorite lasagna recipe! More meaty and just the right amount of cheesy and less expensive! I accidentally bought the no boil noodles and was worried because when I put it together it was so pretty and a good thick consistency (cuttable looking!). The no boil noodles say to add 1 cup of water to the dish. I added only 1/2 a cup and it came out perfect! About 40 min. on 350 and the noodles were great. I followed pioneer woman's show menu and made the cheesy bread and fried pies. It was a great dinner!!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
KennedyFamily February 26, 2013

I have made better, wasn't the best I've had. Added fresh basil on top to give it more flavor,

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
adopt a greyhound October 22, 2012

Delicious! I used lowfat cheese and a jar of marinara sauce in place of the tomato mixture. I have never tried using cottage cheese in lasagna before- but it was great! Thanks for sharing.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
megs_ October 19, 2012

Amazing. I used my recipe for [recipe=382006]provel[/recipe] instead of the mozzarella.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
College Girl August 09, 2009

PW's lasagna is the only recipe I use. It is so delicious!!! I love her website too and have pre-ordered 6 of her cookbooks to give as gifts.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Becca Bricker April 19, 2009

This was a big hit with the family last night. I recommend using at least half cottage cheese, even if you hate it. It is much wetter than ricotta and substituting does have an effect on the texture. We loved the meat mixture... do not add salt to the meat, the breakfast sausage is salty enough. BTW, the Shabby Sign Shoppe is great, she did a sign for my kitchen, I get compliments on it all the time!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
pittgal March 16, 2009

I too chose to use the ricotta cheese over cottage cheese, not a fan of cottage cheese in a lasagna recipe. I really loved the ease of preparation. The meat sauce was very thick but tasty. My only disappointment was the cheese mixture. Since the meat sauce is so thick the cheese just seemed too thick also. It did not melt into the lasagna like I thought it should have. I would try this recipe again but I may try the cottage cheese like the recipe calls for and blend it in my blender, I believe that may make it creamier. And at the the Pioneer Woman website a reviewer wrote, do not use the no boil lasagna pasta. The sauce is too thick and lasagna will not cook right.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
drlntn December 21, 2008

I made this last night for our friends Christmas Dinner. I got rave reviews! It held up well. I did let it rest for 10-15 minutes. I sub'd ricotta cheese for the cottage cheese, and diced tomatoes for the whole tomatoes, but other than that, I followed the recipe. My son thought it was a little too meaty, if that is possible, but if you like less meat, adjust the recipe. It is more meaty and less cheesy of a lasagna. The hot sausage does not make it too spicy at all for kids. The lasagna noodles are not listed on the ingredients, so please add those to your shopping list, if you use this for your list. I will be making this again and again.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
nicoleingermantown December 20, 2008
Pioneer Woman Lasagna