22 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

I was looking for recipes using ham and just couldnt resist this recipe. We love pinto beans..This recipe is awesome...I made homemade tortillas to eat with the bowls of beans the first night..The next night, I made refried beans out of the pinto beans and made more tortillas and rolled them up,made great tasting burritos.I had tortillas and beans still leftover and Made more burritos and froze them for future lunches(wrap each burrito in wax paper,place in freezer bag, to thaw remove wax paper and roll in paper towel and microwave 1-2 minutes)...Didnt need any hot sauce..The spices in the beans were hot enough...I will make this recipe alot,but forget the ham it does nothing for the beans and really can't taste it anyways...HIGHLY RECOMMEND this recipe if you like spicy beans .Thank U for this great recipe....

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Potluck June 06, 2007

GREAT! I ALWAYS cook mine in a crockpot, since I work all day and don't have the time to watch and stir them as I should. This is the same receipe I have used for 25 years and NEVER the 1st complaint. Thanks for posting it.

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
wynde January 26, 2009

This was an excellent recipe. I took out all the spicy items - yes, all - so that my boys would eat the beans (they are 3 & 4 years old). They LOVED this recipe. I used a big ham steak and followed the recipe. I was worried about it being bland, so I went heavy on the cumin and other spices, but it was delicious! I ate more than I should have because they were so yummy.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
amywayengland September 27, 2011

I can not believe I have not rated this yet. I have been making for almost 2 years now. My family loves this. I make it with and without the meat and it is great both ways. This is a great meal on a cold football Saturday. Thanks!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Momdepue April 05, 2009

This was a good hearty meal. I added a few drops of liquid smoke to mine. Thank you for sharing.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sky Valley Cook March 02, 2009

DH loved these beans, called them "incredible". They came out perfectly tender in the crock pot, and the spices are just right. I used smoked ham hock and omitted the jalapenos due to preference. Delicious, cheap, and healthy - will definitely make this again.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
WyoSal October 27, 2008

After MANY failed attempts at cooking beans on the stove top, I decided to try the crock pot. I am SOOO glad I did! These beans came out just how I like them! Soft, flavorful and with a very nice "soup" for sopping up with corn bread. With the rising cost of food, it's nice to have such a cheap and delicious meal! I will be using this often! Thank you so much!!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mrs. Lumpy October 15, 2008

Awesome! We served these with a dollop of sour creme and fresh chopped parsley! We made bean burritos with the leftovers by adding cooked rice and some spices, salsa and cheese! Thanks for a great recipe!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
The Pear Tree September 13, 2008

Great pinto beans! I used two pounds of canned pinto beans to save time and used just 2 cups of water to compensate. I also used bacon as that's what I had on hand. Added a little liquid as it cooked off (on my stovetop), and the end result was nice and creamy, and flavorful! Thank you for posting this.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Heather U. August 04, 2008

We loved the flavor of these beans! Since I only decided to cook them, in the morning, I couldn't soak the beans overnight, so I parboiled them and let them sit for an hour, then assembled as stated, subbing bacon for ham (since I didn't have any ham). They had so much flavor, and were really easy! We made refrieds, the next night, and had nachos, while watching the umpteenth bowl game! Thanks, Belinda

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Belinda in Austin, TX January 02, 2008
Pinto Beans With Ham for the Crock Pot