Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Pinto Beans With Ham for the Crock Pot Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Pinto Beans With Ham for the Crock Pot

    Average Rating:

    22 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 22

    Sort by:

    • on June 06, 2007

      I was looking for recipes using ham and just couldnt resist this recipe. We love pinto beans..This recipe is awesome...I made homemade tortillas to eat with the bowls of beans the first night..The next night, I made refried beans out of the pinto beans and made more tortillas and rolled them up,made great tasting burritos.I had tortillas and beans still leftover and Made more burritos and froze them for future lunches(wrap each burrito in wax paper,place in freezer bag, to thaw remove wax paper and roll in paper towel and microwave 1-2 minutes)...Didnt need any hot sauce..The spices in the beans were hot enough...I will make this recipe alot,but forget the ham it does nothing for the beans and really can't taste it anyways...HIGHLY RECOMMEND this recipe if you like spicy beans .Thank U for this great recipe....

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 26, 2009

      GREAT! I ALWAYS cook mine in a crockpot, since I work all day and don't have the time to watch and stir them as I should. This is the same receipe I have used for 25 years and NEVER the 1st complaint. Thanks for posting it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 27, 2011

      This was an excellent recipe. I took out all the spicy items - yes, all - so that my boys would eat the beans (they are 3 & 4 years old). They LOVED this recipe. I used a big ham steak and followed the recipe. I was worried about it being bland, so I went heavy on the cumin and other spices, but it was delicious! I ate more than I should have because they were so yummy.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 05, 2009

      I can not believe I have not rated this yet. I have been making for almost 2 years now. My family loves this. I make it with and without the meat and it is great both ways. This is a great meal on a cold football Saturday. Thanks!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 02, 2009

      This was a good hearty meal. I added a few drops of liquid smoke to mine. Thank you for sharing.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 27, 2008

      DH loved these beans, called them "incredible". They came out perfectly tender in the crock pot, and the spices are just right. I used smoked ham hock and omitted the jalapenos due to preference. Delicious, cheap, and healthy - will definitely make this again.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 15, 2008

      After MANY failed attempts at cooking beans on the stove top, I decided to try the crock pot. I am SOOO glad I did! These beans came out just how I like them! Soft, flavorful and with a very nice "soup" for sopping up with corn bread. With the rising cost of food, it's nice to have such a cheap and delicious meal! I will be using this often! Thank you so much!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 13, 2008

      Awesome! We served these with a dollop of sour creme and fresh chopped parsley! We made bean burritos with the leftovers by adding cooked rice and some spices, salsa and cheese! Thanks for a great recipe!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 04, 2008

      Great pinto beans! I used two pounds of canned pinto beans to save time and used just 2 cups of water to compensate. I also used bacon as that's what I had on hand. Added a little liquid as it cooked off (on my stovetop), and the end result was nice and creamy, and flavorful! Thank you for posting this.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 02, 2008

      We loved the flavor of these beans! Since I only decided to cook them, in the morning, I couldn't soak the beans overnight, so I parboiled them and let them sit for an hour, then assembled as stated, subbing bacon for ham (since I didn't have any ham). They had so much flavor, and were really easy! We made refrieds, the next night, and had nachos, while watching the umpteenth bowl game! Thanks, Belinda

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 12, 2007

      Thank You for your recipe. I make pinto beans for my brothers and just do a dump cook look at seasonings. Now my beans taste much better with the measurements you have given. I will use this recipe for now on. Hugs

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 02, 2006

      Yummy beans! I used more ham and a little less water than the recipe called for, but the flavors were wonderful. This is my new pinto bean recipe.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 16, 2006

      I was in the mood for soul food yesterday & your beans became the main dish. I made a few changes - used chopped Hatch peppers instead of jalapeno & reduced the water to leave room for a bottle of dark beer. I had some smoky, chipotle chili powder so I used it. After years of bean cookery, I had never added oregano. Nice touch!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 07, 2014

      These beans are pretty great. I used a leftover ham bone to flavor the beans, and once the beans were done I got a lot of meat off the bones and mixed that in there as well. I drained most of the liquid, and pureed everything just a tad with an immersions blender. I ended up with something like a chunky, meaty refried beans... which were just fantastic served inside burritos with guacamole, pico de gallo, and cilantro-lime rice.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 16, 2010

      Did these for a family dinner and we were not thrilled with the beans. They were tender, not mushy at all which was good, but no one really liked the flavor. Might work on that part if I try them again. Slow cooker is a great way to go.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 15, 2009

      I am making these for the second time tomorrow, they were just perfect. We love hot in food, so the heat here was not a problem. I served them with Jiffy cornbread...delish!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 29, 2009

      This was super SUPER hot. I read the other reviews, but thought my DH would like the heat. He did like it a lot, but did express that it was a bit overwhelming. He enjoyed it in soft wraps with cheese, sour cream, and MILD salsa. I used a bag of mixed beans, and they thickened up nicely. Will cut the heat next time for sure, but will make this again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 23, 2009

      Put HOT in front of Pinto Beans title. The ham flavor totally dissappeared from the overpowering hot peppers. The sauce did not thicken either after 10 hours cooking as your photo shows. I made rice and a side of mild spinach to go with this meal. Not sure I would make it again as a meal unless I cut out one hot pepper and figure out what would thicken the sauce. I like a little spicy flavor but 2 peppers was too much. My hubby loves pinto beans but not sure how he'll react later.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 09, 2008

      I had my doubts about cooking dried beans in a crock pot, and this recipe did not prove me wrong. My crock pot doesn't get hot enough to cook them properly. Yes, I did soak them overnight first. I cooked them a full 2 days, and they still were not done. Yes, I did cook them on high after the low stage (but even after 4 hours of high they were still not done.) Maybe I just like my beans to be softer than most, but really they did not get done until I put them on the stove. I did substitute a couple ham hocks for the ham, and that was fine as far as I could tell. When I tasted them, they were not spicy enough for me, so I threw in a can of enchilada sauce. That really wasn't enough either, so then I added some tabasco and more pepper. Then, they were OK, but after all that cooking they started to fall apart. I ended up putting them into chile con carne. It was good, but the beans had lost their shape and sort of disintegrated. (Yes, I know it's my fault for cooking them so long.) In any case, I'm cooking my beans on the stove from here on out. That way, they get done within a reasonable time and are as soft as I like them. I won't be keeping this recipe, as the flavor was too bland for my taste.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 02, 2008

      Very easy to make and they turned out great. Hubby really liked the chili powder/cumin flavor of the broth. Will make again. Thanks for sharing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Pinto Beans With Ham for the Crock Pot

    Serving Size: 1 (243 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 334.0
     
    Calories from Fat 40
    12%
    Total Fat 4.5 g
    6%
    Saturated Fat 1.4 g
    7%
    Cholesterol 17.7 mg
    5%
    Sodium 50.0 mg
    2%
    Total Carbohydrate 51.6 g
    17%
    Dietary Fiber 12.9 g
    51%
    Sugars 2.9 g
    11%
    Protein 22.0 g
    44%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites